Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array crammus PC Specs
    crammus PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Memory (part number)16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666
    Graphics Card #14GB GTX 980 STRIX
    MonitorDell 3007HC
    Storage #1240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb
    Storage #23TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power Supply850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Chroma
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Window 10 Home (64bit)

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Rampage V Extreme - BIOS update loop on boot

    Hi there
    A friend recommended I post here because we're out of ideas. I know some stuff, but don't assume too much. I'm fairly terrified of fiddling with PCs as they've caused me all manner of stress over the years. I've googled my problem a lot, but it feels like such a weird incident I've not found anything that matches it. So hopefully you guys can help me out.

    I've written a shorter tl;dr version first as I tend to waffle, then a longer, more detailed version below.

    Firstly, here are the specs of my PC, which was bought in June this year:

    Case: NZXT H440 Black/Red (ATX)
    Processor (CPU): Intel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme/U3.1
    Memory (RAM): 16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 (2x 8gb)
    Graphics: Asus 4GB GTX 980 STRIX
    1st Hard Drive: 240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
    2nd Hard Drive: 3TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    Optical Drive: External DVD Writer Drive (USB)
    Power Supply: 850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Processor Cooling: Corsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    Processor Cooling Fans: 2 x 12cm Red Corsair Ring Static Pressure Fans
    Case Fans: 1 x Red Corsair Ring Quiet Fan
    Operating System: Windows 10 Home (64 bit)
    BIOS: 3009

    Here is the TL;DR version:

    Currently my PC will enter an 'Updating BIOS' loop on boot under certain conditions. I'll get the first boot screen with ASUS ROG logo, then a message saying “BIOS is updating. Do not shut down or reset the system to prevent system bootup failure.” The PC will then restart, and I'll get the same message. This happens 4 times in total, before going to the Windows loading ASUS ROG logo screen then into Windows.

    The only constant condition of when this happens is if my PC has been turned off, during the day, while I'm at work. So around 8+ hours. If it's been turned off overnight while asleep it seems to boot up fine in the morning.

    For the past week I've been under the assumption that this was caused by my external 3TB USB HDD being plugged in. This was a mystery in itself and I was going to write this post concerning that anyway, but today it's just happened without the Ext. HDD being plugged in, so now I'm out of ideas.

    -----

    Here is the longer version with a bit of history of what's happened since I got this PC back in June.

    I won't name the company that built my PC for me, but while I'm not a technophobe, I don't feel confident with PCs and they've caused me all manner of stress over the years and my PC know-how is fairly limited, so I decided to have a company build me a custom gaming PC as opposed to building it myself. However, they've not been completely helpful with this problem, trying to blame Windows or anything else but never taking responsibility.

    The evening I received it I noticed a problem already. When I powered off the PC I tried to turn it back on, but while the PC itself powered up the monitor (DVI) and keyboard/mouse (USB) would not come on. The only way I could get it to boot up with the monitor, keyboard and mouse to also come on was to flick off the PSU switch, wait, flick back on and then turn the PC back on, where it would boot up with the monitor, keyboard and mouse. Trying to put the PC into Sleep mode would also have similar results, with only the PC waking back up, but no monitor, keyboard or mouse.

    I called the company who built it and explained the problem. However, while on the phone it powered up normally. I didn't realise at the time, but this is because it had been powered off all night. So we assumed it was a glitch and was now fixed.

    It did the same again that night. I found a 'fix' by unchecking 'Turn on fast start-up' in the System Settings. Or keeping fast start-up on, but telling the PC to never turn off the hard drives. The company wanted me to just leave fast start-up turned off, but this was a brand new system that should all be working, so I wasn't satisfied with that 'fix'.

    I did a bit of googling, and lots of people were saying to update the BIOS. I checked the current BIOS and it was 1701 from Sept 1st 2015. I updated to the latest version at the time (3009) using a USB stick in the BIOS screen. It seemed to work ok, but then I started getting the 'BIOS is updating' loop as mentioned above, followed by a prompt to enter the BIOS to recover the boot setting.

    Got back on the phone to the builder who said I should send it back to him and he'd take a look. He also said he'd ask his contact at ASUS to see what they thought, who got back to him, telling him to update the BIOS.

    They installed the latest BIOS for me again, set the RAM correctly in the BIOS (something I had not done as I was not aware I needed to – like I say, my PC know-how is fairly limited) and then after keeping the system for a few days without incident sent it back.

    I got it back, turned it on and got the same 'BIOS is updating' loop. My heart sank. I then thought I'd try unplugging the external USB HDD. Maybe the system was trying to update the BIOS from a USB drive? It booted up ok. I plugged the HDD back in. Restarted. Booted up ok. So I thought it was fixed.

    That lasted a month or so and now, over the last few weeks I'm getting the 'BIOS is updating' loop again. It seemed to coincide with Windows updates, but then it would happen even after there hadn't been a recent update.

    I went back to my external HDD theory and kept it unplugged during boot for a week, and it all seemed to work ok. Until today.

    I've come back from work only to find the same BIOS update loop on boot-up, but this time the external HDD was unplugged. There WAS a windows update the night before last – and this is the first time the system has been off all day since that update – but it still feels like a weird long shot.

    If anyone has any ideas I've love to hear them. Also, if any other info is required then I'll be more than happy to supply you with it.

    Below are a few shots of the BIOS boot menu if that shines any light on the situation.
    http://imgur.com/gallery/Vcp6K

    Thank-you
    David

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    Things I would try..

    Switch to second BIOS chip...see if problem is the same

    Flash BIOS 2101 bios flashback method on current BIOS chip...see if problem is the same

    See this post maybe http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post398383

    I find it pretty strange that a company would build you a RVE system and then only put in dual channel RAM...this is a quad channel system....

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array crammus PC Specs
    crammus PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Memory (part number)16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666
    Graphics Card #14GB GTX 980 STRIX
    MonitorDell 3007HC
    Storage #1240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb
    Storage #23TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power Supply850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Chroma
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Window 10 Home (64bit)

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks very much for the reply.

    The system is still under warranty, so I'll call the company and let them know as removing the side panel will invalidate the warranty at this time.
    Useful info though. I will update if it's successful.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    If it's still in the warranty period, it's better to send it back to them and have them deal with it.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array crammus PC Specs
    crammus PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Memory (part number)16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666
    Graphics Card #14GB GTX 980 STRIX
    MonitorDell 3007HC
    Storage #1240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb
    Storage #23TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power Supply850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Chroma
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Window 10 Home (64bit)

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    If it's still in the warranty period, it's better to send it back to them and have them deal with it.
    Yeah, it's already been back to them once. All current 'fixes' are things I've found myself.
    Last edited by crammus; 09-05-2016 at 07:08 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    Quote Originally Posted by crammus View Post
    Thanks very much for the reply.

    The system is still under warranty, so I'll call the company and let them know as removing the side panel will invalidate the warranty at this time.
    Useful info though. I will update if it's successful.
    While you may prefer to just send it back to them under warranty, a BIOS flash of the current chip would not mean opening the case.

    I have to say though, opening the side panel can surely not void your warranty!..since the buttons on the board such as BIOS change button reset/start etc etc are meant to be used...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array crammus PC Specs
    crammus PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Memory (part number)16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666
    Graphics Card #14GB GTX 980 STRIX
    MonitorDell 3007HC
    Storage #1240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb
    Storage #23TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power Supply850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Chroma
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Window 10 Home (64bit)

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    While you may prefer to just send it back to them under warranty, a BIOS flash of the current chip would not mean opening the case.

    I have to say though, opening the side panel can surely not void your warranty!..since the buttons on the board such as BIOS change button reset/start etc etc are meant to be used...
    I know. It's a bit silly. They've put their little 'warranty void if broken' stickers around the seals. If I just ring them and let them know they should be alright with that though.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by crammus View Post
    Yeah, it's already been back to them once. I don't have too much faith in them to be honest. All current 'fixes' are things I've found myself.
    Yeah, you can fix it yourself and I would recommend you doing so actually. But if anything goes wrong, the shop will probably blame it on user fault. If they are willing to let you fix it and stand behind their warranty, then all is good.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,456

    Side panel sometimes need to be opened because some buttons on ROG motherboards.
    Seller should know that. CMOS example button, or mem OK. Or disabling some PCI-E slots, changing BIOS switch,...
    If you want to use 100% capacity of high end motherboard as Rampage you need to have full access to motherboard.
    Maybe seller installed Dual Channel and than if you change something they could explain you You destroy your warranty, you shouldn't open side panel.
    You should tell to us.


  10. #10
    ROG Member Array crammus PC Specs
    crammus PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K (6x 3.50GHz)
    Memory (part number)16gb Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666
    Graphics Card #14GB GTX 980 STRIX
    MonitorDell 3007HC
    Storage #1240gb Kingston V300 SSD, SATA 6Gb
    Storage #23TB SATA3 Hard Drive (UDMA600)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100 240mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power Supply850w Corsair RM850x Modular
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Chroma
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Window 10 Home (64bit)

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Sorry all. Think I've been a bit of an idiot here. Just looking in the manual and I can switch to chip 2 via the BIOS menu, right? Using the BIOS Flashback 'Force BIOS1/BIOS2 Boot?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •