Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 91
  1. #61
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Prime got a rounding error pretty fast at all default settings + xmp profile enabled. :s

    Oh well, I'm not gonna panic and will start by trying to up the vcore and dram voltage a bit.

    ~Update~

    Prime 26.6 seems to run fine (only tested a couple hours so far), but 28.9 quickly gets me a rounding error at stock speed.
    Might as well let 26.6 run for some hours to get a little burn in, but I will wanna eventually test some settings to try and get 28.9 to run for some hours with no errors.
    Before I attempt ANY overclocking, I want this system to be able to do an error free 24 hour run of at least 26.6, but preferably 28.9.
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-24-2016 at 02:41 AM.

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Ok so I used the same settings you guys suggested for the other cpu.

    enabled XMP
    cpu core/cache voltage to adaptive, Additional Turbo Mode to 1.20v and LLC to 4

    Seems stable and HWinfo64 reports max vcore hitting 1.280

    Since temps were higher than I'd like, I tried adjusting Additional Turbo Mode to 1.15v instead of 1.20v, but when running Prime, HWinfo64 still reports a max vcore of 1.280

    What setting do I need to adjust to bring that number down, but still ensure the voltage is adaptive so that when the PC idles and core clock goes down to 800mhz, the voltage will also decrease?

  3. #63
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Try LLC 5, seems to be the tightest setting on my VIII Hero. Can't help you with adaptive, never used it before
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  4. #64
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Set the cpu core/cache voltage to adaptive, make sure the c-states and speedstep are enabled and the windows power plan is set to balanced.

    This should get the voltage to drop at idle.

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenrou View Post
    Try LLC 5, seems to be the tightest setting on my VIII Hero. Can't help you with adaptive, never used it before
    I'll try that tomorrow morning, but for now since Prime seems to be running stable, I wanna let it run till morning and hopefully wake up to see no errors.

    So hey Kenrou, I saw your thread on overclocker and was wondering what was your experience with Prime 28.9 like. The last 1 you mentioned using in that thread was 28.7 I believe and throughout that thread you seemed to be saying that only 26.6 was completely stable for you at stock speed and voltage.
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-24-2016 at 07:26 AM.

  6. #66
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Set the cpu core/cache voltage to adaptive, make sure the c-states and speedstep are enabled and the windows power plan is set to balanced.

    This should get the voltage to drop at idle.
    It's already set to adaptive, c states and speed step are at default values in bios which is enabled and power plan in windows is modified, but only pertaining to my screen and hard drives, those are the only settings I adjusted.
    Also I wasn't asking about idle as it was already fine, what I was saying is that additional turbo mode at either 1.15 or 1.20 still had vcore maxing at 1.280 running Prime and I'd like that max vcore to be a bit lower.

  7. #67
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Try using a negative offset of -0.80v in adaptive mode, what does the voltage read after setting this?

  8. #68
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Loaded Glove View Post
    So hey Kenrou, I saw your thread on overclocker and was wondering what was your experience with Prime 28.9 like. The last 1 you mentioned using in that thread was 28.7 I believe and throughout that thread you seemed to be saying that only 26.6 was completely stable for you at stock speed and voltage.
    I found out during that thread that P95 28.* uses AVX2/FMA3 which need higher voltage for the same OC and produce unreal temperatures (no programs/games in Windows will come close temp-wise and is advised against using them with Haswell and above), 26.6/Aida64 seem to be the sweet spot for stress testing at the moment as Realbench also stresses the GPU and can be finicky if you overclock it (read many threads that state that its harder to get a stable OC with it), also Aida64 is updated much more then all the other programs. Ran Folding@Home and Handbrake 24h and they hit temps a couple degrees lower then 26.6/Aida64, 100% stable so far.

    4.4ghz 1.2v ~65c - 4.8ghz 1.4v ~85c - 4.8ghz 4c/4t 1.35v ~70c - not bad overclock on air cooling
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  9. #69
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    You have a good 6700k Kenrou, 4.8GHz with 1.40v is quite good.

    Mine needs 1.488v to be game stable at 4.75GHz.

    Loaded Glove - If yours can do what Kenrou's can do I'd be very happy with that.

  10. #70
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You have a good 6700k Kenrou, 4.8GHz with 1.40v is quite good.

    Mine needs 1.488v to be game stable at 4.75GHz.

    Loaded Glove - If yours can do what Kenrou's can do I'd be very happy with that.
    Custom loop ? what kind of temps you getting at 1.488v ?
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •