Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GTZNC Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    How to do a BIOS upgrade ( idiots guide )

    Have a Stix X99 and am going to do an upgrade of BIOS ( Chino recommended in another thread ). Now am always hesitant about doing this so I want
    to get everything right even if that means asking for an idiots guide to doing an upgrade from within BIOS. Now I assume its put it on a USB stick and then go into BIOS
    and select something and then sitback and twiddle my thumbs ? There is a BIOS button on the back panel so do I stick the USB drive in ...boot and hit that button....
    now I dont need to be told to put a finger on the power button and press to turn on but from there simple simon would like it explained :-)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    1. Make sure your USB pendrive is empty and FAT32 formatted.
    2. Download the BIOS from the support page.
    3. Extract BIOS to your USB pendrive. It should be the only file on it.
    4. Restart your system and go into the BIOS.
    5. Navigate to the EZ Flash Utility and start the flashing process there.
    6. The system will restart 1 to 2 times on its own depending on which BIOS you're flashing to.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GTZNC Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    thanks.....still just curious as to what the BIOS button on the back is for..

    going to upgrade it right now

    edit: the BIOS upgrade didnt kill anything but I couldnt get PC to boot to Windows. Problem was it wouldnt make the M.2 drive the bootable drive....changed
    it in the options then somehow lost all of that on later attempts so ended up hit the power button and turned the PC off and removed my 3 SSD drives and behoild it now sees the
    M.2 drive and it boots into Windows.

    also it would be nice if you had a turn PC off feature in the BIOS ie. save and power off
    Last edited by will_s; 08-04-2016 at 04:46 AM. Reason: update

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    when flashing bios, it all goes back to default.
    kinda like a clean install of a driver for example.

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    Quote Originally Posted by will_s View Post
    thanks.....still just curious as to what the BIOS button on the back is for..
    its a bios flashback. ( as stated in the user manual )
    in case you have problems whit a bios flash and cant get in to bios.
    you can take a older bios file and stick it in the stated usb port and flash to an older or current bios to recover.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GTZNC Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    so can you take a new BIOS and stick the USB into that port and flash it or is it only for recovery ?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Eric_F PC Specs
    Eric_F PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorCore I7 6700K - 4.9GHz OC
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3000C15D-16GVR 16GB (8x2) DDR4-3000
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 1721/1860MHz
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek/ROG SupremeFX
    MonitorDell UltraSharp 1908WFP 19" Widescreen 1440x900 60/75Hz
    Storage #11TB Western Digital Black WD1003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s SATA
    Storage #22TB Western Digital Black WD2003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseAntec Nine Hundred (w/ USB 3)
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 650 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Mouse Pad Tandy gray mousepad from the '90s!
    Headset/Speakers AKG K240M studio headphones & Adcom GTP-450 preamp on line-outs
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Eric_F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    56

    You can use BIOS Flashback for both upgrades and for recovery. Your choice. EZ flash utility in the BIOS GUI interface is easy and fast to work with, and gives you some visual feedback as you set up the upgrade. BIOS Flashback is totally automated and works from low-level firmware on the board, and it seems to take longer to complete -- but it's great to use if you want to be 100% sure that the bios is completely reset to default and re-written with the new flash. Just another feature that puts ASUS boards at the top, IMHO.

    Another hint -- if you have a lot of custom settings in your BIOS like me, you can use the utility in the BIOS screens to save a text copy of all your current settings. Once the new BIOS is flashed, it's easy to go down the list and re-enter your settings. (Remember, the BIOS configuration backup can only re-load to the same version that was saved, not to a new version. So you need to use the text output to record your configuration and re-enter by hand in the new version. Not hard at all once you get the hang of it.)
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor: I7 6700K - 4.9GHz OC
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H80i v2
    Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3000 16GB
    Graphics: EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 1721/1860MHz
    Storage #1: 1TB Western Digital Black
    Storage #2: 2TB Western Digital Black
    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    Power Supply: Antec Edge 650 80+ Gold
    OS: Windows 10 Pro

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array will_s PC Specs
    will_s PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16-8GTZNC Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080ti
    Sound Cardexternal Turtle Beach
    MonitorPredator 34"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 1TB m.2 (PCIE)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 740 ATX Cube
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Gaming
    Headset Turtle Beach Elite Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Accessory #1 Fanatech CSW2
    Accessory #2 Fanatech V3's

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    ok...thanks, at the moment I am doing it the old way and using a pen and writing in the manual :-)

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Martin.J PC Specs
    Martin.J PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
    ProcessorAMD FX-8350 4.34GHz AM3+
    Memory (part number)Patriot Viper 3 DDR3 2x8GB 1600MHz CL9 XMP
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB DDR5 PCI-E
    Sound Cardonboard
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB
    Storage #23 x WD Blue WD10EZEX 1TB
    CPU CoolerSilentiumPC Spartan Pro HE924
    CaseCooler Master CM 690 III
    Power SupplySeasonic 80Plus Platinium 1000W
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Can I update BIOS with the .CAP file that is in the archive or do I need to first use a renamer utility to rename it? (I know I need to extract it from the archive but shal I rename it?)
    Last edited by Martin.J; 08-09-2016 at 06:57 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Martin.J PC Specs
    Martin.J PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
    ProcessorAMD FX-8350 4.34GHz AM3+
    Memory (part number)Patriot Viper 3 DDR3 2x8GB 1600MHz CL9 XMP
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB DDR5 PCI-E
    Sound Cardonboard
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 Evo 500GB
    Storage #23 x WD Blue WD10EZEX 1TB
    CPU CoolerSilentiumPC Spartan Pro HE924
    CaseCooler Master CM 690 III
    Power SupplySeasonic 80Plus Platinium 1000W
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I've done it! And I used the .CAP file. So far so good...

    PS
    I asked because I remember that when I was assembling my comp some 2 ys ago, and flashing, I had to rename the BIOS I was flashing then with some sort of utility from the ASUS website...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •