Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Bad CPU or motherboard?

    Been using Asus Rampage V Extreme for 2 years almost with no issues, with a 5960X CPU, no overclock. Today while playing Doom the PC froze. After doing extensive troubleshooting it seems that putting a RAM stick into the rightmost red slot causes lockups at random, even in BIOS. Putting the same stick into other slots causes no problems, populating 3 out of 4 slots with RAM causes no issues as long as the rightmost red slot is left empty. If I put a stick into that slot, either alone or with other RAM system becomes unstable. Updated BIOS as well, etc., no effect (changed RAM timings as well). Question is, without access to another CPU is there a way to determine whether it is the motherboard or CPU that is faulty?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Run Memtest86+ from a USB stick to check all your DIMMs.

    I assume you have checked that your DIMMs are listed on the ASUS QVL.?
    Also that Primary Timings and voltage set correctly in Bios.?

    Check the DIMM slot that there is no contamination. Clean out the slot with Compressed air from a canister and only do this with PSU turned off.
    If still no success then you will have to benchtest your system and at the same time check for any bent pins in the CPU socket.(probably not if its been running for two years OK)
    Start in a minimalist state, then add one hardware component at a time whilst observing your Qcode leds for errors.
    Unfortunately there is no way to really determine if its the MB or CPU with out swapping them out to test.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 08-02-2016 at 02:47 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    I would recommend reseating your CPU and yes a defective CPU can cause something like this. Try to also loosen the pressure on the your heatsink to reduce pressure on the CPU socket.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    The memory is qualified. The system has not been touched in a long time, it just suddenly started to happen for no apparent reason. I haven't touched the CPU nor RAM since I built this system in late 2014. The only thing I have not tried is to re-seat the CPU. I'll try that tonight and see what happens.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Reseated the CPU and the problem got worse, the computer would not POST with a stick in the rightmost slot and even when using MEM OK button it would only detect 24GB out of 32GB installed. Intel is already sending me a new CPU so I'll try that and then move onto the motherboard if the new CPU shows same problems.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Tested the new CPU and the same problem, bad board I guess... sigh..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Quote Originally Posted by Betelgeuse View Post
    Tested the new CPU and the same problem, bad board I guess... sigh..
    Did you inspect the MB CPU socket for bent pins, use a magnifier and look for obvious differences in alignment or pins bent down.
    If you do, you can carefully bend them back with a toothpick. Do not return the MB with bent pins as this will void your Warranty.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Did you inspect the MB CPU socket for bent pins, use a magnifier and look for obvious differences in alignment or pins bent down.
    If you do, you can carefully bend them back with a toothpick. Do not return the MB with bent pins as this will void your Warranty.
    Yes, I looked carefully at the socket and did not see anything that indicated damage to the pins. They all looked identical.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 10900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 860 EVO SSD 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21277
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    713

    RMA the motherboard. better off replacing it than to possibly damage the new CPU.
    Intel Core i9 10900X @4.7ghz @1.182v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 3105]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 30909 FE
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •