Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    R5E10 initialization issues ... damaged board?

    I have Board initialization issues. When turning on the system it immediately halts with both a qcode and audio alert seemingly related to memory issues. I do have a 4x4 16GB memory kit of Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200 MHz (CMD16GX4M4B3200C16) which isn't listed in the QVL published for this board but please read on!

    Diagnostic response is:

    BIOS Beep: One continuous beep followed by two short beeps then a pause (repeated). No memory detected

    QCode: 53. Memory intialization error. Invalid memory type or incompatible memory speed.

    Isnt it a bit weird that the bios beep is indicating the system detects no memory installed while Q code indicates that there is memory present but it cant get it up and running due to the various reasons listed for the specific Q code? Reading through the Q code table in the manual states that if the system has no memory installed when powered on, the Q code generated should be 55, contradicting the bios beep diagnostic response!

    Diagnostic LED s for memory are off, ie, not lighting up at all. Noticed that the Diagnostic LED s for the PCIe lanes behave strangely too. When system is trying to power on, all 4 light up and then shut off and then only the 4th one comes back on in a blinking state. I have a 980 SLI setup occupying slots 1 & 3. Weird.

    Furhter funnyfications with the state of the board .... it does all of the above even with no memory installed at all

    I ve done most what I can think of ....

    1) Tested each memory slot with each stick individually.
    2) Used MemOk! button.
    3) Used SafeBoot button.
    4) Updated BIOS via BIOS Flashback (to 901).
    5) Reseated the CPU and verified the socket pin array and CPU contact surface integrity.
    6) Cleared CMOS via all means available, including removing battery and power cord for an extended period of time
    7) Varying mounting force of the EKWB Supremacy EVO waterblock

    Both the CPU (5930K) and the memory are confirmed working. They both came off my old MSI X99 SLI Plus board where they operated flawlessly.

    Is the board a coaster?
    Last edited by Bingobongo; 08-07-2016 at 06:37 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Bingobongo View Post
    I have Board initialization issues. When turning on the system it immediately halts with both a qcode and audio alert seemingly related to memory issues. I do have a 4x4 16GB memory kit of Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200 MHz (CMD16GX4M4B3200C16) which isn't listed in the QVL published for this board but please read on!

    Diagnostic response is:

    BIOS Beep: One continuous beep followed by two short beeps then a pause (repeated). No memory detected

    QCode: 53. Memory intialization error. Invalid memory type or incompatible memory speed.

    Isnt it a bit weird that the bios beep is indicating the system detects no memory installed while Q code indicates that there is memory present but it cant get it up and running due to the various reasons listed for the specific Q code? Reading through the Q code table in the manual states that if the system has no memory installed when powered on, the Q code generated should be 55, contradicting the bios beep diagnostic response!

    Diagnostic LED s for memory are off, ie, not lighting up at all. Noticed that the Diagnostic LED s for the PCIe lanes behave strangely too. When system is trying to power on, all 4 light up and then shut off and then only the 4th one comes back on in a blinking state. I have a 980 SLI setup occupying slots 1 & 3. Weird.

    Furhter funnyfications with the state of the board .... it does all of the above even with no memory installed at all

    I ve done most what I can think of ....

    1) Tested each memory slot with each stick individually.
    2) Used MemOk! button.
    3) Used SafeBoot button.
    4) Updated BIOS via BIOS Flashback (to 901).
    5) Reseated the CPU and verified the socket pin array and CPU contact surface integrity.
    6) Cleared CMOS via all means available, including removing battery and power cord for an extended period of time
    7) Varying mounting force of the EKWB Supremacy EVO waterblock

    Both the CPU (5930K) and the memory are confirmed working. They both came off my old MSI X99 SLI Plus board where they operated flawlessly.

    Is the board a coaster?
    I have the exact same problem, except my build was using slightly different parts. I have got plenty of responses so check my thread out to see if there's anything useless for you. ( https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ncompatibility )
    I just received my RMA replacement Rampage V Editon 10 motherboard after the first one was sent to Asus and deemed "unrepairable". The new motherboard has not solved anything and I'm still getting Qcode 53 along with the blinking PCI-E #4 slot LED. I already fear this replacement motherboard is also faulty and will need to be sent back, hopefully not though.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Hey,

    Can you test another memory set ? I remember getting Q-Code 53 when i was combining kits. As soon as i would use a factory paires kit it would work. Get a cheap 50$ kit from newegg or somethig. It will most probably prove that the board is alright.

    Always check QVL.

    Max
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Avenger411 View Post
    Hey,

    Can you test another memory set ? I remember getting Q-Code 53 when i was combining kits. As soon as i would use a factory paires kit it would work. Get a cheap 50$ kit from newegg or somethig. It will most probably prove that the board is alright.

    Always check QVL.

    Max
    G.Skill had the Rampage V Edition 10 on their QVL with this memory kit and other people on this forum have the same spec-ed kits running without issues. I do plan on trying to find some DDR4 ram to try on the board to see what happens.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Bingobongo View Post
    Is the board a coaster?
    I'd say it is.

    My memory kit is now in the R5E10 QVL from 2016/08/22. After seeing that, I decided to try once more with a newer BIOS but nothing has changed.

    After reading what others went through with their boards, I think the only joy I ll ever get out of this POS is cutting my losses and putting an axe through it.

    ASUS wont get the pleasure of annoying and insulting me yet again by having me deal with their piss poor support and RMA procedures. One can only feel sorry for those working inside the company that really wants to put out good quality stuff and be proud of their work being dragged down by the apparant idiots in the managment.

    Hasta la vista, ASUS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •