Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation Maximus VIII Hero Q code d0

    Hi all,

    Just finished building my new system, finished installing windows, drivers.
    Sat and watched the idle temps for a while and decided its time to sleep.
    shut down the PC for the night and now it wont start.


    So specs
    CPU: I5 6600k
    MB: Asus Maximus VIII Hero Bios 1902 (flashed before windows install)
    RAM: Corsair 16gb Vengence led ram
    Corsair H100i v2 (stock thermal paste removed and seated with Arctic silver)
    PSU: EVGA NEX650G
    GPU: Asus stryx 970 gpu
    just in case u want a list of everything.
    http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/LLjwhq

    Q code d0 - CPU initialization error

    So power on the pc and fans hit max and Qcode led shows d0, left the pc on for 15min no changes.
    Tried the Clear Cmos button, pc restarts Qcode 00 then d0, repeated so many times....
    Tried removing the battery, and power cables, held down the start button for 30s - still d0, repeated several times, even left unplugged without battery overnight.
    Re- flashed bios to 1902 with usb stick - d0, repeated no change.
    Stripped pc down checked for bent pins - none, re-seated the cpu and water cooler - still qcode d0.
    Tried starting with no GPU, no drives, no ram - qcode d0, with one ram dimm in A1 - same, 1 Dimm in A2 - same d0.

    Oh put the drives and PSU back into the old I7 950 and they work fine.

    So now I'm stumped, anyone got any suggestions

    Thank Phill

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Hi Phill and Welcome to ROG.

    As you have recognized, the CPU is failing to initialize and all other tests you have made, brings it down to CPU or MB.
    One other consideration would be the PSU not providing efficient power, so that would have to be tested under load.
    No other way but to swap out or test both if you have the parts. If not then try to Benchtest outside the case in minimalist state as you have done.
    Sometimes too much pressure from over-tightened Cooler hold down brackets is another cause so try and loosen a little.
    If still failing then test or RMA the CPU and if that's fruitless then RMA the MB.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 08-06-2016 at 06:35 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    There are 4 QLEDs beside the 24 pin connector. When your system is stucked at the d0, do any of the QLEDs remain lit?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Yes the cpu qled remains lit.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •