Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    375
    Posts
    17,223

    If you're able to get into the bios, on the boot tab try setting "secure Boot" to "Other Os".

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori5 6600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung C24F390
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCryorig M9i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Logitech K270
    Mouse Lenovo M331
    Mouse Pad Hyper X
    Headset/Speakers Creative T4 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Education
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-868L

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    17

    It does not work either. I also tried flashing back to BIOS 1601 and same problem.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Nate is the expert here so I will defer to him. However, I am getting a bit confused by all the experiments in this thread. So just to "reset"...

    You're running a basic configuration with all unneeded hardware removed, correct? The BIOS is set to all default values, correct? As a troubleshooting technique, when things make no sense it's always good to go back to the basics.

    I agree that the voltage adjustment making things worse is odd.... but it does cast suspicion on the RAM. Seems to me I've read about problems with Corsair RAM. Since I am running g.skill I didn't pay much attention to the specifics. You said that memtest ran OK, correct? The full test is four passes and takes 5 or so hours to run to completion. Once this test completes successfully I would be slow to make any changes to the BIOS settings and if a change made no difference I'd roll the BIOS back to default. I'd definitely avoid XMP or any OC until you have a 100% stable system at the default settings.

    IMHO, you ought to upgrade the BIOS to 2202. Can't hurt, I think, especially since most of the BIOS upgrades improve support for newer, faster memory.

    Since you're not making much headway you might think about picking up some slower RAM, ideally something that is on the ASUS compatibility list. My g.skill 3200 RAM isn't on the compatibilty list but so far is working fine on my M8F mobo. I'm running it at the default of 2133 though since my G4400 CPU won't support higher speeds. I'll upgrade to a mega CPU later. You can pick up 8Gb of 2133 RAM for a song and that might help shed some light on what's going wrong for you. At this point it could be the CPU, mobo or the RAM. And I suppose an outside chance it's the PSU. I build my systems on a breadboard to eliminate case/wiring issues until everything runs 100%. You might think about doing the same for ease of troubleshooting. At this point you need to eliminate as much as possible from the configuration so that the root cause becomes more obvious.

  4. #14
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    375
    Posts
    17,223

    Ok let's recap and look over what is happening,

    You say when switching off the psu and switching it back on it boots properly, setting the Dram voltage to 1.35v gives you a blue screen.

    When you try to boot without switching off the psu do any lights or fans come on or do you get absolutely nothing?

    I would also try what Jones0610 suggested with minimal components such as 1 stick of ram and I agree that Corsair ram seems to be the most problematic on ROG boards but some have no issues with it.

    When looking at Ram QVL lists go by the ram manufacturers QVL list.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Nate, I was just thinking about the SSD. Seems like a long shot but the Samsung Pro has encryption and other factors that could possible be in play here.

    Since the OP has an educational copy of Win10, might make sense to throw in an el cheapo HDD and install W10 on it at least to see if things get better (or worse).

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori5 6600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung C24F390
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCryorig M9i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Logitech K270
    Mouse Lenovo M331
    Mouse Pad Hyper X
    Headset/Speakers Creative T4 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Education
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-868L

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    17

    Yea I ran memtest for 4 hours plus for the full 4 passes and it reported zero errors. I did try upgrading to 2202 as well, I read on another thread that any BIOS below 1701 is the most stable for XMP so I tried it even though I do not have XMP set on my BIOS. I also unplugged my rams and plugged in one by one to test if removing any one of it causes the problem to disappear. I also removed my graphics card and tested with the monitor plugged into the onboard graphics. Yesterday I unplugged everything from my computer and plugged in the monitor with a different HDMI cable when the motherboard showed A0. I am now going to do a re-installation of my windows 10 to see if anything improves. As this is my first PC in like 10 years I do not have any other hardware I can swap out to test.

  7. #17
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    375
    Posts
    17,223

    Before installing windows 10, disable CSM and set "Secure Boot" to "Other Os".

    Maybe disabling CSM before the windows installation is the ticket.

    Good luck and let us know if this works, I got my fingers crossed.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori5 6600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung C24F390
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCryorig M9i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Logitech K270
    Mouse Lenovo M331
    Mouse Pad Hyper X
    Headset/Speakers Creative T4 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Education
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-868L

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    17

    Hello again! It boots up properly after a shut down and also after hibernate after I reinstalled the OS. I have yet to download any programs so I will update again even if everything works as it should so that any others who might encounter this problem in the future will know what is the fix in the unlikely case they encounter this issue.
    One last question, when starting up the pc i realized that instead of beeps, there is a tick coming out from the system. There is another tick when it boots into the desktop. I read that this is the sound of the relay that prevents the speakers from popping when booting. Is this true?

    Oh and I did not read your reply before reinstalling so I let the BIOS be at default before reinstalling and no issues for now.

  9. #19
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 16-16-16-36-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    375
    Posts
    17,223

    That's great Cold_Fire_18

    I'm not sure what could have happened the first time around on the windows installation but it's good to see you got it working like it should.

    Nice going !

    I'm going to rep you and Jones both for getting this solved.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    Cold_Fire_18 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori5 6600k
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung C24F390
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCryorig M9i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Logitech K270
    Mouse Lenovo M331
    Mouse Pad Hyper X
    Headset/Speakers Creative T4 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Education
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-868L

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    17

    Thank You Nate! And Thank You Jones too for taking the time to reply!

    Let me go find out what rep is. I will rep u both for assisting if I can rep!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •