Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    M.2 Raid 0 - 170-Deluxe Problem

    Hey there,

    I have a Problem with my Mainboard and the Raidconfiguration. I'm trying very hard to get the Raid config on this board to work.

    Right now I have 2 Kingston Hyper X Predator M.2 PCIe SSD and 2 WD Black 2TB SATA installed.
    When everything is in default settings I'm able to see every Harddrive in the BIOS.
    After Turning RAID on i cant see any of them. I'm trying to create RAID with SATA and the WD it works fine.
    But I cant Create RAID, When I'm trying to use PCIe...

    1 M.2 is connected direct to the Mainboard. and the other one is with the PCIe Card which was contained in the Box of the Mainboard.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	55b1eeba-53db-420f-8bc1-996cd668c775.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	158.9 KB 
ID:	59393
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	f8838623-e4c6-4c03-8330-1673b9a20f9c.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	170.7 KB 
ID:	59389
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	82eea4ef-6dd2-473e-b1ad-e9b2ff8206f8.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	161.5 KB 
ID:	59388
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5da8b906-c24d-49c6-8bc8-311e6d29cd47.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	150.4 KB 
ID:	59387
    Last edited by gaRt3n; 09-12-2016 at 11:09 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Need seriously help asap =/

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array ricemanhk PC Specs
    ricemanhk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB M.2 PCIe x4
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 400C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W B2
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Per the specs for your mobo, the PCIe x16_3 slot (the one you're using with m.2 and the PCIe kit) shares bandwidth with SATA ports 5 and 6. Perhaps try plugging your WD drives into SATA ports 1-4?
    I think you'll also need to turn on Intel RST

    Found a guide for you
    https://rog.asus.com/18902015/maximu...d-0-for-speed/

    Are you doing RAID 0 on your HDDs? Even with WD blacks, it's a bit risky...
    Last edited by ricemanhk; 09-13-2016 at 09:57 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    After changing into Raid, I can just see the SSD in the onboard M.2 Slot and not the PCIe Card...

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array CrippleRipple PC Specs
    CrippleRipple PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB
    Sound CardOn board Realtek/SupremeFX
    MonitorUse a 1080P 60hz TV & 4k 120hz TV when my wife is nice - I'm handicapped
    Storage #1Toshiba/OCZ RD400 128GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB LUX, Strafe RGB Silent, & K70 RGB Speed
    Mouse Logitech G303 RGB, Razer Diamondback RGB, Razer Naga MMO & Corsair M65 PRO, & Corsair Katar
    Headset Philips SHP9500 & PDP Afterglow AG 9 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Corsair Medium & Razer Goliathus Speed Large
    OS Windows 10 64-Bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Friedhof 5200

    I had enough issues getting my one M.2 NVMe SSD working. Does the Predator support raid? I know my OCZ RD400 do not support RAID!

    Also it could possibly be the platter drive, my board hates having a Sata drive and M.2 running at the same time. I still can't get my seconardy 850 EVO 500GB Sata drive to go into AHCI mode?? I have it selected in the bios and the M.2 setup properly.

    Already mentioned is the Sata port location. My book says it will disable port 1 with an M.2 drive in NVMe & both port 1 & 2 with the M.2 drive in Sata. That being said my drive worked in port 2 but I had so many issues. Finally put the 850 EVO in port 3 and it is working a lot better.

    I've never had so many issues with a brand new install in my entire life, I love the board & features but it's been a nightmare getting mine setup. I'm about to return my M.2 NVMe drive, I can't tell a difference in the OS or in games.

    All that being said the new 2001 BIOS really settled my system stability down and even allowed me to run lower voltage on my OC? It also finally got my M.2 drive to act as the Window Boot Manager drive in UEFI boot.

    Think I might grab an intel 512GB 600P and call it a day with one bigger drive, my board just hates a mix of different drive protocols apparently.

  6. #6
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    i dont think you can raid the m.2 drives unless the manual says so.
    since one is on the PCIE lanes and the other on the sata.
    the only board ive seen whit dual m.2 slots is an msi board.
    and even there i dont think u can raid it.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by CrippleRipple View Post
    I had enough issues getting my one M.2 NVMe SSD working. Does the Predator support raid? I know my OCZ RD400 do not support RAID!
    Yeah it supports RAID. The People from ASUS Phone Support Germany are saying that RAID Like that should be possible. Shouldn't be there the Intel RAID interface if it's activated? Like on Boot CTRL + I ?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Some one any other ideas?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    your PCIE M.2 card is in the wrong slot for RAID, according to your manual page x, it says "Supports PCIE RAID configurations via onboard M.2 and PCIEX16_3 slot storages". from the picture, it looks to be that your PCIE M.2 card is in PCIEX16_2 slot, which shares CPU PCIE lanes with the PCIEX16_1 slot, while the other PCIE slots shares Z170 chipset PCIE lanes along with the onboard M.2 slot, which explain the RAID conditions.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by hiong View Post
    your PCIE M.2 card is in the wrong slot for RAID, according to your manual page x, it says "Supports PCIE RAID configurations via onboard M.2 and PCIEX16_3 slot storages". from the picture, it looks to be that your PCIE M.2 card is in PCIEX16_2 slot, which shares CPU PCIE lanes with the PCIEX16_1 slot, while the other PCIE slots shares Z170 chipset PCIE lanes along with the onboard M.2 slot, which explain the RAID conditions.
    Thank you!!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •