Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Sorry, I thought your stuff was the Kingston HyperX stuff. Yes, the corsair's timings are a bit tighter than the Kingston's (11-10-11-27).

    Did you try memtest with the RAM in slots 1 and 3? What timings are reported there by memtest (i.e. are they the same as cpuz)??

    What about putting modules into slots 2 and 4?

    Also (very important) you should memtest each stick individually to ensure that there are no errors. if the chips themselves are faulty, then we really can't conclude anything about their behavior in the G74. If there are errors (likely if those timings are still 6-6-6-20) then its 90% likely that they are caused by the overclock. Move the stick around to different slots and test too: do the timings that are read off the stick change?

    I'm still suspicious its the timings. 6-6-6-20 @1866 MHz is an OC's dream.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    With the new ram in slots one and three the dram was 665MHz and the timings were 6-6-6-20 single channel. So yes they are the same as cpu-z

    whenever i install the ram if at least one stick isn't in slot one the computer wont post.

    I have tested each stick separately and received no errors after 2 full passes in memtest. I only get errors when the sticks are installed into slots one and two i guess this has something to do with dual channel.

    When the timings are at 6-6-6-20 it is in single channel mode with either one stick @ 931MHz or two sticks in slots 1 and 3 @ 665MHz.
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    OK, I will assume that you tested them installed in slots 1 and 3 as well and received no errors. Thats good then; there is a configuration where you can use them and gain superb performance of the 6-6-6-20 timings!

    Is this corsair memory you got Plug-n-Play, like the Kingston HyperX 1866 stuff? I asumed it was, though I'm not familiar with them since they are quite new. If not, then probably the BIOS doesn't know what to make of it: those sticks certainly won't be rated for 6-6-6-20 latencies at *any* clock speeds, but somehow the BIOS thinks they are.

    Ultimately then I don't know why the clock is being read as 1333 MHz and not 1866, except for the poor BIOS on the G74. Happily though you're still going to get *insane* performance with timings like 6-6-6-20! That will more than make up for the slower clock speed, and actually will gain you performance in some applications that swap alot of little files in and out of memory (like some games). Do a little more reading on the net on memory clocks versus latencies (e.g. http://techreport.com/articles.x/15967, and anandtech.com has some good articles too), and you'll see that those timings are really good.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    So would i get more performance out of the kingston ram in dual channel with the faster clock or the corsair ram in single channel with the slower clock but faster timings?

    Because i'm on the fence about sending these back and getting the kingston ram.
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Well if you were going to run single channel you would have to be running with one stick in there only, and i think you want more RAM than 4GB! Running the Corsair Vengeance installed into slots 1 and 3 (665.3MHz, 6-6-6-20 2T) will give you top performance for most apps that file alot of little bits in and out of RAM. I personally would trade clock speed for tighter timings any day. Clock speed of RAM is *way* overrated: you could buy the absolute best performance RAM available (e.g. 2400 MHz), which will gain you only 2-4% in real world system performance (its true!). Its really for benchers looking to edge out each other with that last fraction of a % on tests that specifically target memory speed and thus show a few more % gains with performance RAM.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    The only reason that I think it is running in single channel is because memtest claims that it is when the ram is installed into slots 1 and 3. If it were in fact running in single channel mode that would greatly affect the performance, correct?
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Yes it would be a performance hit. What is your memory throughput (bandwidth) in MB/s as reported by memtest86+? I'm getting near 14,000 MB/s and I am fairly sure that is dual channel mode, since it is the same with either 2x4GB sticks in channels 1 and 3, or with all four slots filled with 8GB sticks for a total of 32 GB RAM.

    BTW, the new corsair vengeance notebook memory is relatively untested on the G74 by users, whereas most people who have bought the Kingston HyperX's have gotten two of them to run at their rated speeds (1600 or 1866 MHz) in the G74. If you can live with 8GB RAM then the Kingstons are likely to work.
    Last edited by fostert; 01-03-2012 at 12:51 AM.

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I already took out the corsair ram and i am out of town but i will test it out just to see when i get back home just for the hell of it. Even though i am pretty sure its in single channel because when both sticks were in slots one and two memtest said it was in dual channel.

    i'm going to return the Corsair ram to new egg and the Kingston 1866 8 gig kit should be here in two days. I should be more than fine with 8 gigs of ram. I'm still kinda bummed about the corsair ram because i have always been a big fan of their products but Kingston is a good company as well.

    Hopefully Asus will release a better bios that eliminates issues like this.

    But thank you anyways for all of your help. This has been a great learning experience and i feel a lot more knowledgeable about ram.
    Last edited by Lismail0; 01-03-2012 at 02:06 AM.
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    No worries; tried my best. Kingston is top-shelf, yes: you should be very happy with a pair of those in there! I'd love to know what your memory bandwidth (reported in memtest86+) is once you get them installed!!

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    You tried more than your best!

    I will update the post when i get some results out of the Kingston ram. I going to try arranging the ram in different was as i did the Corsair ram and see what happens.

    Thank you again for all of your help fostert!
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •