Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Win XP Pro on Maximus VIII Formula question

    Just received my lovely formula mobo. Currently running OpenSuSe on it for test purposes. So far so good. Plan to install Win10 Pro once I get the bitlocker issues figured out.

    As a standard practice I usually pop on a HDD with Win XP Pro for test purposes and this almost always works (of course the OS needs to be re-verified)....

    Tried to boot with a known good XP Pro HDD and got as far as the failed boot screen. None of the choices worked including safe mode, no networking.

    This is my first ROG build and my first syklake build. Is there something about this new stuff that would prevent XP Pro from running?

    I have several legacy XP machines that I still use in "production" mode. I was planning on upgrading the hardware to ROG to speed them up some but continue to run XP Pro for a while longer.

    I realize that XP is well past end of life but if I can migrate these old XP HDDs to new ROG mobos that would be great.

    My "system" is currently in a very bare, breadboard stage. G4400 CPU, 16Gb g.skill 3200 RAM, BIOS:2202

    Advice, tips, comments will be most appreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Jones0610

    I doubt you'll get any responses to this as no one here is using windows XP, I would use windows 10 from the start to ensure compatibility.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    I appreciate the response and I'd certainly agree with your comment. I have no plans to run XP on this mobo other than for testing purposes. However, since there is no ability to migrate XP to Win10 I plan to keep running XP on my "production" machies for as long as possible. If I can upgrade the hardware to breathe a little new life into those old boxes I'd love to do so. Upgrading to ROG mobos will make the inevitable move to Win10 a lo less painless.

    My question is really about whether there is something about ROG/skylake/Z170 that *PREVENTS* XP Pro from running. I was quite surprised when it didn't just boot right up. Could be just a boot setting in BIOS.... haven't really looked into it yet.

    Since I have this thread open, wondering if anyone is running Linux.... specifically OpenSuSe. Perhaps in Hyper-V. So far it seems to be running fine on my mobo although I am unable to get the ASUS built-in wifi to work. Currently using a garden variety USB wireless adapter.

    I have a ROG G750 laptop that I love. And so far I've been very impressed with the Formula mobo. I'm not really a fan of Win10..... doesn't take much to break it and I've already had to rebuild the laptop twice. I built the XP machine I am typing this on ten years ago and I have had almost zero problems with it.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Hoping I can get some knowledgable thoughts on this. As I said, I'm obviously not buying high end ROG hardware to run a legacy OS on, but.... if I can upgrade my current half dozen XP Pro systems to new hw it will make the inevitable upgrade to W10 a lot easier. This is the first time I have ever installed an XP HDD in a new mobo and had problems. Wondering if there is something about the ROG BIOS/skylake/Z170 chipset that would prevent this from working.

    My M8F is running OpenSuse just fine at the default settings. Will be installing W10 pro as soon as I can get a response on my bitlocker issue.

    With a known good XP Pro HDD installed, it goes through the BIOS, windows starts and then goes back to the ROG logo screen. Tried setting secure boot to "other os".... no difference.

    For fun, tried booting from the XP Pro install CD and after loading most/all of the software it blue screens.

    I could really use some expert advice here. If the M8 mobos won't support XP that's going to put a real crimp in my upgrade plans.

    Many thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I'll check around and see if I can find anything on windows XP being compatible with the skylake z170 chipset.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    I'd be much obliged Nate!

    In your travels, if you could inquire about M8F native support for Win10 bitlocker, that would be a great help as well. Support confirmed there is no provision for a TPM on this mobo so I'm wondering if W10 os encryption is supported. Assuming it is but there is zero documentation on this.

    Win10 Pro is an additional $100 over the home edition and the only relevant extra you get is bitlocker.... a lot of extra dough if my ROG mobo won't support it.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Well I did come across this and it does seem that windows XP will work with the skylake platform.

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/intel...g-499995.shtml

    I'm not sure about the bitlocker as I don't use that, i'll have to check around on that too.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Interesting article. XP was/is certainly Microsoft's best OS. W10 is at least tolerable but I am hardly a fan. I've already had to rebuild my ROG laptop twice because Win10 decided to corrupt itself.

    Any thoughts on what I should to to try to get XP Pro to boot on my M8F? Seemed pretty straightforward..... I presume there's a setting in BIOS that I'm missing.

    Win XP Pro is on a Maxtor sata HDD that came out of an Intel Bad Axe quad core 775 machine.

    I can run Trucrypt on my new machine if I have to but since that sw is depreciated I'd prefer to go with bitlocker. These days, NOT encrypting one's system seems silly..... surprised no one here seems to be doing it, especially since ROG people tend to be on the cutting edge.

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I was doing a little reading on bitlocker and to use that it seems you need to have a TPM module.

    Scroll to specifications

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...ocker-overview

    Windows XP is listed at the Asus support center but there are no drivers.

    http://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/...Desk_Download/

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    The M8F mobo has no provision for installing a TPM module.

    I understand that there are no drivers for XP.... but I'm not getting that far. At this point, a known good bootable HDD with XP Pro won't boot and the XP Pro install CD blue screens after loading a lot of software but before you get to the screen that allows you to do anything.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •