Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    How do you fine tune memory clocks?

    Is this even possible? E.G. the board says it supports 3333 Mhz memory, but you can normally only select 3200 or 3400.

    So how would I go about trying to clock the memory between 3200 and 3400?

    Because I have 3200 stable with very tight timings, but 3400 wont boot, so I would like to try in between the two.

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    For a 3333MHz memory divider set the CPU Strap to 125MHz.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Switching the strap to 125MHz has a downside as it can cause the CPU to be unstable.

    You could add a little to the ratio of the strap, maybe 101.0. That would take your 3200 to 3300 I believe.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    Switching the strap to 125MHz has a downside as it can cause the CPU to be unstable.
    Assuming all else is equal, the 125 strap works the same as the 100 strap for absolute CPU frequency stability, so if anyone is seeing an issue, it's because they haven't accounted for associated domain speeds correctly. Praz's statement is correct for the DRAM frequency in question.

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    The original question centered on selecting the appropriate memory divider which is why it was suggested to use the 125 strap instead of altering BCLK. As far as the instability cited CPU only stability would not be affected. If the PLL is set to 100 using a 40x multiplier, 10 using a 400x multiplier or 4000 with a 1x multiplier the end result will be the same and it is unknown to the CPU how the 4000MHz was achieved. Any instability will be elsewhere.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Thanks, Im tweaking it further now.

    Initial testing shows stability with the CPU at 4250 Mhz, and 3625 Mhz cache at stock volts (previously at 4.2 and 3.6), and my ram currently seems stable at 3250 Mhz 13-13-13-26 with a voltage increase to 1.45v (will try 3333 after, but not going any higher on the ram volts).

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Well I couldnt get any higher clocks stable at 13-13-13 timings, even 3250 eventually began throwing up errors in Memtest.

    However 14-14-14-1T 3333 Mhz is stable, and at much lower voltage (1.4v) than 3200 @ 13-13-13-1T (1.425v).

    Im going to keep that setting for the lower volts.

    Also I couldnt boot with 3350 Mhz, it seems the 3333 Mhz rating on this motherboard is pretty literal (3400 doesnt even boot with 2T).

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    78

    Quote Originally Posted by bhavvv View Post
    Well I couldnt get any higher clocks stable at 13-13-13 timings, even 3250 eventually began throwing up errors in Memtest.

    However 14-14-14-1T 3333 Mhz is stable, and at much lower voltage (1.4v) than 3200 @ 13-13-13-1T (1.425v).

    Im going to keep that setting for the lower volts.

    Also I couldnt boot with 3350 Mhz, it seems the 3333 Mhz rating on this motherboard is pretty literal (3400 doesnt even boot with 2T).
    To get it to boot at 3400 on the ram, you may well need to adjust your system agent voltage. My Corsair Dominators are rated for 3400 and they need 1.35 volts on the system agent to run at that speed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •