Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    PCIE - Need help to setup RAMPAGE V EDITION 10.

    Hi. I`m building my new rig using Rampage V Edition 10 and i7 6850K. I also planning to use 2X Intel 750 series 400gb on Raid 0.
    I just now purchase GTX Titan x pascal on Nvidia website for only USD 1200 . I`m gonna do Titan 2way SLI on my new rig.
    I have 2 cards of GTX 680 from my old rig and I`m gonna use one of them as a physx card.

    Now I face a problem. RVE10 (Rampage V Edition 10) is only have 40 PCIE lanes.
    If I do native 16X SLI with 2 Titans it takes 2X16 Lanes = 32 PCIE lanes?
    if I were to use M.2 and U.2 it takes 8 Pcie lanes, am I correct?

    In Asus RVE manual it mention that The PCIEX8_4 slot shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2.
    Manual also mention The PCIEX4_1 slot shares bandwidth with front USB3_34 ports and back USB3.1_EC1_EA2 ports.
    If a X2 device is connected to the PCIEx4_1 slot, the front USB3_34 ports will be disabled.
    If a X4 or higher device is connected to the PCIEx4_1 slot, both front USB3_34 and back USB3.1_EC1_EA2 ports will be disabled.

    If I add GTX 680 card as a physx card on PCIE X8-2 will it use 8 PCIE lanes?I so can we make it to use one PCIE lane or 2?

    If my understanding is right-
    Titan X SLI PCIEX16_1 and PCIE X16_3 = 32 PCIE lanes.
    PCIE X4_1 is for USB = 4 PCIE lanes.
    GTX 680 physx = 8 PCIE lanes.
    m.2 + U.2 use PCIE X8_4 = 8 PCIE lanes.

    If my calculation is correct. There is a possibility that i`m totally wrong and I wish I`am, then it might need 52 PCIE lanes to work.
    If i run Titans in 8X if it gonna be lose of performance? I really cant figure it out and i feel awful .
    I`ll add 2 photos of what I download from Asus RVE10 manual.

    Little help is much appreciated.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-08-24 (1).png 
Views:	5 
Size:	161.7 KB 
ID:	59137
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-08-24 (2).png 
Views:	1 
Size:	184.7 KB 
ID:	59138
    Last edited by rog-classified; 08-24-2016 at 05:26 PM. Reason: Details.
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array TitanXP PC Specs
    TitanXP PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V 10th
    Processor6900k @4.3
    Memory (part number)32gb Tridentz 3200 cas 14
    Graphics Card #1Titan XP
    Graphics Card #2Titan XP
    Sound Cardn/a
    Monitor4k 65" tv and 27" XB271HU
    Storage #12x evo 850 1tb raid0
    Storage #22x 4tb raid0
    CPU Coolerh115i
    Power Supply1200 watt gold
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 1300 watt speaker setup
    OS Win 10
    Network Router1 gbits Fiber

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18


  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,501

    There is no point running a 680 as a PhysX card. The SLI Titans will run Phys X much better even if they are highly loaded...the case where they are so highlt loaded that they need to offload physx would be rare not to say unnecessary ...

    Raid 0 would not be bios raid....windows software raid and might be slower than running a single high capacoty boot drive.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Hi guys. How may I boot and install win 10 on a Rampage 5 edition 10. I have a Intel 750 1.2 Tb U.2 SSD. Do I have to do something on bios to get ti to boot on NVMe or just select it in bios. I didnt got to run the mobo yet as im waiting my new PSU. If anyone can explane me or point me the right direction please.
    Thank you.
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •