Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Post Woes with a new RVE

    Hi,

    New to the forum. Upgraded to a Rampage V/3.1 (from an Asus X79-E WS), mainly to get a board without PLX chips. Cpu is 6850K, ram is corsair 2666CL15 32G, 2x 1080 FEs in SLI, Samsung SM961 boot drive, 4x 840 Pro as storage drives (plus a DVD). Also have a Creative ZXR in x8_4.

    Pretty standard. When powered on from cold, boots fine, and works fine for hours. However, i cannot restart it. Not from windows, not from the bios when saving settings.
    When exiting from the BIOS, that results in a restart, the board locks up with a code 70. Restarting from Windows, same.

    This is with BIOS 3301. Tried switching to the BIOS to came with the board, i think its 31xx series, and that reboots - but that does not detect the M2 drive. Maybe some secure boot magic prevents it from using with a different BIOS?



    Any hints before RMAing the board? My experience with Asus support is not good enough to wait and see (X79 was replaced 7 times before i ended up with one that lasted almost 3 years. Not keen on playing lottery - i am after a reliable high-end board.) Got no response from support in 3 days. I had a very good experience with Rampage IV, hope the V will be just as good, and this is just a glitch.

    Comments?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,456

    7 times replaced board. Looks like today is really lottery with motherboards.
    But that's with all manufacturers. If I need to recommend board that's RV10THE.
    With her chances to everything work are bigger.


  3. #3

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Do you have any of the ASUS utilities or Intel RSTe software installed?
    No. I used stock CPUZ, Asus version of chipset drivers, and the Asmedia USB drivers. Don't have to boot into Windows, if enter the setup, and change a setting or just press reset / ctrl + alt + del on the post screen, same problem. 68, then a minute later 70.

    Asus support asked me to clear CMOS, try with one memory stick each. I am not sure if a bent pin can cause a reboot failure, but would work fine on cold boot and 8 hour stress tests?

    Coil noise. 3302 BIOS does not work either. Same 68/70 code.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hey TomPP

    Had a situation that sounds similar to yours, check out my thread to see how I solved Qcode 70, perhaps it's the same solution to yours?

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...old+start+fine

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkadion View Post
    Hey TomPP

    Had a situation that sounds similar to yours, check out my thread to see how I solved Qcode 70, perhaps it's the same solution to yours?

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...old+start+fine
    Sounds very similar. Tried, did not work. First boot (from cold) stuck at 68. Did a CMOS clear. Same. Had to power cycle (remove the cable), to get it to post. No difference. Restarts ends up in code 70.

    Thanks for the effort

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by TomPP View Post
    Sounds very similar. Tried, did not work. First boot (from cold) stuck at 68. Did a CMOS clear. Same. Had to power cycle (remove the cable), to get it to post. No difference. Restarts ends up in code 70.

    Thanks for the effort
    No worries!

    For me clearing CMOS, disconnecting mainboard battery and flashing the bios from the bios USB function did not work,
    it was only the USB Bios Flashback that made a difference.

    I made the mistake of assuming bios flashing and USB Bios Flashback were the same thing. The one that worked involved
    turning the machine off, using the Flashback specific USB port and holding down the Flashback button next to the
    Clear CMOS to initiate the flash.

    http://event.asus.com/2012/mb/USB_BIOS_Flashback_GUIDE/

    If this still doesn't work, your problem is more complex than mine and I wish you luck!

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,323

    I had a similar issue and it turned out to be a BIOS chip, which I bought online and didn't need to RMA.

    Have you tried the other BIOS and/or completely flash the BIOS with another BIOS version like 3201? I corrected another similar issue by doing a BIOS flash to an earlier version and then upgraded the BIOS later.

    Definitely would try the other BIOS first tho.

    All that being said the SM961 is newish and i haven't had an issue with the R5VE10. I'm assuming in the BIOS you have under Advanced the m.2 selected? Silly question but just making sure as it helps identifying the m.2 and not relying on AUTO.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,323

    I had a similar issue and it turned out to be a BIOS chip, which I bought online and didn't need to RMA.

    Have you tried the other BIOS and/or completely flash the BIOS with another BIOS version like 3201? I corrected another similar issue by doing a BIOS flash to an earlier version and then upgraded the BIOS later.

    Definitely would try the other BIOS first tho.

    All that being said the SM961 is newish and i haven't had an issue with the R5VE10. I'm assuming in the BIOS you have under Advanced the m.2 selected? Silly question but just making sure as it helps identifying the m.2 and not relying on AUTO.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •