Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    129

    G751JY wi-fi card change

    Hey,

    I have been trying to search for similar topic on forums, but didn't find one. Anyway, is it possible to change the current Intel dual band Wireless-AC 7260 card on our laptops for some different one ? Have anyone tried it already ? If so, which model would be best to use as a replacement ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Yes it can be done easily, its been discussed but I know the search function is not all that friendly.
    google G752Jy teardown, there are plenty of vids out there. You basically just have to get the keyboard off and the wireless card is in the top left. Only one screw holds it into the PCI half slot.

    Question is why do you want to change it? Some folks have other preference claiming better ping times and no lag etc but personally Ive seen no conclusive proof that any improvements are seen.
    One of the favorites of those who have issues or placebo issues is the Killer AC 1535.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    129

    Thanks, I will check it out.

    I want to get rid of the latency spikes which I experience basically since I've got the laptop (it used to happen only in CS:GO at first but nowadays I am losing signal even during normal use + it happens in ESO too, which I play quite often recently). That's why I wanted to check, if someone actually changed it and if they experience some kind of an improvement after doing so.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Boxis View Post
    Thanks, I will check it out.

    I want to get rid of the latency spikes which I experience basically since I've got the laptop (it used to happen only in CS:GO at first but nowadays I am losing signal even during normal use + it happens in ESO too, which I play quite often recently). That's why I wanted to check, if someone actually changed it and if they experience some kind of an improvement after doing so.

    I'd be really intereseted in how it turns out. I have the same issue with it with streaming xbox one games.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •