Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    install win 10 on Intel 750 ssd with NVMe enable.

    Hi guys. How may I boot and install win 10 on a Rampage 5 edition 10. I have a Intel 750 1.2 Tb U.2 SSD. Do I have to do someting on bios to get ti to boot on NVMe or just select it in bios. I didnt got to run the mobo yet as im waiting my new PSU. If anyone can explane me or point me the right direction please.
    Thank you.
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    I had a few issues but finally got it working...had to do with http://www.windowscentral.com/how-cr...b-installation Not sure if its correct but it had to do with making the Win10 installation USB stick UEFI capable drive

    That made my M.2Samsung drive a UEFI drive..................

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    As will_s says above if you are using a USB to install from or if using a DVD drive on boot up press F8 to select boot source and select the USB or DVD with UEFI in front of it and it will install in UEFI

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    I did install win 10 using a USB on to intel 750 1.2 u.2 SSD. I need to know if its on NVMe or not. Is there anyway we can find it out in windows? please let me know.
    thanks.
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    All you need to know is if it is installed in UEFI mode

    Right click my computer, click on Disk Management, you should see your OS disk has several partitions, 450MB Recovery partition, 100MB EFI system, the rest as your Primary partition, there is another small partition but you won't be able to see it
    I have Win 7 on my Intel 750 and Win 10 on my Samsung 950 in this image, both installed in UEFI mode, I hade to have a USB drive with Intel NVME drivers to install Win 7 as it does not have NVME drivers, Win 10 has NVME drivers but it is recommended to install the Samsung NVME drivers after installation for optimal performance

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture 22.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	164.4 KB 
ID:	59353

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Menthol, Thank you for leting mw know. I Still canot understand how it works. Ill add a photo of my disk management. Please let me know if all are good or not.
    Thank you.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Item.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	184.6 KB 
ID:	59362
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    The drive is NVME protocol so it cannot be anything but, I did make a mistake about the driver, I said Samsung when I should have said Intel NVME driver, yes everything looks good on your install
    You can go to device manager, disk drives and check properties for your drive as shown, it is listed as a SCSI\Disk NVME

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture33.PNG 
Views:	2 
Size:	173.8 KB 
ID:	59363

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array rog-classified's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    135

    Menthol, Please let me know if my installation is correct. I cannot see any difference using NVMe, It feels like my old rig is faster than the new one. This make me really confuse now.
    Thanks.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nvme.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	164.7 KB 
ID:	59396
    It ain't over till the fat lady sings ...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •