Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    Idiot posting. Help with 6950x and and R5E V10 overclocking....

    Ok so, I dont like to call myself an idiot but....

    My overclocking patience has long since left the station years ago.


    Im running a 6950x and new (as of today) R5E V10 (just swapped out a regular R5E for it).

    I dont fully get the intel Turbo Boost Max thing.

    In the BIOS, I have it set to:

    CPU CORE RATIO: Sync All Cores
    and the multi set to 42 x

    V Core 1.30v

    Which is the exact same settings I had the 6950x set to in my previous "regular" R5E

    Now when I ran the USB drive that came with the V10 edition, it had something about Intel Turbo Boost. But I didn't manually google the actual Windows update for this and install it manually.

    I think gaming wise (which is all I do), I'd be better off with 9 cores set to 38 or so and the "best" core (the * is next to Core 9) set to 43 or 44, if I can swing it. But ever time I try this, it wont boot.

    Anyone else here have experience with the 6950x, R5E v10, and getting 43 or better out of their "best' core?

    Thx
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,491

    Don't have BW-E so can't help with specifics...but I'd recommend you carefully read through

    http://edgeup.asus.com/2016/06/17/br...cking-guide/4/
    http://edgeup.asus.com/2016/05/31/ge...-control-tool/

    Oh, and in my experience, the idiots are the ones that don't ask questions
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 10-01-2016 at 10:11 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by skypine27 View Post
    Ok so, I dont like to call myself an idiot but....

    My overclocking patience has long since left the station years ago.


    Im running a 6950x and new (as of today) R5E V10 (just swapped out a regular R5E for it).

    I dont fully get the intel Turbo Boost Max thing.

    In the BIOS, I have it set to:

    CPU CORE RATIO: Sync All Cores
    and the multi set to 42 x

    V Core 1.30v

    Which is the exact same settings I had the 6950x set to in my previous "regular" R5E

    Now when I ran the USB drive that came with the V10 edition, it had something about Intel Turbo Boost. But I didn't manually google the actual Windows update for this and install it manually.

    I think gaming wise (which is all I do), I'd be better off with 9 cores set to 38 or so and the "best" core (the * is next to Core 9) set to 43 or 44, if I can swing it. But ever time I try this, it wont boot.

    Anyone else here have experience with the 6950x, R5E v10, and getting 43 or better out of their "best' core?

    Thx
    oke if you are sure that 1.30v is stable set your cpu to the following


    ASUS Multicore Enhancement: Disabled
    Cpu Core Ratio :By Specific Core (then set all cores to the ratio you want (42 i guess) and you can try to set the *core a step higher to 43)
    Fully Manual Mode: Disabled
    CPU Core Voltage:Adaptive Mode ---Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage 1.300 Volt

    I have a 6900k stable with 4 cores at 4.3ghz and 4 on 4.2ghz with Intel turbo boost 3.0 woking fine @ 1.270volt and avx offset at 1
    Last edited by Hivemind; 10-02-2016 at 07:13 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    Arne:

    Thanks for the links. Though they didnt seem to be too specific as to how to actually config the BIOS to get it set up right

    Hivemind:

    Thanks for the setup info (this is more what I was looking for). I followed your exact instructions and the system does boot with 9 x cores at 42x and the one * core at 43x.

    However, once in Windows 10 and running various CPU bench/test tools, most monitoring software shows all the cores at 42x, including core 9 (the core with the * next to it in the BIOS(). Im wondering, is there any kind of additional Windows software I need to run to allow the one special core to hit 43x? I say "most" because the only software that shows 43 x is the Dual Intelligent Processor section in AI Suite, its says 43x. And over towards the right I can click the TPU thing and It shows a round graphic of all the cores and when I rotate it over to core 10, its shows 43x (all others show 42). However in the BIOS its core 9 that I have set to 43, not 10.

    Anyways thanks for the help guys. I think this "trick" is a feature that has not really been fully implemented yet and needs a lot more support form windows as well as the BIOS to make it much more automated / transparent. For now it looks like you even have to drag specific app names into the Asus AI Suite section to "allow" them to use this feature??!

    Edit:

    I ran 3DMark Ultra and when I looked at the results, in the CPU section it reports "max CPU clock" about 4298 so at least "one" of the cores is running at 43 I guess?

    2nd edit:

    I haven't Installed Intel Turbo Boost 3.0. Is this required or redundant (not at home to test right now). In an article on the subject I just read this:
    "ASUS has told me that they have/will have a software package that enables TBM3 to be applied to multiple cores at once, whereas the Intel software will only accelerate a single program. It should be interesting to test."

    Can anyone from asus comment on where to DL this?
    Last edited by skypine27; 10-03-2016 at 09:37 AM.
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,491

    Quote Originally Posted by skypine27 View Post
    I haven't Installed Intel Turbo Boost 3.0.
    Pretty sure you need that driver to make this stuff work...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Windows will install the driver as an update, the APP can be used to assign a core and application, there is also AVX offset to lower core speed for AVX instructions that increase heat, they all have there intended purposes if you use your system as a work station

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    You can download Intel Turbo boost 3.0 driver here https://downloadmirror.intel.com/259...nology_3_0.zip

    There is a newer version 1.0.0.1027 but that one forces to install the Intel turbo boost utility to, and you don't need that with the newest windows 10.
    Windows 10 Anniversary Update Version 1607 has now Native support for Turbo boost 3.0 with the driver only so that is why i use ITB3.0 version 1.0.0.1025 as that one has a option to only install the driver

    Unzip the file and then go to Device manager select the unknown hardware that is left there and then manual navigate to \drivers\x64 that is in the zip file.

    after that windows 10 will auto Prioritize what process will run on the 43 core (Mostly the foreground app)
    But don't think that it will always assign the 43 core to for example a game it only assigns that core if the process utilization is high

    If Windows auto update installs automatically the newest version with the Utility you can always disable that or use it your choice.

    ITB3.0 is not just for the * Core it can be used for other cores as well so you can try multiple cores at 43 if you like.
    It is a driver to make Windows aware of the Core multipliers and by that windows can now manage the priority of the processes and assign a core to it.

    With https://www.hwinfo.com/files/hw64_536.zip
    you can check the core speed real time with the CPU#0 windows that you get once you start the program
    Last edited by Hivemind; 10-03-2016 at 03:34 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Do you have a good cooling solution like Corsair H100 or liquid cooling?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    If Win 10's latest build supports this feature, then I"m not downloading an additional software package.

    Thx for all the good info guys.
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    Quote Originally Posted by Legolas View Post
    Do you have a good cooling solution like Corsair H100 or liquid cooling?
    A decent one. Custom loop with 3 x radiators. (theres a 420 mm rad in the front you cant see in the pic

    Last edited by skypine27; 10-05-2016 at 04:15 AM.
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •