Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    PG279Q not recognized at boot - black screen

    Hi,

    New monitor. Hooked up to an EVGA 980 TI Kingpin mini-DP port (with adapter). Motherboard or GPU (can't tell) beeps twice and monitor doesn't sync or turn on but system continues to boot windows in the dark. However when old monitor hooked up to DVI port as well the PG279Q is recognized and added to the extended desktop and recognized no problem just as a second screen. Not sure what is specifically the problem. Can anyone help?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    181

    Have to tried setting the PG279Q as your primary screen via Windows?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Its the monitors fault

    Quote Originally Posted by cljustin View Post
    Have to tried setting the PG279Q as your primary screen via Windows?
    Hi,

    As luck would so happen I had another monitor, an Acer XB271HU, to test with as I was comparing the two to decide which one I liked better.
    That Acer and my old monitor connected via DVI to DP individually both had no issues posting and syncing the display and was able to get into
    my motherboards bios for example as where I could not with the Asus PG279Q. I mean the monitor works but just skips the initial syncing and
    goes straight to the Windows login page. So its no good for me if I want to change a motherboard bios setting. Not sure why this is happening.
    I even tried disabling the screen's overclock mode but that had no effect. May try to reset the OSD setup but doubt that will do anything. FWIW the
    Asus PG279Q manufacturer date was labeled as January 2016 so it must have a bad firmware or something. I mean I really liked this monitor as
    far as the design and screen quality are concerned but its like buying a Mercedez with airbags that don't work. Oh well.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Kotronas PC Specs
    Kotronas PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k @4.4
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix DC3OC 980 TI (on EK Predator 360 with QDC)
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix DC3OC 980 TI (on EK Predator 360 with QDC)
    MonitorAsus Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung NVME 950 pro 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 840 pro 256gb
    CPU CoolerEK Predator 360 QDC + 2x 980 ti strix waterblocks
    CaseCorsair 750d
    Power SupplyCorsair ax1500i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB
    Mouse Logitech g700s
    Headset Logitech g930
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 9hd
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Network RouterAsus rt-ac68u
    Kotronas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    105

    Have you any other monitor/tv on the cards? I have the same issue after updating bios or when I remove power from the PSU, but after login to windows first time everything turns to normal and bios is shown on the pg279q.

    If I am not wrong the system prioritise the ports like
    DVI>HDMI>DP

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I had this issue, I almost returned my PG279Q over it. It made it difficult to access the bios or even install Windows. Solution is simple, go into the menu of your monitor under settings disable Display Port deep sleep. I haven't had problems since.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •