Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array willburstyle06 PC Specs
    willburstyle06 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    Processori7-6700k OC 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB DDR4 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorAsus PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerKraken X62
    CaseNZXT H440 RAZER
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard BLACKWIDOW CHROMA
    Mouse DEATHADDER ELITE
    Headset KRAKEN 7.1 CHROMA
    Mouse Pad RAZER GIGANTUS ELITE
    OS Windows10
    willburstyle06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    MAXIMUS VIII HERO NOT ABLE TO RUN RAM AT STOCK SPEEDS XMP Profile

    I just built a new gaming PC around around
    i7-6700k Skylake CPU / Asus Maximus VIII Hero / G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 16GB (8x2) (PC4-25600) F4-3200C16D-16GVK 1.35v


    I have updated to the new Bios Version 0603 and everything is stable. When I try and set the ram to stock speeds of 3200MHz
    through the XMP Profile it wont get past boot showing a failed overclock screen. I tried setting the timings manually as well with these recommended settings from G.Skill

    DDR4 3200 (PC4-25600)
    Timing 16-16-16-36
    Cas Latency 16
    Voltage 1.35V

    The system to fails to boot.


    Has anyone else had a problem with setting stock ddr4 ram speeds with this motherboard or with my Particular Ram G.Skill Ripjaw V Series? If anyone could help me get stable timings down for 3200MHz or if not timings for 2800-3000.
    CPU - i7-6700k 4.7GHz
    MOBO -Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM - 32GB G.Skill TRIDENTZ RGB DDR4//3600 MHz
    GPU - EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 SLI
    SSD - Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB //Boot
    SSD - Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    HDD - WD BLACK 3TB 7200RPM// Media//Gaming
    PSU - Corsair HX1000i
    CASE - NZXT RAZER H440
    CPUCOOLER - Kraken X62

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array DarkStone PC Specs
    DarkStone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    Processori7 6700K @ 4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)16GB Gskill TridentZ @ 3333 (16-18-38-1T)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX @ 2000Mhz
    Sound CardSoundBlaster ZXR
    MonitorASUS PB328Q
    Storage #1512GB Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #21TB Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Megahalems Black w/ Noiseblocker M12-PS
    CaseSilverstone Kublai KL06B-W w/ Noiseblocker M12-3
    Power SupplySeaSonic SS-660XP2
    Keyboard Logitech Illuminated K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Heavily moddified Aurvana Live!
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 Western Digital EX2100 NAS 4TB

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I have the exact same RAM. I was unable to get a stable high MHz rate.

    I had it on 2800 (15-15-15-35) 1.3v for about a day, however many games crashed on me. Also got it stablish on 2933.

    Though I decided to lower the MHz and lower timings. Most stable for me so far is 2400 14-14-14-34-1T.

    Hopingn ASUS will fix this issue on their motherboards.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array willburstyle06 PC Specs
    willburstyle06 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    Processori7-6700k OC 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB DDR4 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorAsus PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerKraken X62
    CaseNZXT H440 RAZER
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard BLACKWIDOW CHROMA
    Mouse DEATHADDER ELITE
    Headset KRAKEN 7.1 CHROMA
    Mouse Pad RAZER GIGANTUS ELITE
    OS Windows10
    willburstyle06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Someone on the Newegg review page said they were able to get the RAM stable at 3000Mhz with 15-15-15-35 @ 1.35V timings as well but on a MSI Gaming 5 Z170 board. I'll probably start at 3000Mhz with those settings and work my way down since you said you were at least able to be partly stable. I sent a email into Asus technical support just to let them know this was a common issue and hopefully they send out a bios update to fix it. I'm optimistic about a fix since the motherboard has only been out a month so I'm sure they are still trying to fix all the issues.

    *update I find a reddit forum related to this issue

    https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/co...rking/.compact
    Last edited by willburstyle06; 09-06-2015 at 07:39 PM.
    CPU - i7-6700k 4.7GHz
    MOBO -Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM - 32GB G.Skill TRIDENTZ RGB DDR4//3600 MHz
    GPU - EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 SLI
    SSD - Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB //Boot
    SSD - Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    HDD - WD BLACK 3TB 7200RPM// Media//Gaming
    PSU - Corsair HX1000i
    CASE - NZXT RAZER H440
    CPUCOOLER - Kraken X62

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array m4x2012 PC Specs
    m4x2012 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 4
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k@5000
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 16Gb 3200Mhz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1AORUS 1080Ti Xtreme 11Gb
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1970 EVO 256Gb
    Storage #2850 PRO 512Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCarbide 400r
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 750i
    Keyboard G110
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 700
    Headset Sennheiser G4m3
    Mouse Pad QcK
    OS W10 64bit

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Know issue don't worry, will be fixed in future update.

    Also with my memory, OC'ing will delay the POST timings during the boot.

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    For overclocking memory issues be sure the board is on the latest UEFI version and adjust SA and IO voltages as necessary.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by willburstyle06 View Post
    I just built a new gaming PC around around
    i7-6700k Skylake CPU / Asus Maximus VIII Hero / G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 16GB (8x2) (PC4-25600) F4-3200C16D-16GVK 1.35v


    I have updated to the new Bios Version 0603 and everything is stable. When I try and set the ram to stock speeds of 3200MHz
    through the XMP Profile it wont get past boot showing a failed overclock screen. I tried setting the timings manually as well with these recommended settings from G.Skill

    DDR4 3200 (PC4-25600)
    Timing 16-16-16-36
    Cas Latency 16
    Voltage 1.35V

    The system to fails to boot.


    Has anyone else had a problem with setting stock ddr4 ram speeds with this motherboard or with my Particular Ram G.Skill Ripjaw V Series? If anyone could help me get stable timings down for 3200MHz or if not timings for 2800-3000.
    That is exactly what i have:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero (Bios 0603)
    6700k running at 4.2GHz constant
    G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 16GB (8x2) (PC4-25600) F4-3200C16D-16GVK 1.35v

    Although i am running it at 3200 16-16-16-36 1T instead of 2T and i havent had any errors or issues...went through memtest already.
    All i did was update the bios then loaded the default optimized settings and then enabled xmp and it asked if i wanted to use some asus optimization instead of the intel default and i clicked yes. Did you install them into the gray dimm sockets?

    The memory compatibility document lists this ram as compatible but is very specific about which dimm sockets to use and also states that 3200 and above will depend on the cpu's capabilities (luck of the draw). Hope this helps. I saw those newegg reviews too and was a bit concerned.
    Last edited by sn0wf0x; 09-06-2015 at 10:37 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array willburstyle06 PC Specs
    willburstyle06 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    Processori7-6700k OC 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB DDR4 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorAsus PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerKraken X62
    CaseNZXT H440 RAZER
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard BLACKWIDOW CHROMA
    Mouse DEATHADDER ELITE
    Headset KRAKEN 7.1 CHROMA
    Mouse Pad RAZER GIGANTUS ELITE
    OS Windows10
    willburstyle06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    I installed them into the black dimm slots A1 / B1

    So your saying the gray sockets A2 / B2 are meant for higher performance. I feel like such an idiot if that fixes things becuz I had the Crosshair V Formula-Z before and it was a similar setup where the recommended sockets were A2/B2. I just forgot to check this time.


    I was just going to post on here that I went through and I could only get it to boot at
    2666 MHZ 15-15-15-35 1.355 V / VCCIO and System Agent voltage up to 1.15V each


    Another thing I just noticed is that on the Maximus VIII Hero the DRAM RAS# PRE Time setting is missing in DRAM Timing Control. Is it missing for you guys as well?
    CPU - i7-6700k 4.7GHz
    MOBO -Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM - 32GB G.Skill TRIDENTZ RGB DDR4//3600 MHz
    GPU - EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 SLI
    SSD - Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB //Boot
    SSD - Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    HDD - WD BLACK 3TB 7200RPM// Media//Gaming
    PSU - Corsair HX1000i
    CASE - NZXT RAZER H440
    CPUCOOLER - Kraken X62

  8. #8
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by willburstyle06 View Post
    Another thing I just noticed is that on the Maximus VIII Hero the DRAM RAS# PRE Time setting is missing in DRAM Timing Control. Is it missing for you guys as well?
    Hello

    On Z170 tRP and tRCD are tied together. As sn0wf0x wrote above memory overclocking is CPU dependent. A 50% plus overclock should not be assumed to be plug n' play.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Well it says for highest compatibility. If that means higher performing ram is more compatible in those slots then yes. Its worth a shot at least.

    Let us know please . I hope it helps.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array willburstyle06 PC Specs
    willburstyle06 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    Processori7-6700k OC 4.7GHz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB DDR4 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    MonitorAsus PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerKraken X62
    CaseNZXT H440 RAZER
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard BLACKWIDOW CHROMA
    Mouse DEATHADDER ELITE
    Headset KRAKEN 7.1 CHROMA
    Mouse Pad RAZER GIGANTUS ELITE
    OS Windows10
    willburstyle06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    It definitely made a difference having installing the RAM in A2/B2 ( Gray Slots)

    Before my computer wouldn't boot past any speed higher than 2700Mhz and now in XMP 3200 16-16-16-36 I at least got into windows.

    Doing some tests / gaming now to see how stable this is and probably will end up lowering it down to around 3000-2800MHz. I was reading reviews on the Skylake CPU that after testing performance levels out around 2800MHz anyways.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	band-vs-dollar.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	84.3 KB 
ID:	51552
    Last edited by willburstyle06; 09-07-2015 at 12:48 AM.
    CPU - i7-6700k 4.7GHz
    MOBO -Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    RAM - 32GB G.Skill TRIDENTZ RGB DDR4//3600 MHz
    GPU - EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 SLI
    SSD - Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB //Boot
    SSD - Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    HDD - WD BLACK 3TB 7200RPM// Media//Gaming
    PSU - Corsair HX1000i
    CASE - NZXT RAZER H440
    CPUCOOLER - Kraken X62

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •