Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Question re: Swapping Out G20AJ Video Cards

    I have a couple year old G20AJ-B07 from Best Buy. It came with a GTX 750 2GB single-fan model. It was sufficient for my gaming needs (Marvel Heroes, WoW, GW2, etc.) This spring I noticed significant graphics issues (primarily unacceptably low framerates). I did a lot of troubleshooting and research. In the end, my GPU runs real hot (100C) and ends up throttling after a few minutes. Ambient temps are around 60C. Room temps are pretty steady in the 72F range. I opened the case and dusted it, not any significant build up. I repasted the GPU, no significant improvement.

    I have concluded that there must be a harware problem with the card. Because I don't need a major graphical upgrade and just want to return to my previous norm, I went ahead and ordered this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1. I also have the second power brick.

    I will be making the swap in the next couple of days. Other than replacing the cards and drivers, would anyone know if there would be any other in-case work that would be necessary or if there are any other issues I may not have foreseen. I have seen talk on here about changing jumpers and other issues. Just trying to figure out what I am in for.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array annyh1lator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    I think u dont need changing jumpers, cause 750ti have very small tdp. Use only reference design, replacing card is very easy, look on this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNXwfOpvZLQ

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I finally understand what reference means, only a little late. Looks like the dimensions of my new card are: 8.58 " x 4.527 " x 1.53 ". I see reference width is around 4.37 inches, so I am a little over there. I see in this thread from earlier this year that a 4.76 inch wide card would fit: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...fit-in-the-G20.

    Any thought on whether it is worth giving this card a shot or just returning it and finding a better fit?

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array annyh1lator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    U wanna install this gtx 970 asus turbo ? If yes, this card is great choise.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Unfortunately, no. I went with the GTX750 TI for something less expensive but adequate for my needs. It exceeds the reference width by about .15 inches. I was just linking a discussion about another card that slightly exceeded the width.

    Here are some helpful links I found while shopping around. I have not received either product yet, so I cannot verify their compatibility:

    Replacement fan for stock GTX750 on my G20AJ-B07:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/262230254315...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    6-pin male to 6-pin male connector: http://www.ebay.com/itm/331925843634
    Last edited by Yngwe; 08-09-2016 at 02:32 PM. Reason: Linked to a connector that did not work. Fixed!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    227

    yeah I got have a great gpu install video if that helps peeps

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sn7wqh1yGLw

    Whoopee
    YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ http://bit.ly/2LNo1dI

    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ http://bit.ly/2R9njXC

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Just FYI, the original 6-pin cord that I linked did not work, as one side was "mini." I changed the link to the correct connector.
    Last edited by Yngwe; 08-09-2016 at 02:32 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    227

    also do you run afterburner, if you don't have any software running the card will hit the max temp and for you that will be 100, with afterburner on you can setup a fan profile and set the fans to come on 100% if it gets a max temp
    YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ http://bit.ly/2LNo1dI

    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ http://bit.ly/2R9njXC

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I do have Afterburner, and used it to help diagnose the problem, which ended up being that the fan was completely busted. Probably happened some months ago, since I have been having graphics issues that I only recently discovered were due to overheating and throttling. The plastic in the fan motor are had apparently melted and fused!

    I finally have all of the right cords to do the install tonight. Thanks for the input, and I will let you know how it goes!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Finally got the correct cord and hooked everything up last night, and it worked like a charm. Thanks for the helpful videos Welsh! Games are humming again at higher settings than before and temps are in reasonable ranges.

    Here is the 6-pin to 6-pin connector that I used: http://www.ebay.com/itm/331925843634

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •