Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Stumped

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Stumped

    Issue

    Old specs

    8125 AMD am3+
    1066 GSkill ripsaw x2 16gb total
    Asus sabertooth 990fx
    Thermaltake TR2 RX 850W
    Sapphire 7950 vapor x

    So about a week ago I was playing world of warships and my video had a hard lock. I rebooted and played for a but longer.
    Video locked up again and I was unable to POST.

    After playing with the power switch a few times I got my system to post and able to boot into Windows 7 x64. Soon as I tried overwatch or world of warships hard video lockup
    Swapped my video card after rolling back drivers, and resetting cmos jumpers. With a 440 geforce

    I was able to boot but same isses when under load

    Just got my new motherboard in m5a99fx, now vga and boot device led'so are literally

    I'm going to shoot this computer, help save it's life.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    You should conduct a series of stress tests, as I think it might be your PSU, unable to cope under load.

    I have read this about your PSU. The Wattage may be sufficient however:
    The Thermaltake TR2 RX 850 W, according to some reviews, is a flawed product that must be avoided at all costs.
    Being targeted to users on a budget, several models from this series don’t even have the standard 80 Plus certification and can’t deliver its labeled wattage at high temperatures.
    Ripple and Noise levels are way above max allowed when you pull 80% or more from the unit’s labeled capacity.
    This can overload components (especially electrolytic capacitors from the motherboard and video cards) causing your PC to present erratic behavior (crashes and random resets) and, under extreme conditions, damage components.

    The tests will also determine any instabilities.
    Download HWMonitor and AIDA64 and put them on your desktop side by side.
    Run the test for CPU and FPU for 10mins or stop the test if temps reach 80C.
    Run a separate test on the GPU. Take screen shots and post here.
    I want to see all rail voltages in HWMonitor whilst under load.

    Your DIMMs should also be tested with Memtest86+ from a USB stick to eliminate the possibility of a failing module.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Voltage

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Voltages 10mtst.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	318.0 KB 
ID:	58514

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Update

    Ok so figured out my Boot Device and VGA LED after first installation,

    The CMOS jumper was cracked, just swapped it out.

    I was able to install windows 7x64 again, Running Crimson 16.7.3 Drivers for my 7950 Vapor X Sapphire

    all board drivers are in, and installed World of Warships again... Same issue as my sabertooth.
    Log into WoWs able to get to my port, Hard Video lock with Sound Loop.

    Cold boot VGA LED lit swap PCI-E to different port on PSU VGA LED lit
    Swap to 440 GeForce VGA LED Lit
    Reset CMOS jumper VGA LED LIT
    watch A team on Netflix have a smoke, Boots

    Temp for CPU and GPU are not exceeding 52 C

    VCORE 1 ~49C

    power seems stable, it seems as if as soon as any horsepower is needed from the BUS it hard locks, random as to when it will come back.

    Memory was swapped out for Corsair 1333 DDR3 2 sticks 8 gig same config A1B1 slots. memory seems stable after memtests.

    while trouble shooting last week I got on the phone with Thermaltake, I have a RMA waiting just have not sent it in yet.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hard lock on video

    Did a GPU stress 4 min in @ 67°C hard lock back to plying with the power switch.

    Posting from my Droid pardon the spelling.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Your rail voltages are within spec however your VCORE voltage droops a little low.
    Try 1.4V with LLC set to high or 75% and test again. Keep an eye on temperatures.

    report the result.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Sorry for the delay but I moved and with all the comp issues I needed a break.

    I have installed my new motherboard with my old processor, RAM, PSU, and HDD,


    Same issues, now both my Gforece 440 and Sapphire Vapor x 7950 are getting a VGA LED,

    I have a RMA Email for my PSU so I'm not greatly concerned about that, but could it be my CPU?

    I have gutted most of the machine now I have my memory in a Emachine and my SSD in my HP Probook 6550B

    This is a bit of an odd question but if the CPU is fried I have never seen one try to hold on with random issues, it just dies.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •