Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    Exclamation Maximus V Formula not always booting

    Hi everyone!

    I've got a problem with the computer at work that's the same as the one in my signature. Also this problem is ocurring at my home computer.
    The problem is that the computer sometimes doesn't boot until I go into the bios and exit the bios, which results in a normal boot.

    I checked other threads on this issue with this motherboard but some said that it was because of the bios, others said that it was the keyboard.
    Someone also said to flash the most stable bios (1408) which I did, by flashing it via my ROG Connect USB Port. I named my bios M5F.CAP and flashed succesfully.

    The problem got fixed for a day or 2 but then continued to recur itself. I tried formatting windows, flashed bios via rog connect, cleared cmos, removed and placed bios battery and nothing worked.
    Someone else also said that by switching the keyboard to an usb 3.0 port that it solved the problem but that didn't work.

    I can still try to boot the computer the next few days and remove all the usb devices to see if this is the problem, but still. There must be a permanent solution.
    Is it maybe a good idea to flash the 1309 bios version under rog connect? I'm not sure what bios came by factory. This problem has ocurred since flashing bios within the windows environment.

    I'm crunching my brains on this issue because entering the bios each time makes my boss annoyed as well and loses a lot of time on this.

    I'd love to hear a possible solution, thank you in advance fellow ROG's Enthousiasts
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    is all things in bios reset to default every time you starts the pc?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    is all things in bios reset to default every time you starts the pc?
    No, if I make a change in the bios and save it or when I make an overclock profile it remembers my settings and names.

    Are you implying that the bios battery might be empty?
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    if every thing was stock when starting pc, then yes battery would be dead.
    but since that is not happening then no its not.

    do you have a emty drive by enny chance at home to test if it may be the drive where the OS is on that may start to give up?
    so you dont have to do a clean install over the current one whit out installing all your programs all over again if there is no change.
    pull all drives and just install on the test drive, if it boots ok, try and connect one and one drive ( if multiple drives/storage drives ) to eliminate enny faulty drives just in case.

    how old are your drive/drives? and what sort of drives is it? ssd or hdd?

    i did have a pc whit a faulty drive on it witch did not want to boot at all once, and it was not the one whit OS on, this was a hdd storage drive.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    if every thing was stock when starting pc, then yes battery would be dead.
    but since that is not happening then no its not.

    do you have a emty drive by enny chance at home to test if it may be the drive where the OS is on that may start to give up?
    so you dont have to do a clean install over the current one whit out installing all your programs all over again if there is no change.
    pull all drives and just install on the test drive, if it boots ok, try and connect one and one drive ( if multiple drives/storage drives ) to eliminate enny faulty drives just in case.

    how old are your drive/drives? and what sort of drives is it? ssd or hdd?

    i did have a pc whit a faulty drive on it witch did not want to boot at all once, and it was not the one whit OS on, this was a hdd storage drive.
    As I said, there are 2 computers of my signature that have the exact same problem, the chances of it being the SSD that Windows 10 is running on are slim, the problem occurs at home AND at work
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    No one? I'm really out of ideas guys..
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,347

    Hi piotrtekien

    I might try ram that was designed for the z77 boards such as the G.Skill Trident X, the Ripjaws Z ram was designed for X79 boards.

    Ripjaws Z QVL, click on the QVL tab

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-17000cl11q2-32gbzl

    Trident X QVL

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-2133c9q-32gtx

    In the bios on the extreme tweaker tab you can try upping the VCCSA voltage to 1.20v - 1.25v and see if this helps.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi piotrtekien

    I might try ram that was designed for the z77 boards such as the G.Skill Trident X, the Ripjaws Z ram was designed for X79 boards.

    Ripjaws Z QVL, click on the QVL tab

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-17000cl11q2-32gbzl

    Trident X QVL

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-2133c9q-32gtx

    In the bios on the extreme tweaker tab you can try upping the VCCSA voltage to 1.20v - 1.25v and see if this helps.
    Could it really be the ram? it's running XMP mode though, I'll try upping the VCCSA voltage to 1.2v (it's 0.95 in the bios)
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,347

    Seeing how your ram is not on the QVL list it could be the ram.

    It's best to use all compatible components to avoid potential problems.

    Give us an update after raising the VCCSA voltage.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    162

    Problem still occurs :c
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3770K Processor
    MOBO: Maximus V Formula
    COOLING: Noctua NH-D14
    PSU: Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 Watt
    RAM: G.Skill RipjawsZ 32GB (Module Part Number: F3-12800CL10Q-32GBZL)
    Disk: Vertex 4 - 256 GB
    Casing: Cooler Master HAF X
    Video: Gainward GeForce® GTX 680 Phantom 4GB Edition

    Monitor: Iiyama ProLite E2773HDS 27''
    Speakers: KRK RPG 6 G3
    Keyboard: CM Storm - Novatouch TKL
    Mouse: Razer Deathadder 3.5G

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •