Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cooling my recent build without another hiccup

Kittenjouster
Level 7
Hi Guys
I'm Chris I'm new to ROG,
Its been a while since I'd had a new (100%) PC and mine was all becoming entry level for most games so I built a new one over the space of 2 months (pic1),
AMD has always been my favorite brand as they've never disappointed me ever since my K62 300mhz in 1996.
Here are the specs
FX-9590
Crosshair V formula z
XFX Radeon 480 8Gb backplate edition
Thermaltake core P5 Case
EVGA Supernova 850 P2
4x 8Gb HyperX fury 1866 red (set unganged)
Samsung 850 EVO 256gb running Windows 10 Pro
Samsung 256gb M.2 Nvme 256gb in a PCIE x4 card in a 8x slot looking after steam
Half decent cooler as a temp measure while i accumulated the bits for a custom loop
Some fans on the VRM and rear of CPU socket (pic2+3)

Tricky to see under the cooler i used and I killed the 9590 because some paste oozed out and made contact with some pins of the CPU just after it scored 5th in the realbench leaderboard (AMD chips only)
A new one is on the way and although I'll not make that mistake again I'd find experienced advice invaluable when it comes to the cooling to go on the new chip.
So far I have an XSPC Raystorm Pro waterblock (pic4) and an XSPC ION Pump/Reservoir (specs Pic5).
What I'd like to know is,
1. Is that pump/res too small?
2. How big a Radiator is enough, 240, 360, 480?
3. Was I being paranoid with the VRM and back of the socket fans
4. I used CoolerMaster IC essential paste as I was out of arctic silver (runny stuff) and fried £200, which paste is best for 9590's
plus any other helpful things you guys can think of to lower the chances of me having to buy a third 9590
17 REPLIES 17

MeanMachine
Level 13
Hi Kittenjouster 🙂 An interesting setup.

1. Is that pump/res too small? I haven't seen any OL with your combination, so it's hard to say but from what iv'e heard the Raystorm pro and pump should be adequate.