Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 47 of 47
  1. #41
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I was told a dead CMOS battery could cause a complete lack of booting. Just replaced it and still nothing.

    RGB lights turn on once the PSU powers up but still no booting upon pressing the start button.

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    113

    Quote Originally Posted by SimondsUnchaind View Post
    I was told a dead CMOS battery could cause a complete lack of booting. Just replaced it and still nothing.

    RGB lights turn on once the PSU powers up but still no booting upon pressing the start button.
    That's also incorrect, all it would do is restore CMOS default settings after standby power is lost.

  3. #43
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by elmor View Post
    That's also incorrect, all it would do is restore CMOS default settings after standby power is lost.
    Sweet jesus lol well it was worth a shot. Any reasons why the motherboard just wouldn't attempt boot despite being fully setup and plugged in?

  4. #44
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    113

    Quote Originally Posted by SimondsUnchaind View Post
    Sweet jesus lol well it was worth a shot. Any reasons why the motherboard just wouldn't attempt boot despite being fully setup and plugged in?
    Most likely faulty board with a short circuit or damaged component somewhere. Since you tested several boards before I don't think that was your initial problem. As said before, ask for a new board which works and doesn't look like it's been beaten up. Then try it with a memory stick of a different model.
    Last edited by elmor; 09-14-2016 at 04:14 AM.

  5. #45
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by elmor View Post
    Most likely faulty board with a short circuit or damaged component somewhere. Since you tested several boards before I don't think that was your initial problem. As said before, ask for a new board which works and doesn't look like it's been beaten up. Then try it with a memory stick of a different model.
    Got two different sets of DDR4 memory to try now! (3 different kits in total including the G.Skill Trident Z)

    Unfortunately, I'm still waiting for the 4th RMA'ed board since I have now requested a new unit instead of a refurbished one. According to Asus, Asus only RMA's with refurbished products and currently don't have any "Brand new" units in stock in North America . Looking like another 2-3weeks on top of the 3 months I've already spent dealing with this.

    EDIT: Email from Asus this morning. Somehow they managed to allocate a new board for me! Hurray for Asus! Back on track now. Fingers crossed for a working PC by next week!
    Last edited by SimondsUnchaind; 09-27-2016 at 03:38 PM.

  6. #46
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Got the new board, with everything that comes with it this time lol so now I have two 2 everything except the board.

    Using Corsair Vengeance 2666mhz RAM now, BIOS 1003 helped with the Trident Z memory but was still having problems. It would only recognize 8gb out of the 32g at 1600mhz.

    Will hopefully still use the Trident Z memory down that road as further BIOS updates will improve compatibility.

    Big thanks to everyone that helped me troubleshoot. +1 gold star to you all
    Last edited by SimondsUnchaind; 10-12-2016 at 08:34 PM.

  7. #47
    New ROGer Array alexkeramidas PC Specs
    alexkeramidas PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6850K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL TridentZ F4-3400C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX1080 A8G
    MonitorAcer Predator X34
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SATA3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100I V2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Generic
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Generic
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Generic
    OS Windows 10 / Ubuntu 64
    Network RouterTP-Link AC750

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hey, new to the forums,

    Just made a new build comprising of these.

    CPU - INTEL CORE I7-6850K
    ASUS ROG RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    G.SKILL F4-3400C16Q-32GTZ 32GB
    ASUS ROG STRIX GTX1080 A8G

    I also had these issues about the memory not working at the advertised speeds.

    I managed to reach the memory to 3200MHz, completely stable by following the video guide posted one or two pages ago. Anywhere above that and it stalls at the same error.

    I have to mention that in order for the mobo to recognize the four sticks I had to remove them and test the separately many times as I had cases that it recognized anywhere from 8 to 24 GB.

    Also the mem OK button helped a lot.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •