Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 91
  1. #71
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Gaming temps in the 60's here is my cooler.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/koola...o-nozzles.html

  2. #72
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    You guys know how bad I wanted Prime to go 24 hours so before I mess with any more settings, I'm just gonna cross my fingers and hope this run completes.
    About 10 hours in on Prime version 28.9 so far and max temp is 78c with vcore maxing at 1.280. It's gonna be hot today, but I have central AC in my apartment so I'll crank it about an hour before noon and leave it till the evening.
    Once I get that out of the way, then I can FINALLY start testing some OC's.

    I think I'll only stop the run if core temp goes over 83 or 84, since well... this is basically being done as a burn in so... lol.
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-24-2016 at 04:33 PM.

  3. #73
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Gaming temps in the 60's here is my cooler.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/koola...o-nozzles.html
    2000W damn nice

    Quote Originally Posted by Loaded Glove View Post
    About 10 hours in on Prime version 28.9 so far and max temp is 78c with vcore maxing at 1.280.
    Why 28.9 ? 26.6 or Aida64 or Realbench are more then enough. There's no point in stressing for AVX2/FMA3 because there's next to zero programs and zero games that actually use it, plus like i said you have to use higher voltage + higher temps for the same overclock.
    Last edited by Kenrou; 09-24-2016 at 09:11 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  4. #74
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Since the usage scenario here is both stability testing AND burn-in, I wanna stress the system as hard as I can. Once I test OC's, I may not use 28.9, but for initial burn-in, I wanna go all out and kick the crap outta my system. :P

    15 and a half hours so far with max temp 79c and max vcore still 1.280.

    Something interesting I noticed is that with the same bios settings, 26.6 by default raises the vcore to 1.264 and 28.9 only pulls it to 1.2. This was of course not stable so I had to up it, but I find this a bit odd.

  5. #75
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Prime 95 28.9, 24h 13m, 0 errors 0 warnings, max temp 79c, max vcore 1.280

    At the very least I am now confident this cpu is ready to use and trust for some years.
    1.280v is still too high for stock speed imho (1.200v is too low though), but the first thing I'd like to do is see if I can at least OC 100mhz at a time without upping the voltage at all.
    It's after 11pm here and I have plans tomorrow so further testing will have to wait a day or 2.

    I will keep updating this thread since it's already so long and I'm really grateful to you guys for hangin in there with me.
    From what I've seen over the years at just about any type of forum, a thread this long is super rare for a single user related topic so again, many thanks to you guys.

    See you soon and enjoy the rest of your weekends!
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-25-2016 at 06:23 AM.

  6. #76
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    1.2v is supposed to be stock for 6700k, but ofc will depend much on the quality of your chip, seen many complain they only get 4.2 stable at ~1.25v
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  7. #77
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Well sadly, I'm inclined to believe this chip is below average honestly. Not terrible, but definitely not great. As I said earlier, Prime 28.9 errored quickly at default voltages and while I realize that isn't necessarily the gold standard anymore, it still stinks in my book.

    Oh and you can see I'm still awake, gotta force myself to sleep soon. lol

    Just for the heck of it, here's a quick benchmark @ stock speed: Heaven (dx11) 1080p (Ultra/Extreme+8xAA) score 2913 (37.5, 115.7, 243.3)
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-25-2016 at 08:31 AM.

  8. #78
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    1080 showing it's ooomph this is my Strix 980Ti, same settings :

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Heaven.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	114.1 KB 
ID:	59556
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  9. #79
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    91

    Earlier in this thread Nate suggested adjusting the setting called "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage".
    Initially the suggestion was to set the value to 1.200 and later it was suggested to try 1.150. I tried both and nothing seemed to change so, what exactly is this setting supposed to affect anyway?
    Based on the setting description in the bios, it sounds like this would only apply in turbo mode. Running Prime engages turbo mode of course so why would I want that value comparatively so low?

    I tried manually adjusting the offset voltage also. Nate's suggestion of -0.100 seemed too much (sorry I can't help my instincts kicking in even when I don't know crap).
    So instead of that I tried -0.050 and while running Prime 28.9, the max vcore went from being 1.280 before to 1.232 with the offset I entered (good right?).

    Obviously I won't be running at stock speed for much longer, but even being a rookie at oc'ing, my instincts tell me step 1 should be to find the lowest stable voltage at stock first.
    For that reason I'd like to do at least a little testing with that voltage at stock first. Probably no 24 hour runs of anything, but maybe a couple hours of small in place or something like that.

    All that said, I have plans today and on top of that, Southern California is gonna be 100 degrees today so I think waiting till tomorrow would be best. lol
    Last edited by Loaded Glove; 09-25-2016 at 05:17 PM.

  10. #80
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Adaptive mode throttles the cpu speed and voltage when at idle.

    You're getting the hang of it with finding the lowest possible voltage, if it's stable with 1.232v try offset of -0.060v and test, this should put you around 1.222v.

    If it passes try offset -0.070, this should put you around 1.212v, keep doing this until the test fails then bring the offset back up 0.010v - 0.020v.

    Let us know what offset and voltage you end up with.

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •