Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    VIII Hero Weird Issues (Crashes, BIOS Safe Mode, Turns itself on etc..)

    Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Case
    EVGA SuperNova G2 750W '80 Plus Gold' PSU
    Asus Maximus Hero VIII
    i7 6700k
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 3200Mhz DDR4
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti Xtreme
    Samsung 500GB 850 EVO SSD

    Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

    Hi all

    Really hoping someone can help, as I'm pretty much stuck for ideas on this now.

    I bought my VIII Hero as part of an OC kit (with a guaranteed overclock of 4.5GHz) I ran the system at stock for a couple of months before applying the settings and ever since have run into issues. This also occured with the default XMP profile applied.

    Kit and settings > https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sh...php?t=18692676

    The settings apply to the 3000MHz RAM that was originally included with the kit, but they since updated the kit to include 3200Mhz (which is what I received). I was advised on OCUK to clock it back down to 3000Mhz and apply the following..
    "Set VCCIO to 1.2v, VCCSA to 1.25 and CPU standby to 1v. Reboot and test"
    Have done this (No VCCSA in the BIOS but set CPU System Agent Voltage to 1.25 - text then goes purple if that means anything?), but sadly issues still remain.


    The system works fine for a while, but after a day or two I will get one of 3 problems or a combination...

    1. System makes a quick audible stutter (if listening to music or playing a game) then cuts power then reboots.
    2. On a cold boot (or after a crash), the boot may halt at the Safe Mode message on the BIOS, at this point my RAM clocks itself back down to 2133MHz even though all settings are still applied in the BIOS.
    Only way I can boost it back up is to set defaults, (or clear cmos) save, reapply, save and reboot.
    3. Occasionally after shutdown the PC will boot itself back up a minute or two later.

    Other things I have tried...
    1. 2x OS Drive reformat and reinstall.
    2. Removing the RAM Sticks, blowing on contacts, reseating.
    3. Clear CMOS flashed the BIOS twice (to 1902, now 2001)
    4. Even bought a new Belkin Power Strip as I was paranoid it could also be surge related.

    Only other thing I changed.
    Just before the OC I added the Q-Connector for the Front Panel switches, mainly for ease of use (once I realized what it was for), previously had them wired directly to the board. Could this somehow be causing a short - or clutching at straws here?

    Any help or ideas greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    First step is to clear CMOS and test system at stock defaults. If the system is fine, then it's your overclock. If not, then we'll proceed from there.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    First step is to clear CMOS and test system at stock defaults. If the system is fine, then it's your overclock. If not, then we'll proceed from there.
    Thanks Chino. After a Safe Mode message yesterday, I've reset to defaults this morning, and will see how that pans out. I do think it could be RAM related as the error first occurred with defaults and just the XMP profile applied.
    The OC does hold after a crash, usually a 50/50 chance after a crash that the RAM clocks itself back down. Will report back at the end of the week, and possibly try another memtest before then too.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi sHAYM4N

    If it's still giving you trouble after enabling XMP try raising these voltages:

    CPU VCCIO voltage 1.15v - 1.25v
    CPU System Agent Voltage 1.15v - 1.25v

    Try both at 1.15v, if still problems try both at 1.20v and up to 1.25v, you can also set the Dram voltage to 1.40v if all else fails.

    Let us know if this helps.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi sHAYM4N

    If it's still giving you trouble after enabling XMP try raising these voltages:

    CPU VCCIO voltage 1.15v - 1.25v
    CPU System Agent Voltage 1.15v - 1.25v

    Try both at 1.15v, if still problems try both at 1.20v and up to 1.25v, you can also set the Dram voltage to 1.40v if all else fails.

    Let us know if this helps.
    Cheers! was almost ready to try this out today after a week of stability on stock, but yesterday evening had my first random reboot I was using both blender and sculptris at the time so was pretty intensive, which is when most of the problems occur (large documents in photoshop etc). Not sure now if it could be hardware related and how I can narrow it down to what bit of kit? Memory, CPU, Mobo?

    Incidently the PC restarting itself after shutdown issue think I've managed to nail. Always seems to happen when I've had Plex Media Server running, so guess it's the Roku box waking it up doh!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Extra A453

    Just a quick update.

    Still was experiencing crashes on BIOS defaults, not as frequent but once or twice a week.

    Decided yesterday to try and narrow it down, so have done a bit of maintenance. Switched my rad fans to intake (dropped around 5-10c on idle!) quick air clean, reseated the RAM sticks, removed the Q-Connector and a capture card I was barely using.

    Reformatted and installed Windows 10 1607 (was on 1511 previously) flashed bios to latest and all latest drivers installed.

    Will keep it at stock for a few weeks then try the overclock again.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Fingers Crossed

    Progress (I hope), 10 days or so in and not a single reboot, crash, or bios reset. Have even overclocked again to 4.5Ghz and 1600MHz on the RAM and so far seems stable.

    Still no idea what was causing the issue, but suspect the audio drivers or even the Q-Connector. Maybe even Windows 10 1607 fixed it up. Fingers crossed this is my last post anyhow!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •