Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Post GPU Tweak II Lag's system & Lock Up issue on RX 480.

    Hey everyone,

    I got my new Strix RX 480 OC 8GB card, but there is a problem with the GPU Tweak software.
    I've try'd all versions released with RX 480 support:
    1312, 1332 & 1341

    They all have the same problem, when I loaded them up it caused Windows to slow down and be very laggy on doing standard things like viewing system tray icons (doesn't even show up)
    Highlighting, clicking, all things get delayed and the whole system is extremely slow. Then it will lead to the system locking up and needing to be forced restarted.

    Uninstalling GPU Tweak fixes all problems so I know its the software causing this.

    I've tried searching around to find others with this issue but the only things I find are old results of people having this issue on old hardware from years ago.

    My current system specs if they help with any info with this issue are:
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    ASUS P8Z77-V Pro Motherboard
    i7 3770K CPU
    Corsair HX1000i PSU
    G.Skill 16GB 2400MHz RAM

    Has anyone else been experiencing the same or similar issue?

    @Bahz Through some recent testing I believe I might have found the cause of the issue but I am not entirely sure.
    I noticed that the issue only happens when the monitor and/or the info tab is loaded. Changing the settings so that the monitor doesn't start when the program is loaded and not clicking the info makes it so the issue doesn't happen.

    What I think is going on is that when either of those things are done the GPU-Z dll is being loaded and is the cause of the problem.
    Looking at the version of the DLL ASUS is using its based off of GPU-Z v 0.8.9 however the newer releases after that have Polaris fixes so perhaps the issue lies with GPU Tweak software needing to update their GPU-Z DLL?

    I wanted to test the latest 1.10.0 however I couldn't publicly get the 1.10.0 DLL anywhere (looks like you half to apply to get the GPU-Z SDK and access to the DLL's)

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I have this issue as well.
    It happens when I switch to OC mode as well or when I open Aura and play around with the options.
    I get graphical weirdness outside of the software and opening things takes a while.
    If you open the Recycle Bin, the left side icons don't appear right away.
    Rebooting corrects this.

    I've tried many versions of GPU Tweak II and Aura. I'm currently on the latest for both.

    Windows 10 Ver. 1607 with a STRIX 1070 OC

    To add, I didn't have this issue with the STRIX 970.
    Last edited by Airwolf; 08-29-2016 at 11:31 PM.

  3. #3
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Thank you both for the additional details, I'll contact our software team regarding this and have them look into it.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    For giggles, I killed the Desktop Window Manager process and it fixed the issue when it reset.

  5. #5
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Our software team recommend to try out this recently updated version of GPU Tweak (v1.3.6.0) it should have the updated DLL
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...578.1450917820

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    The glitch is still there.

    Just after the computer restarted from installing GPU Tweak II, I turned off the log, unlocked it from the main window and closed it.
    Switched to OC Mode.
    Went into the settings for GPU Tweak to stop it the monitor from opening on every restart like I normally do.
    Checked off apply settings each time GPU Tweak starts.
    Went back to Home and minimized.

    I noticed the graphical glitch it did before with the task bar, so I opened the Recycle Bin and the icons did the same thing where it takes a while to load.
    Clicking things in Task Manager takes while to show up etc...

    Ending the Desktop Window Manager from Task Manager fixes this when it restarts the process.

    So weird that I cannot recreate the glitch the same way each time.

    I used the latest removal tool too before installing.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    82

    Quote Originally Posted by Airwolf View Post
    The glitch is still there.

    Just after the computer restarted from installing GPU Tweak II, I turned off the log, unlocked it from the main window and closed it.
    Switched to OC Mode.
    Went into the settings for GPU Tweak to stop it the monitor from opening on every restart like I normally do.
    Checked off apply settings each time GPU Tweak starts.
    Went back to Home and minimized.

    I noticed the graphical glitch it did before with the task bar, so I opened the Recycle Bin and the icons did the same thing where it takes a while to load.
    Clicking things in Task Manager takes while to show up etc...

    Ending the Desktop Window Manager from Task Manager fixes this when it restarts the process.

    So weird that I cannot recreate the glitch the same way each time.

    I used the latest removal tool too before installing.
    I've had the same issue for 2 weeks using a Strix 1080. Been using MSI Afterburner instead

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Bahz View Post
    Our software team recommend to try out this recently updated version of GPU Tweak (v1.3.6.0) it should have the updated DLL
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...578.1450917820
    Thank you for the quick action Bahz,

    Unfortunately the problem is still there. Whats worse though is what I did last time to try and avoid it (by not having the monitor or info tab loaded) it is doing it no matter what when the program loads.

    I even downgraded to the previous one that worked if I avoid the monitor and info tab and it is still happening.

    Makes me wonder if it has to do with whatever GPU tweak is doing setting wise that it applies to the Windows OS itself.

  9. #9
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Thanks for testing it out guys, I'll be sure to update them and let them know it didn't fix the issue for you guys.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Any update?

    Just bought 1070 Strix and I got the same problem using the latest version of GPUTweak II. Any update on a fix?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •