Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array kosamchetoo PC Specs
    kosamchetoo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1R9 270X
    MonitorBenQ XL2411Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 2015 Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Strix X99 Gaming problems

    I know this is the forum for Rampage V Extreme, but I couldn't find the Strix X99 Gaming forum so I post here.
    I have 3 problems with this mobo:
    The first one is that in Samsung Magician it can't recognize the SATA 3 port, and shows I'm using IDE instead of AHCI. That can't be true because in the BIOS it is set to AHCI. When I switch to IDE I can't even boot and have a BSOD.
    The second problem is that the built in bluetooth is very slow and has very short range. I have to hold my phone on the IO shield to start transferring and 3MB image is being transferred 30 minutes. Wi-Fi is working fine and I haven;t installed the antenna. I installed the Qualcomm Atheros Bluetooth driver on the motherboard support page.
    The third problem is very slow posting. My POST time is 25 seconds. My other PC with Asus Z170 Pro Gaming only has 9 seconds POST.
    Any suggestions?
    Last edited by kosamchetoo; 09-09-2016 at 06:43 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array kosamchetoo PC Specs
    kosamchetoo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1R9 270X
    MonitorBenQ XL2411Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 2015 Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    No one?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    SimondsUnchaind PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel I7 6850k
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 1070
    Sound CardSchiit Jotunheim
    MonitorDell S2417dg
    Storage #1512MB Samsung 950 pro
    Storage #23TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerThermaltake 3.0 UIltimate
    CaseThermaltake V51
    Power Supply1000W EVGA PS
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Focal Elear
    Mouse Pad Corsair Extended
    Headset/Speakers Emotiva S5 powered monitors
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by kosamchetoo View Post
    I know this is the forum for Rampage V Extreme, but I couldn't find the Strix X99 Gaming forum so I post here.
    I have 3 problems with this mobo:
    The first one is that in Samsung Magician it can't recognize the SATA 3 port, and shows I'm using IDE instead of AHCI. That can't be true because in the BIOS it is set to AHCI. When I switch to IDE I can't even boot and have a BSOD.
    The second problem is that the built in bluetooth is very slow and has very short range. I have to hold my phone on the IO shield to start transferring and 3MB image is being transferred 30 minutes. Wi-Fi is working fine and I haven;t installed the antenna. I installed the Qualcomm Atheros Bluetooth driver on the motherboard support page.
    The third problem is very slow posting. My POST time is 25 seconds. My other PC with Asus Z170 Pro Gaming only has 9 seconds POST.
    Any suggestions?
    You're posting in the right place. The forum is for all X99 motherboards, just a lot of Rampage V Edition 10 errors going on.

    Unfortunately, I don't have the technical prowess (yet) to help or fully understand your issues. This forum is a helpful one so just be patient and responses will start to come in.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,627

    Reading your post I find it hard to lay any problem at the feet of the motherboard.

    1 sounds like a samsung magician problem or a configuration problem
    2 the WifiGo module handles bluetooth...AFAIK you have to plug in the antenna and AFAIK you have to install bluetooth driver before you install wifi go software...see manual
    3 this platform is a more complicated platform. Quad channel is not dual channel. Your boot time is normal and is not a metric of perfomance.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array kosamchetoo PC Specs
    kosamchetoo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1R9 270X
    MonitorBenQ XL2411Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 2015 Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    In my manual there is nothing about this wifi go software and i can't find a download for it.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    192

    You cannot boot in IDE mode if you installed Windows in ACHI. Most probably a problem with the Samsung software itself.

    I don't get it...you say the bluetooth has a short range but you have not installed the antenna at all?-)
    Main: Xeon W-3175X - Dominus Extreme - 48 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB + Intel 600P 1TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-7980XE - H150i Pro - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array kosamchetoo PC Specs
    kosamchetoo PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1R9 270X
    MonitorBenQ XL2411Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 2015 Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 850W
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by xarot View Post
    You cannot boot in IDE mode if you installed Windows in ACHI. Most probably a problem with the Samsung software itself.

    I don't get it...you say the bluetooth has a short range but you have not installed the antenna at all?-)
    I installed the antenna now and everything is fine. I was worried because the Wi-Fi had a good range and worked fine without the antenna so I though Bluetooth should work fine without it too.
    I have one more question. When I open CPU-Z it is loading very slow when it reaches loading the SPD. Is this also because of Quad Channel and it's complexity? My other PC with Z170 loads the SPD instantly and this PC is loading the SPD 10 seconds.

  8. #8
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Thread moved to correct subforum.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,627

    Yes, the CPUz load time is normal...

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,627

    Check voltage in BIOS to be sure but seems Vcore and VCCIN are same...i.e. it is reading input voltage for both. If your vcore was 1.9+v the chip would be dead.

    Try Aida64 instead?

    Just in case I'll mention not to have multiple monitoring programs running at same time...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •