Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Whether or not it is the de-pop relay or some other component, it's definitely something on the board making the noise and it can happen at pretty random times even when I'm not playing any audio at all on the system. Just now for example, I was merely running furmark and an anti virus scan and it just clicked once all of a sudden.

    These clicks are pretty loud for what they are and very annoying and while I haven't seen or heard any evidence that they are causing a problem other than being annoying to hear, I can't imagine this is normal behavior for this motherboard or any motherboard really.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array ricemanhk PC Specs
    ricemanhk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @ 4.6GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB M.2 PCIe x4
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 400C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W B2
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    In that case it might be protective switches countering voltage spikes when loads change suddenly during stress tests.
    Do you have clicks in idle or low load uses e.g. internet browsing? Does the click happen often when you run furmark + AV scan or some other stress test?

    Indeed this is also the first time I've had a mobo that had these relay clicks, but I assumed that was because the onboard audio solution was a particularly good one with dedicated DACs and auto-sensing amps.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    If all these clicks I'm hearing are coming strictly from the de-pop relay, I would find that quite odd since as I said, sometimes I hear a sudden click when no audio is playing. I should also mention that I only use headphones for audio listening and never unplug them.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array Adrian1976 PC Specs
    Adrian1976 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700K @5ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 3000 Ram @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp Extreme
    MonitorSony KD55XG9505
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro Rgb
    CaseCorsair 570 X
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus Gold 850w
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM600
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by Loaded Glove View Post
    This may sound dumb and I admit I'm not basing this on technical knowledge, but did you also disable the front panel header in the bios?
    As far as i'm aware there isn't a bios settings front panel audio, I have it completely disabled.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    There definitely is a setting in the bios which allows you to enable or disable the front panel audio. If it were me, just to be thorough, I'd re-enable the onboard audio just to have access to the front panel setting. Disable the front panel and then disable the onboard audio and see if the relay remains active. When I disabled the onboard, I'm pretty sure it eliminated most or maybe all the clicks.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array w4tch0 PC Specs
    w4tch0 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K @ 4.5GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB
    MonitorBenq XL2411, Eizo FS2333
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Define R5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Zowie FK1
    Headset Audio-technica ADG1
    Headset/Speakers Kurzweil KS-40A
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit build 1607
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Some games or software can cause the sound card relay to click as well in certain situations. I even remember when I had the Xonar there was a buggy game that caused the relay to click rapidly a few times every 20 to 30 seconds.

    Maybe check if something you got installed isn't causing this? Do you also get the clicks if you disable the sound device in device manager?

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Adrian1976 PC Specs
    Adrian1976 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700K @5ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 3000 Ram @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp Extreme
    MonitorSony KD55XG9505
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro Rgb
    CaseCorsair 570 X
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus Gold 850w
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM600
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by Loaded Glove View Post
    There definitely is a setting in the bios which allows you to enable or disable the front panel audio. If it were me, just to be thorough, I'd re-enable the onboard audio just to have access to the front panel setting. Disable the front panel and then disable the onboard audio and see if the relay remains active. When I disabled the onboard, I'm pretty sure it eliminated most or maybe all the clicks.
    If you would like to point me out in the right direction as to what is the option in VIII Hero bios for front panel audio ? I've looked over and over and I can not find an option for "Front Panel Audio" but either way I do not use nor have any interest in the onboard audio and have it completely disabled in the features setup, why Asus doesn't stop the relay clicking and slowing the boot process is beyond me ?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian1976 View Post
    slowing the boot process is beyond me ?
    Hmm what do you think is making your boot slow? My boot is kinda slow, but I thought it was because I run raid 1 for storage and it's the raid drivers loading and the array initializing. I did disable the intel raid uefi, but that doesn't reduce the time.

  9. #19
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    164
    Posts
    7,452

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian1976 View Post
    If you would like to point me out in the right direction as to what is the option in VIII Hero bios for front panel audio ? I've looked over and over and I can not find an option for "Front Panel Audio" but either way I do not use nor have any interest in the onboard audio and have it completely disabled in the features setup, why Asus doesn't stop the relay clicking and slowing the boot process is beyond me ?

    This doesn't affect BOOT time, per se. It's just a mechanical relay.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Loaded Glove PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Acer Aspire E5 575
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M2A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Msi GTX 1080 Gaming X
    MonitorVizio E43 F1 4K HDR 60hz 444
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 250gb
    Storage #2Hitachi Deskstar 7K3000 2tb
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850 (Seasonic KM3)
    Keyboard iKBC F87 RGB (MX Cherry brown)
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 110
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series QcK Mini
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64
    Accessory #1 Logitech F710 Gamepad
    Loaded Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    This doesn't affect BOOT time, per se. It's just a mechanical relay.
    Nice of you to chime in on this thread, any chance you can address what the topic is about. Is any of this noise normal?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •