Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7
Results 61 to 70 of 70
  1. #61
    ROG Member Array Kiernon PC Specs
    Kiernon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Hero X - BIOS 1704
    Processori7 8700k - 4.8 @ 1.25v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 16GB 3200MHz DDR4 Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA XC Ultra RTX 2080 +100/+700
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorS2716DG 144mhz 1440p G-Sync + ASUS VG248QE 144mhz
    Storage #1Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseEnthoo EVOLV ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard Ducky Skyline - Cherry Blue
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Sennheiser HD598
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623 THX 2.1
    OS Windows 10 x64 Pro 1809
    Kiernon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Mellita View Post
    Hello,

    I have a Maximus VIII Hero with Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2400C14 kit (x2). After BIOS v1701 I'm having XMP problems as mentioned above and couldn't find a solution yet. I'm not fussed about it much, performance benefit from it wouldn't be significant however I'd like to be able to set XMP as it's a part of my hardware function. I'm writing this just as "another person with XMP problem with latest BIOS version", I hope ASUS is working on it, this is a high-end MB when we pay for it and I expect the same "high-end" feeling when there's something needs to be fixed.
    Hey there, Melllita, and thanks for contributing to your experience with recent BIOS XMP issues with us.
    Yep, seems like you fall into the certain 2400-2800 kit crowd that affects some people since 1701.

    With the listing of specific kits through two threads that bring up the issues, you'd think we could get some kind of acknowledgment, or "Hey, we'll test with these kits and see what's going on."

    Something. Anything.

    Hopefully it gets looked into and resolved down the road.

  2. #62
    ROG Member Array MFalorca PC Specs
    MFalorca PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000MHz 4x8GB (F4-3000C15D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220
    MonitorAsus ROG SWIFT PG348Q IPS 34" UWQHD 21:9 100Hz G-SYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 2.5" 850 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB SATA III 64MB (WD2003FZEX)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo EVOLV ATX Glass Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore PT Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse ASUS ROG Spatha (90MP00A1-B0UA00)
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D (504567)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD595 / Logitech Z623 2.1
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit EN
    Network RouterAsus N900 RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Hi,

    I'm one of the guys that had that problem, with BIOS prior to 1701, with Gskill Ripjaws V DDR4-2800MHz 2x8GB (F4-2800C15D-16GVR) kit.

    Today, before change the memory kit, I flashed my MB with BIOS 2001, and check again if this issue is still happening, and yes...it was!

    Then, I've changed my memory to a new kit I bought, and that was the Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000MHz 2x8GB (F4-3000C15D-16GTZ).

    After installed this new kit, the MB run smooth and without any issue described above!

    The Gskill Ripjaws V DDR4-2800MHz 2x8GB (F4-2800C15D-16GVR) was in the initial QVL List of this MB, and I can't understand why Asus doesn't do nothing to fix this, even after so many people claimed about this situation!

  3. #63
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Quote Originally Posted by MFalorca View Post
    Hi,

    I'm one of the guys that had that problem, with BIOS prior to 1701, with Gskill Ripjaws V DDR4-2800MHz 2x8GB (F4-2800C15D-16GVR) kit.

    Today, before change the memory kit, I flashed my MB with BIOS 2001, and check again if this issue is still happening, and yes...it was!

    Then, I've changed my memory to a new kit I bought, and that was the Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000MHz 2x8GB (F4-3000C15D-16GTZ).

    After installed this new kit, the MB run smooth and without any issue described above!

    The Gskill Ripjaws V DDR4-2800MHz 2x8GB (F4-2800C15D-16GVR) was in the initial QVL List of this MB, and I can't understand why Asus doesn't do nothing to fix this, even after so many people claimed about this situation!
    Why do you assume this is an issue on Asus side? It could very well be an issue with the particular RAM kit that you have. Overclocked RAM (anything abobe 2133MHz is overclocked) are finely tuned pieces of electronics, and no 2 kits are exactly alike. Maybe all it took for your kit to work smoothly was to increase DRAM voltage by a notch or two. Isn't this a more likely possibility?

  4. #64
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    158

    I have a problem too with xmp settings with this bios and 1902, seems like in realbench I cant stress test because it gives me an error that I don't have enough memory if I set to 16 gb ram and I have 16 gb corsair at 3000 mhz or sometimes it runs but I have very laggy mouse and In prime95 I had errors on one worker after 45 minutes so I rolled back to 1701 and now works fine and the worst part is that my memory is in qvl list. Is is just me or can someo e relate this problem?
    Last edited by Shakecip; 09-20-2016 at 09:01 PM.

  5. #65
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by hiong View Post
    Why do you assume this is an issue on Asus side? It could very well be an issue with the particular RAM kit that you have. Overclocked RAM (anything abobe 2133MHz is overclocked) are finely tuned pieces of electronics, and no 2 kits are exactly alike. Maybe all it took for your kit to work smoothly was to increase DRAM voltage by a notch or two. Isn't this a more likely possibility?
    If what you are saying is true, then it shouldn't work under 1701 as well, obviously the settings have changed when using 1902 or 2001.
    So no I don't think it's a RAM issue, it's definitely ASUS that has the issue and it's them that haven't tested this RAM and I don't even think they read these forums to be honest.

    What's really disappointing is that there shouldn't be RAM they don't test on the QVL, the point of having a list is so you don't end up with these issues.

    It's 2016 we shouldn't be having these hardware issues from bios to bios. I can understand maybe the first versions but we are at version 1701 -> 2001 and we get issues?

  6. #66
    ROG Member Array Maori80 PC Specs
    Maori80 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M4A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX1080 OC
    Sound CardOnboard Sound
    MonitorAsus VN248H-P x 3
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT Phantom 530
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma 2016
    Headset Logitech Artemis G633
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X4

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    new bios broke my board with XMP setting and Giving me Qcode 00 and 41..

  7. #67
    ROG Member Array MFalorca PC Specs
    MFalorca PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000MHz 4x8GB (F4-3000C15D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 8GB OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220
    MonitorAsus ROG SWIFT PG348Q IPS 34" UWQHD 21:9 100Hz G-SYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 2.5" 850 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB SATA III 64MB (WD2003FZEX)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo EVOLV ATX Glass Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore PT Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse ASUS ROG Spatha (90MP00A1-B0UA00)
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D (504567)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD595 / Logitech Z623 2.1
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit EN
    Network RouterAsus N900 RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by hiong View Post
    Why do you assume this is an issue on Asus side? It could very well be an issue with the particular RAM kit that you have. Overclocked RAM (anything abobe 2133MHz is overclocked) are finely tuned pieces of electronics, and no 2 kits are exactly alike. Maybe all it took for your kit to work smoothly was to increase DRAM voltage by a notch or two. Isn't this a more likely possibility?
    Hi,

    Do you read what I've wrote?

    My memory Kit, was in the ASUS QVL list, and it wasn't a bad unit, because I work with this every day (professionally), and I tested them ok? Even with other brand like Kingstone or even Crucial, happened the same issue.

    With tests I've made, only 3000MHz or higher kits, don't suffer this issue with this particularly BIOS (1901 and above).

    If you read this thread / forum with attention, you could read that there's more users with same issue, and with different memory kits / brands.
    Last edited by MFalorca; 09-22-2016 at 12:51 AM.

  8. #68
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by robsworld View Post
    I got the Ranger motherboard and I'm experiencing the error 41 as well with the last 2 bios 1902 and 2001
    I have the G.skill RipJaws 2800
    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-2800c15d-16gvr



    What memory do you have?



    I tried this but still had the error 41
    How many sticks do you have ? 2x8 ? If you are experiencing problems, try to use the other set of 2 slots closer to the CPU socket. I am using these: http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c16d-16gvkb
    But i am using 4x8GB (32GB) on my HERO 8, and I have managed to get them stable on boot up (3200mhz) with bios 1701 - it was a nightmare before this bios (my mobo would give me error on cold boot up all the time). I am kind of reserved to upgrade the bios to anything newer because I'm certain that it will break things for me. I think Asus is having issues with most G.SKill Ripjaws V series. I have noticed that the Trident Z series run a bit better on these mobos. Anyways, i hope i helped you in a way.
    Last edited by Doko15; 09-25-2016 at 03:44 PM.

  9. #69
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I just tried the new bios 2202 that's out now and it's the first time I've been able to boot properly after an update since 1701

    I too have the G.Skill memory sticks running at 2800 and so far after the first boot working well, I will have to do more testing but hopefully things are working well

    I can confirm that the bios is working very well, in fact I boot into windows so much quicker now. No more booting or shutdown issues

    With 2001 I was very critical of ASUS and the fact memory wasn't working with their latest bios. I am now happily surprised and thankful that they have come through.
    Last edited by robsworld; 09-27-2016 at 11:11 AM.

  10. #70
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Νew one bios version 2202 MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    1.CPU uCode update
    2.Support more PCIe-1394 devices.

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •