Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Non PWM fans in strix gtx 1080

    hi, bit of a noob question, i have selected two 3 pin fans to plug in to my 1080 but i dont seem to be able to lower the temperature for when the fans will come on, i can raise it but not lower it, am i missing something or is this because they arent PWM fans? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    241

    Hi bobob,

    Can you please kindly advice the following:
    1. The version of OS used.
    2. The software and version used to make this change.
    3. If you happen to use the version of GPUTweakII coming from the support DVD, please remove it with the removal tool below:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...483.1446513001

    Then install the latest version after system restart, and see if this helps to iron out this issue:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...483.1446513001

    regards.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by bobob View Post
    hi, bit of a noob question, i have selected two 3 pin fans to plug in to my 1080 but i dont seem to be able to lower the temperature for when the fans will come on, i can raise it but not lower it, am i missing something or is this because they arent PWM fans? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    The lowest temperature possible is 60C. That's the way it was programmed.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    The lowest temperature possible is 60C. That's the way it was programmed.
    Thanks for the reply. It's a shame that there's no option to go lower.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by ASUS-OP View Post
    Hi bobob,

    Can you please kindly advice the following:
    1. The version of OS used.
    2. The software and version used to make this change.
    3. If you happen to use the version of GPUTweakII coming from the support DVD, please remove it with the removal tool below:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...483.1446513001

    Then install the latest version after system restart, and see if this helps to iron out this issue:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...483.1446513001

    regards.
    Thanks for the reply, another poster has told me that 60 centigrade is the lowest you can go with regards to external fan control.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k 4.5 adaptive .235 vcore input voltage 1.820 loadline 8 cache core 42 .298 volts adaptive
    Memory (part number)Gskill ripjaws 4 2666 1.35v 13 13 13 351T Mode 2
    Graphics Card #1asus strix 1080ti oc
    Sound Cardcreative fatal1ty titanium pro
    MonitorAcer 1440p 144hz ips G sync and a Asus 1440p ips panel 60hz
    Storage #1500 960 Evo M.2
    Storage #2256 hyper x + 256 hyper x
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCoolermaster hafx 942 full tower open case less heat
    Power SupplyThermaltake 875watt 72 amp single rail
    Keyboard Razer deathstalker PLEASE DIE ALREADY
    Mouse Logithech g502
    OS Windows 10 64 PRO
    nick the greek 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    off topic i have now a strix a8g 1080 the 238 watt tdp is way too low other vendors have a higher tdp . I need to no if you raise it with a new vga bios or i will use nvflash with different card vendor with higher power limit
    Iam reaching the power limit even in bf4 at 1440p sometimes at 2050 core 5500 on the vram + 20 volts......a responce to this would be nice...

    in firestrike or timespy even at stock it will reach the power limit sometimes

  7. #7
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    241

    Hi nick the greek 1,

    First things first, it is strongly not recommended to flash your VBIOS to a build from a different vendor manufacture to prevent instability due to the difference in the components used such as memory chips, and you will also be risking the warranty of your card.
    The more conservative TDP limit is in placed mainly to provide a better balance between performance, temperature, noise level, and of course longevity. Ideally you shouldn't experience noticeable performance difference raising the TDP limit unless you are targeting for top OC scores with extreme overclocking.

    Despite the above, this topic can be discussed. May have to get back to you at a later time after discussing with our design team.

    regards,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •