Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 91
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Loaded Glove View Post
    My original was not good enough by any means. At stock speeds and with fan speed at turbo, temps were going over 80c running Prime. This was in my AC cooled house even so yeah. Also it has MX4 thermal grease which is premium goo, but this cooler simply isn't good enough.

    No disrespect to you and your opinion, but I can only base off what I am seeing having the setup right in front of me and what the results are. I am positive that I applied the right amount of grease, applied it correctly and thoroughly and that the cooler is properly seated, firmly fastened and completely flush with the cpu's lid.
    Your original was perfectly fine for what you have now (stock), you had high temps because your voltage was too high, as soon as you drop voltage the temps would ofc go down as well (refer to my original post) As i said before save for a very few batches that should be RMA straight away, Skylake can handle anything up to 90c safely.

    You will get more FPS gains from CPU dependent games like World of Warcraft.
    Last edited by Kenrou; 09-19-2016 at 01:34 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    84c was reached at 1.2v in a pretty heavily AC cooled room and from what I've read around the web, almost nobody would find that acceptable so your opinion seems to contrast that.

    I'm not trying to be "right" here or arbitrarily bust your chops, but based on popular opinion, I can't agree with your assertion. The chip I got by most standards could even be considered a "dog" and it could easily be argued that in the chip lottery I basically pulled a dud. I'm still considering going back to the micro center and exchanging it for another. Also keep in mind that this chip quickly errored in Prime at stock settings and that alone would make the average enthusiast desire an RMA.
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-19-2016 at 04:48 PM.

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Doesn't change the fact that 90c is the "safe" margin, therefore if its under it was decent for the job as i said. "Popular opinion" means absolutely nothing if it gives contradictory information, both Intel and Asus say you can safely stress up to 90c 1.45v on air, therefore that's my limit My 4.8ghz 1.4v also hits ~85c in benchs/stress test, but only ~70c with daily usage.

    You pulled errors in Prime95 because it was thermal throttling, that is, it went above the damage safety limit of 100c, and it lowered voltage/speed to protect itself. Nothing here yet makes me think that the CPU is "borked" in any way shape or form, from your posts i see bad settings in BIOS which resulted in higher then average temps.

    Lets see the difference when your new cooler arrives, hopefully it will settle any lingering doubts
    Last edited by Kenrou; 09-19-2016 at 05:41 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    You misread some of my posts then. It errored even below 90c so no throttling was going on when it errored AND the time it did hit 100c, forcing me to manually stop the testing, it produced no errors. I digress though and appreciate that you are replying and helping me. Sorry if I seemed combative or as though I'm being arrogant and acting like I know a page more than the book. In simplest terms, I'm just desiring the least amount of compromise and striving for the best results possible. Perhaps you guys are correct and this cpu is without any manufacturing flaws, but since I have the option and admittedly the luxury, of being able to return it to a local store for exchange and possibly getting a tighter performing chip, I'm going to exercise that option. Same with the cooler.

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Ah my bad entirely then, error was because of the RAM settings. For clarification, as soon as you turned off XMP the errors stopped but high temps began correct ? simply means the XMP settings weren't working as intended (usually corrected by BIOS update) and everything went back to defaults which are geared for compatibility.

    Pressing the point home again (my apologies this time for sounding stubborn) but it still doesn't mean your CPU is bad and even Nate152's solutions pointed at the RAM. More likely then not im missing something

    honestly hope you get better luck with the replacements though, Skylake is an amazing platform, i switched from a FX-8370 and my FPS in games near doubled
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    No worries at all and I respect your opinions and appreciate all the help. As for the ram, I'm actually fairly certain that was never a problem and only upped the voltage to be sure and since it's such a small increase in voltage that I figure it couldn't hurt either way. To clarify, the cpu that I originally had and took back, passed a 24 hour run of Prime with the ram running at it's rated XMP profile and just 1.2v. Keep in mind that I mistakenly returned the other cpu and imho based on the results, that cpu was a tighter performer than this 1. Unfortunately, I called the store inquiring if I could just get that cpu back, but they said they get so many returns of cpus that it would probably be hard to figure out exactly which 1 was my return. My new cpu cooler comes tomorrow and since I'll have to uninstall the old 1 anyway, I will probably just try my luck with yet another cpu. Is that the best idea, maybe not, but I too am very stubborn and also somewhat of a gambler I guess. Life is a gamble and to get the biggest rewards, sometimes you have to roll the dice and I'm game to do it. This is all gonna work out in the end, I'm sure of it. You guys have helped me learn more than you may realize and for that I'm grateful and will continue to update with results. When the smoke clears and the dust settles, I'll bet I end up with a decent OC, complete stability and good temps. Wish me luck guys and many thanks again! Oh and an extra note, I have the latest bios, updated right after the very first memtest pass with the other cpu.

    Stay tuned...
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-19-2016 at 06:58 PM.

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I see you already tried 1.20v so give 1.15v a try and see how that goes.

    On the extreme tweaker tab enter in the "Additional Turbo Mode" 1.15v then F10 and Enter to save and exit.

    Does it still pass the test?
    Oops almost forgot to try this and reply to you, sorry about that. :P

    15 minute run set to allow up to 16gb of ram to be used passed with a result of hash match (x2).

    HWinfo64:
    vcore max - 1.248

    core temp:
    (min, max) 25, 77

    Keep in mind this is the same cpu, haven't switched it yet and the same BeQuiet cooler which I will replace tomorrow when the Thermalright Macho arrives.

    Max vcore still seems higher than I was expecting, what setting is keeping/allowing it to go that high even though I set the value of 1.15 + adaptive + LLC 4?

    The temp is also higher than I was expecting.

    Not touching Prime again until I get the new cooler on there.

  8. #38
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Try using a negative offset with adaptive mode.

    Try offset -.100 and see if this lowers the voltage when under load.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Everything is going to have to wait, my power supply is making that noise even more now and it is definitely not a fan issue or a noise coming from any other component.

    I just took everything apart and am going to run everything outside of the case to ensure it isn't some kind of grounding issue.

    My luck is so terrible and you guys may not hear from me for a day or 2.
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-20-2016 at 07:57 AM.

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    LLC 5 on my VIII Hero will give the tightest vcore reading even with BIOS 2001. P95 26.6 will give lower temps then Realbench (unless something changed on the last version) and will do roughly the same job, ex: 4.4ghz 1.2v ~65c, 4.6ghz 1.3v ~70c, 4.8ghz 1.4v ~85c - account for my much better cooler (~15c difference) and you're roughly on the same level voltage/temp wise ?
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •