Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I wanted to do the firmware update but Asus does not honor the warranty if you buy refurbished which is what I did from Newegg Canada. I fought for 3 weeks to only be told that they don't care and to just return the monitor.

  2. #12
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Quote Originally Posted by fvolta View Post
    I wanted to do the firmware update but Asus does not honor the warranty if you buy refurbished which is what I did from Newegg Canada. I fought for 3 weeks to only be told that they don't care and to just return the monitor.
    Sorry to hear about what happened.

    Please kindly send me a PM with the RMA# and CaseID and I'll further escalate this issue.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I´ve made a new post but I will also answer to this thread.
    In the picture from my PG279Q you see big vertical Stripes which I noticed.
    Is it just the battlefield game or do I need the firmware update? Model is built in March 2017, but maybe they just didn´t implement the update.
    I have it seen only in the mortar camera Animation from Dreadnought and in spawn menu Animation, but I also noticed sometimes small vertical lines on top of screen at some Battlefield scenes.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos monitor.jpg  


  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ah, it is from the game. second monitor from samsung showed the same bright stripes. Damn nobody sees it without me and Dice will never fix it.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    301

    Just found out that their is a firmware update for this defective model & just as everyone else I am extremely disappointed (understatement) that Asus doesnt allow the customer to do the firmware update or has not offered an alternative solution!

    I appreciate that Bahz has chimed in once about the issue but never replied to assure us a guarantee that our monitor would not be replaced with a different one which would most likely be heavily used and damaged physically or cosmetically. These monitors even brand new had MANY other issues even coming from the factory with fingerprints & filthy panels that could have only happened during assembly as well as bad uniformity and other issues.
    I was very lucky to get a good one with minimal light bleed and minimal other issues, well aside from the issue that every 279q suffers from (the defect for which this thread is about). I do not want to risk sending this bulky monitor in for repair, too many stories about customers receiving their $800 monitor back disassembled with snapped ribbon cables, broken stands, etc.

    I dont understand why asus doesnt offer us the oppertunity to send us a replacement g sync module that we can install ourselves & send the defective one back?

    Bahz, I know you guys say that the fix requires special equipment to perform the firmware update but you guys allowed the customer to disassemble their monitor & install the DIY G sync kit when you offered it for the vg248qe monitor, I dont see why this should be any different. If you read this please let me know if you can offer us an alternative solution?
    After all gsync was designed to eliminate horizontal tearing not introduce vertical tearing.
    Last edited by sdmf74; 02-10-2020 at 08:33 PM.
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •