Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 50
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by Xxosloxx View Post
    Just to inform all I have bought the corsair vengeance 1866 2X4 GB if you are Good with '8gb' they are Working as intended ai a freq OF 980 hz in dual cannella with timing of 10 10 10 27 no problem detected for now
    Is this on a G74? Looks like a good frequency and relatively tight timings; should make a diff. in your benchmark scores, but not likely noticeable in day-2day ops or gaming (some people report slightly smoother gameplay with the performance RAM, but I've never seen that tested). Hopefully if/when a new BIOS arrives for the G74 it'll allow all four slots to be recognized with performance RAM, and we can get 16GB working at 1866 MHz.

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I would do a memstest with both of them installed Xxosloxx. Mine worked awesome for a while then started to cause a lot of blue screens until the point I couldn't boot into windows.
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Running memtest on any new set of sticks should be automatic, especially performance RAM which is hand picked from batches of ICs because of a certain set of characteristics (stability is not the most important of them!).

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Well fostert, I'm now having trouble with the Kingston hyper x 1866 8GB kit. About a week ago my computer started to blue screen. It will blue screen about once every time I turn it on. So I decided to do a memtest on the new Kingston ram and about 5 minutes in errors started flying. So i continued doing tests with memtest and the new Kingston ram is starting to do the same thing as the corsair ram did. Working one module at a time or only in single channel mode.
    Last edited by Lismail0; 01-27-2012 at 05:10 PM.
    G74SX-DH73-3D
    <---------------->
    i7-2760QM, 2.4-3.5GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
    nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 3,072MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11
    8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866MHz CL11 Dual Channel Memory
    120GB OCZ Vertex 3 Sandforce Solid State Drive->Boot
    750GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Disk Drive->Storage
    WEI->7.6-7.9-7.3-7.3-7.9

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Boosted_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    279

    what bios you running ? also could it be the SSD causing the BSOD?..... thinking about the corsair 1866 instead of the hyper x since it about $30-$40 cheaper ...... Corsair1866 runs fine on the G73 and G53 :|
    GL702VSK / GTX 1070 / M.2 960 EVO

    HTPC MINI-ITX / FRACTAL CORE 500 / GIGABYTE GA-AB350N / GTX 1050 Ti Windforce OC 4G / RYZEN 5 1600 3.9GHz / M.2 960 EVO / G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 3200MHz
    OLD
    ASUS G74SX-XC1 / INTEL 7260 AC / Samsung 850 PRO / TUNIQ TX-4 / BIOS 203 / 335.23

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array mbart79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Really interested in this topic. I was looking at the Kingston 1600mhz ram sticks but trying to be sure that 4 x 4gigs of them will work.
    G74sx i7 2670QM 2.2Ghz - 16 gigs of ram -- GeForce GTX 560 - Bios 203 -
    Kingston HyperX 120gig SSD - Intel 6230 wireless card

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    As you know @JaniOnROG got 4 of those Kingston HyperX 1600's working in his G74. I would really like to see what the CL timings are being read as from his/her sticks' SPD settings by the BIOS...as I wrote to @LisMail0 at the beginning of this thread I am beginning to suspect that the G74 BIOS reads the XMP incorrectly as something like 6-6-6-20, then realizes it can't ask the on-die memory controller to run these ultra-tight timings at the overclocked speed (or if it does the memory controller laughs and spits up), so it looks for another SPD setting it can run at: the default JEDEC settings of 1333MHz at cl9-9-9-24, or some such thing.
    Just guessing. But we've seen that 4 1600's can work on a G74, so might be worth the slight risk ... most good etailers will let you return the sticks if they don't work as advertised...best to check with them so they don't charge you a restock fee for opened merchandise.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  8. #38
    ROG Enthusiast Array mbart79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Yeah I pm'ed jani about how they were working out but haven't heard back yet.

    Think I will take the gamble and see how they work out.
    G74sx i7 2670QM 2.2Ghz - 16 gigs of ram -- GeForce GTX 560 - Bios 203 -
    Kingston HyperX 120gig SSD - Intel 6230 wireless card

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Fab...good luck sir! Key us "posted"!
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Boosted_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    279

    yup....... 1600Mhz will work fine up to 16GB has been proven, and 32GB of 1333Mhz..... G74 issue is more with the 1866Mhz 16GB wont run, even with Chasity saying she got it to run, that's a one off thing it seems lol. Anyone know if there is a different between the Kingston Hyper X 1866 and the Corsair Vengeance 1866..... don't know too much, especially when it comes to ram......Its crazy how the old G series runs 1866 no problem.... wouldn't touch the G75 as ASUS seem to be going backwards lol ( poke poke, get cracking on a new BIOS ASUS). Would be nice to save $40 with the Corsair, if your in Canada... not a big difference in the USA
    GL702VSK / GTX 1070 / M.2 960 EVO

    HTPC MINI-ITX / FRACTAL CORE 500 / GIGABYTE GA-AB350N / GTX 1050 Ti Windforce OC 4G / RYZEN 5 1600 3.9GHz / M.2 960 EVO / G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 3200MHz
    OLD
    ASUS G74SX-XC1 / INTEL 7260 AC / Samsung 850 PRO / TUNIQ TX-4 / BIOS 203 / 335.23

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •