cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G750JZ "no active partition found"

FXmAniac
Level 7
Hello

I have read through the forum and did found some topics with a similar problem, but none of them helped me.

I have been using my G750JZ notebook for over 2 years without an issue, but since 2 weeks it started to behave unreliably.

My version is equipped with a 256GB Plextor M6S SSD (Windows 10 Pro installed on it) and 1TB HGST HDD.

The notebook is starting to give me a "no active partition found" message, after the ROG logo, so I can not boot into Windows.
If that happens, and I enter the bios/uefi, the SSD is missing from drive list, as it was physically absent.

I have never messed with bios settings. The problem just started to happen by itself. I have the latest firmware.

The problem happens randomly. Sometimes notebook works fine for a couple of days, then, the other day I can not boot it at all.

I thought it was a faulty SSD drive, so I checked it on my PC through USB 3.0 adapter, and it works fine.

I also installed another SSD to the notebook (new Samsung 850 PRO, system partition was cloned from Plextor drive). It worked fine for 1 day. The next day morning I turned my G750 on and was greeted with the same message "no active partition found".

To me, it seems that there is something wrong with the SATA interface. However I can not understand this. If it was broken, it would not work at all.
Also the second drive, the 1TB HDD, is working fine all the time. Both SSD and HDD drives are connected to mainboard with a common little PCB. If it is broken, then both drives would not work. Am I right?

I am really out of ideas, what could be wrong?

Thanks for any help
8 REPLIES 8

Gps3dx
Level 12
this "odd" behavior might be happening because of some windows update, like a very large "security pack" or edition upgrade ( the win10 anniversary update 1607 ).