Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 91
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Okay, back from my vacation, gave updating from 3301 to 3402 a shot. Here's my findings:

    1) I did suffer a reboot while inputting my overclock settings into the BIOS (after I had set them all and as I was in the process of saving the profile, sigh), at which point I was at all defaults except for CSM disabled. Since I got my preferred settings loaded and did a cold boot a few hours ago, I haven't had any reboots. Keep in mind, though, that I never had the reboot issue under any previous BIOS either, and this is the first BIOS where I had the sort of reboot I just described under mostly default settings while within the BIOS. Could just be a fluke, and I don't generally expect great stability after a BIOS update until I've done a completely cold boot, but just noting it for the record.

    2) This BIOS once again provides a significant increase to AIDA memory benchmark scores, as every BIOS in the 3xxx series has given me under XMP settings. I'm seeing yet another 1k improvement to reads and copy. My reads are above 65k now, a score I had to previously overclock my memory to 3000Mhz (and raise voltage from 1.2v to 1.38v) to achieve. Impressive. I do note a very tiny reduction in write speed (which unlike r/c/l has never varied much between runs), but it's only like 100-200mb/s, much less than the 1k+ improvements to read/copy. I probably wouldn't even have noticed if not for the fact that it brings me from consistently just over 67k writes to consistently just under 67k.

    3) Unfortunately, though, for the first time, the improved benchmark scores are not translating to any improvement at all in my Heavensward FFXIV benchmark scores, which is what I use to measure the "real world" effects of these memory improvements. Ran it about 8 times across 3 or 4 separate cold boots and restarts, and both my average and best scores seem about the same. This is with my best usually-stable graphic card overclock, btw.

    4) Not planning on doing any OCCT or other stability tests at this point in time. Heavensward at 1440p isn't a bad stability test itself, and 3402 passed 8 runs without a hiccup using my most optimistic overclocks. I'm just going to go back to gaming some more (playing Wasteland 2: Director's Cut in 1440p 3D vision at the moment) and see if I have any issues that way.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 10-07-2016 at 03:16 PM.

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    Okay, back from my vacation, gave updating from 3301 to 3402 a shot. Here's my findings:

    1) I did suffer a reboot while inputting my overclock settings into the BIOS (after I had set them all and as I was in the process of saving the profile, sigh), at which point I was at all defaults except for CSM disabled. Since I got my preferred settings loaded and did a cold boot a few hours ago, I haven't had any reboots. Keep in mind, though, that I never had the reboot issue under any previous BIOS either, and this is the first BIOS where I had the sort of reboot I just described under mostly default settings while within the BIOS. Could just be a fluke, and I don't generally expect great stability after a BIOS update until I've done a completely cold boot, but just noting it for the record.

    2) This BIOS once again provides a significant increase to AIDA memory benchmark scores, as every BIOS in the 3xxx series has given me under XMP settings. I'm seeing yet another 1k improvement to reads and copy. My reads are above 65k now, a score I had to previously overclock my memory to 3000Mhz (and raise voltage from 1.2v to 1.38v) to achieve. Impressive. I do note a very tiny reduction in write speed (which unlike r/c/l has never varied much between runs), but it's only like 100-200mb/s, much less than the 1k+ improvements to read/copy. I probably wouldn't even have noticed if not for the fact that it brings me from consistently just over 67k writes to consistently just under 67k.

    3) Unfortunately, though, for the first time, the improved benchmark scores are not translating to any improvement at all in my Heavensward FFXIV benchmark scores, which is what I use to measure the "real world" effects of these memory improvements. Ran it about 8 times across 3 or 4 separate cold boots and restarts, and both my average and best scores seem about the same. This is with my best usually-stable graphic card overclock, btw.

    4) Not planning on doing any OCCT or other stability tests at this point in time. Heavensward at 1440p isn't a bad stability test itself, and 3402 passed 8 runs without a hiccup using my most optimistic overclocks. I'm just going to go back to gaming some more (playing Wasteland 2: Director's Cut in 1440p 3D vision at the moment) and see if I have any issues that way.
    Do you know if ram stability has improved? Thinking about moving up to 128 gigs of ram, if it has.

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Couldn't say. I was never able to get consistent stability overclocking my RAM beyond XMP settings (on one cold boot I'd be able to run stability tests on 3000Mhz all day long with no problem at all, and next cold boot it'd crash in half an hour, then next boot stable again, etc.) but that was on 2101 and prior. When I tried OC'ing memory on 3101, I got similar issues. I think it was slightly more stable on 2101 than on 3101, but hard to tell when the issues were intermittent between boots like that. In the end I decided to just run at XMP and accept the memory improvements that come with 3xxx, since so far I've had perfect stability at XMP settings with all of them.

    I have no experience with running >32 gigs of memory, so couldn't tell you if there's any improvements on those grounds, sorry.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 10-07-2016 at 08:18 PM.

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array sergio77 PC Specs
    sergio77 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 3000MHz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GeForce GTX 980
    MonitorAsus VX279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro RAID 0 512GB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 280L with Noctua NF-A14
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard CM Storm Trigger-Z
    Mouse CM Storm Sentinel Advance II
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    BIOS 3402 tests:
    32GB (4x8GB) 3000MHz HyperX Savage running again at 3000MHz manual settings 15-15-15-36-1T (bravo for Asus team).
    32GB (4x8GB) 3200MHz HyperX Predator (HX432C16PB3K4/32) not going over 2600MHz no matter what I do (OC, no OC, XMP, no XMP, VCSA method by 0.010 up to 1.3V, DDR4 Voltage up to 1.45V, +VCORE, +Cache Voltage, manual loose settings, etc.). Q-code display just shows CC or BD or BF or B7...
    Intel Core i7-5930K @ 4.5GHz / Cooler Master Nepton 280L / Noctua NF-A14
    Asus RAMPAGE V Extreme / Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR4 3000MHz
    Asus Strix GeForce GTX 980 / Asus VX279Q
    Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512GB / Samsung 850 Pro RAID 0 512GB
    Cooler Master V1200 Platinum / CM Storm Trooper

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Sergio:

    Interesting results. Running 100 or 125 strap? And did you try all 3 "memory tweak" settings? (I'm not sure that's the exact name but it's similar). It's at the top of the DRAM Timings page.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 10-08-2016 at 01:34 AM.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k 4.5 adaptive .235 vcore input voltage 1.820 loadline 8 cache core 42 .298 volts adaptive
    Memory (part number)Gskill ripjaws 4 2666 1.35v 13 13 13 351T Mode 2
    Graphics Card #1asus strix 1080ti oc
    Sound Cardcreative fatal1ty titanium pro
    MonitorAcer 1440p 144hz ips G sync and a Asus 1440p ips panel 60hz
    Storage #1500 960 Evo M.2
    Storage #2256 hyper x + 256 hyper x
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCoolermaster hafx 942 full tower open case less heat
    Power SupplyThermaltake 875watt 72 amp single rail
    Keyboard Razer deathstalker PLEASE DIE ALREADY
    Mouse Logithech g502
    OS Windows 10 64 PRO
    nick the greek 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    The max now i can do is 2800 14 14 14 35 1T , my ram is ripjaws 4 @ 2666... 3202 bios the last bios i could do 3000 15 15 15 35 1T with the 100 strap
    the last 2 bios needs the 125 strap to get 3000 mhz plus the cache core needs to be one step lower for me with 3402 bios
    now i just run it 2666 mhz 100 strap 13 13 13 35 1T 100 strap @ 1.35 volts

    i use mode 2 in ram tweaking it seems to help.......
    Last edited by nick the greek 1; 10-08-2016 at 10:02 AM.

  7. #37
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Did this BIOS fix random reboots that happend on BIOS 3301 and 3009?

  8. #38
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Now I'm afraid to install the ASUS BIOS. I stand at 3202

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by ifvrt12 View Post
    Did this BIOS fix random reboots that happend on BIOS 3301 and 3009?
    No, it did not. Also, some folks are insisting that 2101 is not affected by that issue, but I observed it happening - twice - while running 2101. So.... the ball is still on ASUS's court, FWIW...

  10. #40
    ROG Enthusiast Array nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    nick the greek 1 PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k 4.5 adaptive .235 vcore input voltage 1.820 loadline 8 cache core 42 .298 volts adaptive
    Memory (part number)Gskill ripjaws 4 2666 1.35v 13 13 13 351T Mode 2
    Graphics Card #1asus strix 1080ti oc
    Sound Cardcreative fatal1ty titanium pro
    MonitorAcer 1440p 144hz ips G sync and a Asus 1440p ips panel 60hz
    Storage #1500 960 Evo M.2
    Storage #2256 hyper x + 256 hyper x
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCoolermaster hafx 942 full tower open case less heat
    Power SupplyThermaltake 875watt 72 amp single rail
    Keyboard Razer deathstalker PLEASE DIE ALREADY
    Mouse Logithech g502
    OS Windows 10 64 PRO
    nick the greek 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    I Haven't had random restarts for a long time even with older bios . i cant remember which bios did it but its been a while

    I suggest raising cache voltage , cause each new bios i run into needs more cache voltage to get the same speeds,,
    for example 3301 i could do 4.3 cache @ 1.256 volts in adaptive but the 3402 i can only do it @ 4.2 cache with the same volts
    in balance mode windows you might notice crashes when installing windows or even some programs in high performance they will not happen..
    so i suggest running balance mode to find the crash and adjust the cpu cache voltage

    mind you a older bios i cant remember which one i could do 4.5 on the cache @ 1.3 volts on the cache
    the only good thing for me right now i can lower my cpu voltage on the 2 latest bios @ 4.5 as always with less volts and the improvements of the ram in aida 64...

    load level 8
    cpu input voltage 1.820 AIDA64 will read it at 1.840
    cache 1.256 @ 4.2 adaptive
    cpu 4.5 @ 1.275 adaptive CPUZ reads it at that AIDA64 reads it higher
    2666 mhz 13 13 13 35 1T @ 1.35 or 2800 14 14 14 35 1T cant do 3000 unless i raise the strap to 125 15 15 15 35 1T 3202 i could @ 100 strap
    GSKILL ripjaws 4 2666 stock ram tweaking mode 2 works best for me.........
    system agent voltage at stock no improvents for me raising it

    older bios not 3000 x bioses i could do 4.2 cache voltage @ 1.2 volts
    Last edited by nick the greek 1; 10-09-2016 at 12:00 AM.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •