Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question G752VS OC edition - Is there a way to permanently set it to standard mode?

    Hello ROG community,

    I have recently purchased G752VS OC edition and I was just wondering if there is a way to -permanently- set the device to work in "standard mode" (i.e., non-overclocked).
    If I go in to the Gaming Center App, the device is set to "Extreme mode" by default.
    If I switch it to "Standard mode" and restart the system, it again goes back to "Extreme mode"...
    Does anyone know if it is possible to change this default extreme setting to default standard setting?

    Also, is there a way to permanently turn off the light bar as well?
    It seems like a driver issue, but when I turn off the light bar (also through Gaming Center App) and restart the system, the light bar again turns on.
    If I go into the gaming center to turn it off, it shows that it is off although it is physically on. So, I have to turn it ON and OFF again...

    It would be very much appreciated if anyone can give me some clue how to solve these issues!

    Thank you !

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Just uninstall the Gaming Center or better yet, just make a clean windows install. Thats what I did.

    I dont need Gaming Center for nothing, I do everything from other apps. And my lightbar is permently shut down.

    But, out of curiosity, why do you prefer the default instead of the extreme mode?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by miguel pereira View Post
    Just uninstall the Gaming Center or better yet, just make a clean windows install. Thats what I did.

    I dont need Gaming Center for nothing, I do everything from other apps. And my lightbar is permently shut down.

    But, out of curiosity, why do you prefer the default instead of the extreme mode?
    I actually tried uninstalling the Gaming Center, but didn't solve the issue..
    May be I should try clean windows install..thanks for the tip =)

    I saw a benchmark of G752VS from this forum which actually showed that the result is better with the standard mode - I guess it's because the laptop starts throttling..?
    Anyway, I thought it would be better if I could work in the standard mode and only turn on extreme mode when gaming because I don't need "extreme" all the time...

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Well, extreme is just what Asus decided that they would call and OC mode on this laptop. But then they screwed everything up by using 1,4V (!!) on the CPU, so it gets to 97ºC+ and throttles. Not even on desktop i7-6700k 4.8Ghz you need that kind of voltage.
    Thats why the Gaming Center is actually a bad thing for the laptop, and why I decidided to make a fresh windows install, which is really easy with windows 10 tool.

    My 3dmark firestrike numbers are now more then 1000+ better than on "extreme" mode, and my cpu temperatures are below 80ºC most of the time.

    When properly dialed up, this laptop is great!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hi Miguel.

    This is very interesting. Sorry for the questions below, but I am curious about your setup.

    Is ASUS aware that the 1.4V on the CPU is causing the G752VS OC edition to throttle? Are they going to fix this in the Gaming Center software?

    Since you have removed the gaming center software from your system, are you using any other software to overclock? What overclocking settings are you using?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by miguel pereira View Post
    Well, extreme is just what Asus decided that they would call and OC mode on this laptop. But then they screwed everything up by using 1,4V (!!) on the CPU, so it gets to 97ºC+ and throttles. Not even on desktop i7-6700k 4.8Ghz you need that kind of voltage.
    Thats why the Gaming Center is actually a bad thing for the laptop, and why I decidided to make a fresh windows install, which is really easy with windows 10 tool.

    My 3dmark firestrike numbers are now more then 1000+ better than on "extreme" mode, and my cpu temperatures are below 80ºC most of the time.

    When properly dialed up, this laptop is great!
    Hello Miguel,

    Could you please tell us how you have achieved that with your "extreme" mode?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    First you have to unistall Gaming Center. That is a Cancer for this Laptop. A clean windows 10 install is reccomended.

    Then you just have to fallow this steps:

    Skylake CPUs are only supported from ThrottleStop 8.2 forward. Just Download the latest from here:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thre...-guide.531329/

    Settings I recomend:

    FIVR BUTTON:

    -CPU CORE:
    Unlock adjustable Voltage
    Adaptive
    First slider - all to the left until Default shows
    Second Slider - Undervolt (try -100mV)

    - CPU Chache
    Exactly the same as CPU CORE

    Check the "Save Options to INI when ThrottleStop exits"

    TPL BUTTON:
    Speed Shift Tecnology enable
    Enable Speed Shift when TS Starts

    After this just try higher or lower Undervolting settings. If something goes wrong just reduce the amount. Most Skylake CPU can go -150mV and more. But it depends if the are in OC or not and on the CPU itself.
    Try it!

    Check everything with HWInfo64 and see how the voltages on the CPU change.
    Use MAX Performance on the Power settings.

    NOTES:
    On the FIVR menu you can play with the multipliers on the left side. You can OC or not on demand. Just find whatever you are confortable with. For now I'm with 3.8Ghz, since the temps are fine.
    I just made a shortcut to the ThrottleStop in the desktop. There is a way to make it start auto, but I havent been able to. Not really a problem.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks for your explanation!!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hi.

    If anyone else is having issues with Miguel's link to the Throttlestop guide, try this....

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thre...-guide.531329/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •