Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Darkthor PC Specs
    Darkthor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G75VW-T1028D custom build
    Motherboardg75vw standard, socket and southbridge resoldered (shame,ASUS,shame,shame)
    Processori7-3610QM
    Memory (part number)16gb corsair
    Graphics Card #1GTX 670m
    Graphics Card #2GTX 670MX- replaced
    Storage #1SSD 120gb ADATA
    Storage #2WD Black 750GB 720
    Mouse X7
    Headset Razer Carcharias
    Mouse Pad x7 -700
    Headset/Speakers logitech 7.1 Z906
    OS 7 ulti 64bit
    Network RouterKiller N Wireless (default one eats d*ck hard)
    Darkthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    [Guide] G75VW eGPU installation with gtx 750ti

    Hello everyone.
    Since I have a g75vw-t1028D , I have been (for a while now) looking to upgrade the gaming experience of the heavily dated 670mx.
    Anyway, i recently bought a BEAST V8 egpu adapter and I'm planning to buy an external gpu when it arrives.
    I am planning to use the only pci express port i know of in g75vw egpu the laptop, the wifi card one, but I have a small problem and require your help and input.

    Anyone know how fast or slow that port goes? is it a pcie 2 x1 ? pcie 3? x4? x16? I have no clue.
    All I can see is that the gpu i have (the 670mx- modded bios for this VX card to work) is in a pcie 3 at x16 , but I cannot tell for the love of god what the wifi pcie speed is in specs.

    Anyone tried an eGPU setup? Any remarks?any ideas?

    How heavy is the bottleneck?what gpu should i look at?
    All input is welcome.
    Last edited by Darkthor; 10-18-2016 at 02:56 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    61

    eGPU systems are a hit or miss kind of upgrade. Its not that easy to set-up and most of times the are bottlenecked and bugged.

    That beeing said, there are a lot of people using it, and its a way to keep old laptops alive. There is a whole section about it in the NBR forums. You'll get more help there, i guess.
    Maybe a gtx1060? If it doesnt work properly its an easy sell or you could use it in a desktop config?
    I think that this pci-e will be fast enough. Even pcie x4/x8 are not a bottleneck for GPUs, so I dont think that'll be a problem.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    The speed *might* be printed on the board under the card. I don't mean to discourage you, but I don't know that it maters. It's really hit or miss since these docks are all sort of "knock offs" of each other. I have seen that some docks only allow x1 and some cap out at x4. Look at your slot on the computer, and look at the dock you bought. If your dock only has that 1 lane, you can really limit your video card purchases.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    785


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Darkthor PC Specs
    Darkthor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G75VW-T1028D custom build
    Motherboardg75vw standard, socket and southbridge resoldered (shame,ASUS,shame,shame)
    Processori7-3610QM
    Memory (part number)16gb corsair
    Graphics Card #1GTX 670m
    Graphics Card #2GTX 670MX- replaced
    Storage #1SSD 120gb ADATA
    Storage #2WD Black 750GB 720
    Mouse X7
    Headset Razer Carcharias
    Mouse Pad x7 -700
    Headset/Speakers logitech 7.1 Z906
    OS 7 ulti 64bit
    Network RouterKiller N Wireless (default one eats d*ck hard)
    Darkthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    well, to be honest, i know it will work...i just want to know if anyone knows what the pcie slot speed is...so i can try and see what loss i am looking at.

    i am considering giving it an 950 external (that's all the budget i can push for it) .

    anyway, looked at the motherboard....no writing or anything. it just says "WLAN" and that's about it.here is a pic of what it exactly looks like.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$_57.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	126.8 KB 
ID:	59827

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Darkthor PC Specs
    Darkthor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G75VW-T1028D custom build
    Motherboardg75vw standard, socket and southbridge resoldered (shame,ASUS,shame,shame)
    Processori7-3610QM
    Memory (part number)16gb corsair
    Graphics Card #1GTX 670m
    Graphics Card #2GTX 670MX- replaced
    Storage #1SSD 120gb ADATA
    Storage #2WD Black 750GB 720
    Mouse X7
    Headset Razer Carcharias
    Mouse Pad x7 -700
    Headset/Speakers logitech 7.1 Z906
    OS 7 ulti 64bit
    Network RouterKiller N Wireless (default one eats d*ck hard)
    Darkthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    since this is an interesting thread, i will bump it with the info that aida64 says that the wifi is LUCKILY a 2.0 x1 which means a LOT in terms of bandwdth.
    I am eagerly awaiting my eGPU dongle, already purchased a 220 dell DA-2 to power it...and now i got to decide if i will buy a gtx 950 or a 960....and if it will be worth it in the long run.

    Oh,and prolly design a case for this.
    So far, cost is: egpu-35$ , psu Dell DA-2 220w - 18$.

    And 3dm11 score is 2666
    I am expecting it to jump at 8000+ with a 950/960.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	67b4bde09a92a9e2ed4195a6b3ce01da.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	387.8 KB 
ID:	60005
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7b0bd846f8c68eb4f3b5642184ded3b9.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	454.4 KB 
ID:	60006
    Last edited by Darkthor; 10-24-2016 at 09:18 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Darkthor PC Specs
    Darkthor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G75VW-T1028D custom build
    Motherboardg75vw standard, socket and southbridge resoldered (shame,ASUS,shame,shame)
    Processori7-3610QM
    Memory (part number)16gb corsair
    Graphics Card #1GTX 670m
    Graphics Card #2GTX 670MX- replaced
    Storage #1SSD 120gb ADATA
    Storage #2WD Black 750GB 720
    Mouse X7
    Headset Razer Carcharias
    Mouse Pad x7 -700
    Headset/Speakers logitech 7.1 Z906
    OS 7 ulti 64bit
    Network RouterKiller N Wireless (default one eats d*ck hard)
    Darkthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    OKAY, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN!

    TIME FOR THE BIG SHOW, AND , BOY, DO I HAVE NEWS!


    Set stuff up,worked. now I'm gaming Overwatch on Ultra.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	493d85d8f9c44280e424f45a9306bfee.png 
Views:	9 
Size:	65.3 KB 
ID:	60548


    But let's start with the basics.

    Purchases:
    My external beast exp gdc adapter came with his mini pcie jack but there are other thunderbolt,ngff, and pcie, expresscards adapters ( like the AkiTio ) for any type of laptop out there.

    So the first thing i did was to buy a power supply for its 8 pin input.

    -I opted , due to its 220w input limit, to buy a Dell Da-2 adapter 12v 18a output.
    -a gtx 1050ti
    -a gtx 750ti (after 1050ti was RMA'd (damn your retarded drivers, nividia !you gave me quite the shock that the gpu was not working! )

    FOR GPU's that need more than 220watts:
    - get a 450w psu OR MORE. suggest 500w just to be safe
    - use the included 20 pin plus 4 pin adapter to connect to the psu (psu should also have a 20 pin and 4 pin)
    -the 20 pin is needed only for the green wire, which boots up the psu.it usually is the motherboard connector on desktop pc's
    -for auxiliary power port on the gpu use the remaining wires of the psu. ( 6 pin, 8 pin, 6+8 in, or 8 plus 8 pin....depending on your gpu)-make sure it has them
    Setup with atx power supply should look like this, combined:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$_10 (1).jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	95.9 KB 
ID:	60546
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	s-l1600.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	60547

    power supply atx ---> 20 pin +4 pin (Y connection) to 8 pin input in Beast
    +
    power supply atx ---> 6/8/6+8/8+8 pin for auxiliary power port in external GPU



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	setup schematics.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	163.1 KB 
ID:	60531

    ASUS g75VW mpcie slot runs at pcie speeds of 2.0 x16. GPU-Z confirmed my suspicions.

    Preparation:

    I carefully removed all the bottom screws, enough to give me access to the wifi card that is below the keyboard.
    This step is fidgety.

    Careful when lifting the keyboard side, it has a ton of ribbon connections,and you DONT want to pull too hard.
    If you do, your risk.
    I suggest you drink something beforehand and make sure you have AMPLE time and are IN NO RUSH.
    Plug it in,screw it in,and you're good.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01824.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	298.2 KB 
ID:	60513

    Reassemble it in reverse order. There are guides online on how to do that.
    Note to self: damn, wish the g75 had this wifi slot (miniPCIE) under its back plate and accessible, not jesus knows where...


    WARNING!
    Since the beast gpu's miniPcie external cable has a HDMI male jack, and the BEAST has a hdmi female jack...DO NOT plug in your external monitor in the beast!! You might fry the thing!

    That port is ONLY for the cable you plug in your wifi card slot.DONT plug anything else in the Beast exp.

    Plugged the jack in the exp beast 8.4d , reassembled the laptop.
    I INITIALLY bought a 1050ti for black friday and....and I hit a wall.

    Latest nividia drivers up from 372.70 are screwed up for the 1000 seris nvidia gpu's .
    DO NOT USE ANYTHING NEWER ..for now.


    So I'd stay clear of the 1000 series gpu's for now....tho the price is sadly incredible bang for buck.
    AMD - tried a r7 360...not even seen. Don't bother with ati gpu's.Trust me.
    (i suspect a bios block but....i didnt dig too deep)


    After the setup was complete ( https://gyazo.com/cd6579b64df3f76d2732d8ffe5e16131 -ignore the halooween stickers)
    -booted windows
    -used DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller )utility to uninstall every remenant of the old nvidia drivers
    -rebooted
    -restarted
    -windows 7 64 bit saw the gpu INSTANTLY
    -used old 360...something drivers from nividia website (the 750ti is lost and forgotten it seems, but..oh well, the drivers are below the dreaded 372.70, so we're good)
    -rebooted
    -cpu saw the internal gpu as standard vga adapter...so I installed the 670mx drivers
    (i recommend you go Device manager- update driver -BROWSE -LET ME PICK -have disk- browse again- NVAMI.inf (for us asus guys) - select it from the list (it should appear if you downloaded the right driver) -install....confirm.

    (note, for anyone using other drivers, this is the inf for your laptop you should look into/modify:

    Acer & Gateway = nvaci.inf
    Asus = nvami.inf
    Apple = nvaoi.inf
    Compal = nvcti.inf
    Clevo (Sager & other re-brands) = nvcvi.inf
    Dell & Alienware = nvdmi.inf
    Fujitsu = nvfmi.inf
    HP = nvbli.inf
    HP = nvhmi.inf
    LG = nvloi.inf
    Lenovo = nvlti.inf
    MSI = nvmii.inf
    NEC = nvqni.inf Siemens = nvfui.inf
    Sony = nvszci.inf
    Toshiba Qosmio = nvtdi.inf
    Toshiba = nvtsi.inf )


    -reboot again
    -fire up a GPU-Z....and see if both cards have clock readings...mine did instantly.
    -go to nvidia control panel in start menu...set up stuff you wanna setup.

    -ENJOY YOUR NEW eGPU (external GPU).

    BENCHMARK TIME!

    I am lazy,so I used firestrike.
    OLD GPU: 670mx
    https://gyazo.com/eed132fab76f18f55ab4e4ad20238e78
    new gpu: gtx 750ti compact 60w edition non-oc
    https://gyazo.com/eba5b893f5687c7600ec4f9f82afa280


    Final words:
    It's quite simple plug 'n play for us guys....just be sure you avoid anything higher than the 372.70 nividia drivers. Yes, you will need to unscrew a few screws, and make sure you leave a small cable hanging out of the laptop (if you are using the BEAST EXP gdc thing....It's not perfect setup, but it looks decent.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$_10.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	61.1 KB 
ID:	60544

    These are the last drivers that seem to work....ish. I would steer clear of the 1000 series for now alltogether.

    HAVE FUN, FRAG STUFF! and if you liked it or it helped you, give a shout. It'll make me feel warm and fuzzy inside
    Last edited by Darkthor; 11-24-2016 at 03:35 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Darkthor PC Specs
    Darkthor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G75VW-T1028D custom build
    Motherboardg75vw standard, socket and southbridge resoldered (shame,ASUS,shame,shame)
    Processori7-3610QM
    Memory (part number)16gb corsair
    Graphics Card #1GTX 670m
    Graphics Card #2GTX 670MX- replaced
    Storage #1SSD 120gb ADATA
    Storage #2WD Black 750GB 720
    Mouse X7
    Headset Razer Carcharias
    Mouse Pad x7 -700
    Headset/Speakers logitech 7.1 Z906
    OS 7 ulti 64bit
    Network RouterKiller N Wireless (default one eats d*ck hard)
    Darkthor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    *updated for gpu's that require more than 2200w power*


    also, there are reports of modded 1000 series Pascal drivers that may work....however current reports say that the current progress is limited,and doesnt offer the gpu's full power...however...for the moment...any progress is progress.
    Last edited by Darkthor; 11-24-2016 at 10:03 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Cant detect the external gpu

    I cant detect my gtx 1070 and i think the problem is i missed one step : i have to enable something in the bios Like UMA or something but i cant find it in asus bios... please save me

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    oh Life saver

    i will test this setup my old g75vw can you send GDC EXP model and picture and HDMI to WIFI cable managment pictures

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •