Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    G.Skill Tridentz 4000 Mhz XMP profile freezing

    Hello I bought a G.Skill Tridentz 4000 Mh (19-21-21-41) kit today. But when i activate XMP profile it boots fine and after entering windows it freezes after 30 sec no mather where i am (login screen or using the pc)

    its running fine without XMP profile enabled. Any suggestions what can cause that my PC is freezing ?

    CPU: 5820K
    Motherboard: X99 Extreme
    SSD: SM951
    GFX: Evga 1080 FE
    PSU: Corsair RM1000

    Thanks, Casper

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    78

    It's really the Memory controller on the CPU that will determine weather or not you can run stable at 4000mhz. You will need to adjust the voltages in the bios. The 2 main ones would be the System Agent Voltage and the memory voltage. Make sure your CPU is running at stock when doing this. It will take any stability out of the equasion.

    Can you post what voltages XMP sets for these 2 please.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Onimax PC Specs
    Onimax PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V DIMM Kit 128GB, DDR4-3000, CL14-14-14-34 (F4-3000C14Q2-128GVKD)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Monitor2* ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GiB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TiB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom loop
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    149

    4000 Mhz on Haswell seems a little bit - optimistic - to me.
    As Craig said it all comes down to the IMC of your CPU, but I have never seen a Haswell (E) CPU doing 4Ghz out of the box.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    It's really the Memory controller on the CPU that will determine weather or not you can run stable at 4000mhz. You will need to adjust the voltages in the bios. The 2 main ones would be the System Agent Voltage and the memory voltage. Make sure your CPU is running at stock when doing this. It will take any stability out of the equasion.

    Can you post what voltages XMP sets for these 2 please.

    Its running stock. And voltages is:

    Agent: 1.080v
    Vccio CPU: 1.045
    Vccio pch: 1.043

    So it depends on CPU ? So if i replace the 5820k with a newer one like 6800k it could maybe help me ?
    Last edited by Reb00tas; 09-07-2016 at 07:21 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    The memory kit you are referring to is for the Z-170 platform not X-99, 4000mhz is tough for any Z-170 platform to rum, X-99 platform cannot run memory at that speed
    Check for memory that is compatible for the platform you have, DDR4 is not all the same

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Reb00tas View Post
    Its running stock. And voltages is:

    Agent: 1.080v
    Vccio CPU: 1.045
    Vccio pch: 1.043

    So it depends on CPU ? So if i replace the 5820k with a newer one like 6800k it could maybe help me ?
    It all comes down to the silicon lottery.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Onimax PC Specs
    Onimax PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V DIMM Kit 128GB, DDR4-3000, CL14-14-14-34 (F4-3000C14Q2-128GVKD)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Monitor2* ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GiB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TiB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom loop
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by Reb00tas View Post
    Its running stock. And voltages is:

    Agent: 1.080v
    Vccio CPU: 1.045
    Vccio pch: 1.043

    So it depends on CPU ? So if i replace the 5820k with a newer one like 6800k it could maybe help me ?
    I wouldn't bet on that.
    So far I've had/built about half a dozen Broadwell-E systems, none of which did more than 3200 Mhz out of the box.
    Like other's said in the thread, your specific kit is not made for X99, and it also heavily comes down to the silicon lottery (which means each individual processor, not SKUs!).

    If you really need that high RAM speeds, i.e. you have a very specific application that profits from that, I would advise you to manually tune your settings.
    That is, loosing your timings, strengthen the system agent voltage and maybe playing around with the strap.


    A general rule of thumb for X99 CPUs - at least what I experienced - is:
    * Haswell-E does about 2800-3000 Mhz without user interference (if you get a good IMC that is)
    * Broadwell-E about up to 3200 Mhz

    Anything above normally requires manual tuning (unless you get lucky of course).

    Hope that helps in any way.

    TL;DR: I'd advise against throwing in another 500 bucks just to get another CPU that might or might not work as you'd expect; rather go for manual RAM tuning - that's what the platform is about anyways.
    Last edited by Onimax; 09-08-2016 at 02:10 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    I have that Tridentz 4000 Mhz (19-21-21-41) kit and recently used it above full speed with a z170 and i3 6320. Works great.

    I'm totally amazed that your Haswell-E CPU boots into Windows with 4000MHz RAM speed. That CPU may be golden since it goes that far at that rate. My opinion is that another CPU would very likely be worse. My approach would be to back off RAM speed manually until Windows is stable, then tighten timings. If you're interested in manual RAM tuning, that might be a good approach.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Thanks for all your reply's
    I ended up with 16-16-16-36-T1 at 3333Mhz
    vccio and agent: 1.1v

    I didnt know that ram speed has anything todo with the cpu just noticed asus added support for 4000mhz for some time ago

    Thank you all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •