Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Selected file is not a proper bios

    Hi people,

    I downloaded bios 2001 for my maximus viii ranger and before flashing with EZ flash 3 utility it told me :"selected bios is not a proper bios file". I m sure i downloaded it from http://www.asus.com/support. So i tried to flash it to usb bios flashback and it flashed successfully apparently. My question is that i m afraid the bios file is a "wrong" file or corrupted one. Could it be possible?

    Thanks for answering my questions,

    Kind regards,

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Janne-71 PC Specs
    Janne-71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus rog maximus hero viii
    ProcessorIntel skylake i5 6600k @ 4.6ghz
    Memory (part number)g.skill tridentz 2x8gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti gaming g1
    MonitorAsus pg279q 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung evo 850 ssd 500gb
    Storage #2Western digital 1tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCooler master hyper 212 evo
    CasePhanteks enthoo evolv atx
    Power SupplySeasonic 760-p
    Keyboard Corsair k95 mechanical
    Mouse Logitech g502
    Headset Akg k550
    Mouse Pad Razer goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z623 200w
    OS Windows 10 home

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    303

    That happened to me when my usb drive wasn't fat32-formatted. It only accepts that format.

  3. #3
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    Quote Originally Posted by arnaud p View Post
    Hi people,

    I downloaded bios 2001 for my maximus viii ranger and before flashing with EZ flash 3 utility it told me :"selected bios is not a proper bios file". I m sure i downloaded it from http://www.asus.com/support. So i tried to flash it to usb bios flashback and it flashed successfully apparently. My question is that i m afraid the bios file is a "wrong" file or corrupted one. Could it be possible?

    Thanks for answering my questions,

    Kind regards,
    Do you have screenshot can show that
    maybe other users can help to check

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array blacklotus83 PC Specs
    blacklotus83 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Toshiba Q-Series Pro 128GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Waterblocks Supremacy Evo
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Steelseries Siberia 840
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM200
    Headset/Speakers Nubert NuPro A-100 / SW-350
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Alphacool DDC 310 Water Pump
    Accessory #2 2x Alphacool Nexxos Radiators
    Accessory #3 Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 Pro
    blacklotus83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Janne-71 View Post
    That happened to me when my usb drive wasn't fat32-formatted. It only accepts that format.
    Yes, I also had that on my first attempt. Just format to FAT32 and the file will be read correctly

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    screenshot

    but the flashdrive is already formatted as fat32 but with a quick format i should maybe do it with a full format.

    Anyway here is the screenshot as a proof. the file i tried to flash was 2001 from https://asus.com/fr
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 1609291311263.jpg  


  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hello,

    Yes apparently formatting the usb flashdrive in fat32 completely did the trick,

    Thank you for your precious answer,

    Kind regards,

    Arnaud

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    This happened to me after updating to 2202 on my Hero VIII. I tried to revert to previous bios versions but keep getting this same message.
    I have tied reformatting with FAT32 and even different flash drives to no avail.
    The odd part is that 2202 seems to be running fine but I wanted to compare the XMP profiles against previous versions.

    Anyone else try reverting to an older bios versions after updating to 2202?

    I'm wondering if the new CPU uCode in 2202 is not allowing a bios rollback for some reason.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    Microcode 74 for Skylake was a good bug fix and I've had no trouble with it.

    Microcode 76 is where Intel prevented BCLK overclocking of locked CPUs like the i3 6320 etc. and took away some of the fun. If Microcode 76 or higher showed up in BIOS 2202, perhaps Intel wants those CPUs to stay locked.

    Isn't it convenient that BIOS chips are in sockets?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    I was able to reflash 2202 but it will not allow reverting to a previous bios version.

    Be warned, once you flash to 2202, there's no going back!
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    You can, with USB Flashback. I successfully downgraded BIOS from 2202 to previous version using usb flashback. Couldn't do it via EZFlash tho, received error. Mobo: hero VIII.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •