Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ASUS G74 Hard Drive

    Hello everyone,

    Last week i bought an G74SX-BBK7 from Newegg and it' suppose to come with a 1TB hard drive. But when i checked them the first HD was 300GB and the second HD was 240GB, even when i checked the BIOS it said the same. how can this be fixed?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    None of them actually come with a 1Tb HDD....that spec refers to total disk space. So you should have (2) 500Gb HDDs.

    Have you looked in Disk Management to see the disk configuration? Looking at drives in WIindows Explorer isn't definitive, because you can't tell which physical disks the drives are on.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Disk Management shows two 500GB HD's but only one is working and is split into two portions. how do i fix the 2nd HD to make it show up?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Can you right-click on it and select the option make it active?

    (If you could post a Disk Management screenshot, that would be really helpful. Your descriptions so far don't really jibe with the expected disk sizes.)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Screenshot

    Quote Originally Posted by BrodyBoy View Post
    Can you right-click on it and select the option make it active?

    (If you could post a Disk Management screenshot, that would be really helpful. Your descriptions so far don't really jibe with the expected disk sizes.)
    Here is a screenshot, if you a different one let me know
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Disk.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	234.3 KB 
ID:	5238

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Perfect..thanks. So, you have the two expected 500Gb disks. One seems fine, with the three expected partitions.

    Did you try right-clicking on the other disk (literally click inside the space on the graphical display) and choose the "Mark Partition as Active" option? In your screenshot, it doesn't appear that it's active yet.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I tried that at the beginning, but it won't let me it grays it out. (screenshot shows it more clearly) Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SC_2.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	267.4 KB 
ID:	5239

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Okay....well, nothing important is on that disk right? How about you completely delete that volume, leaving the drive as unallocated space, and then make a new partition.
    1. Right-click on it and select "Delete Volume" (and confirm)
    2. Right-click on the unallocated space, select "New Simple Volume." This opens a wizard where you will quick-format the space, name the new drive, and specify a size (if you want it smaller than the whole disk), and assign a drive letter. Accept the default settings for anything you don't want to change.
    3. After creating the new partition, it should have a drive letter and be shown in both Disk Management and Windows Explorer.
    4. If you didn't use all the space for that partition, you can make another partition from the remaining unallocated space by using the same procedure.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    It worked like a charm! i really appreciate your help thank you so much!

    Again, thank you so much ^^ and Happy new year!

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by BrodyBoy View Post
    Okay....well, nothing important is on that disk right? How about you completely delete that volume, leaving the drive as unallocated space, and then make a new partition.
    1. Right-click on it and select "Delete Volume" (and confirm)
    2. Right-click on the unallocated space, select "New Simple Volume." This opens a wizard where you will quick-format the space, name the new drive, and specify a size (if you want it smaller than the whole disk), and assign a drive letter. Accept the default settings for anything you don't want to change.
    3. After creating the new partition, it should have a drive letter and be shown in both Disk Management and Windows Explorer.
    4. If you didn't use all the space for that partition, you can make another partition from the remaining unallocated space by using the same procedure.
    Hello this is my first post...i have the same problem like brosel, but in my case i have some important data on that disk (the one that missing in win explorer but shown in disk management). Please help me save my data on that missing drive... Thx
    fyi i have same g74sx bbk7 with same HD its 2x500 gb. Win 7 HP SP 1

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •