Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    R5-E10 MB with Corsair Dominator Special Edition RAM issues

    Hey all,

    Just got my hands on some of the new RAM from Corsair. The Dominator Platinum Special Edition 4X8 3200Mhz limited to a run of 500.

    I installed it and did a quick MEMOK from the MB on it and it booted fine. However within Windows I'm getting various crashes in programs and such.

    So I loaded up my MEMTEST program and started it up. There are errors galore. So I started taking out RAM sticks and tested each one individually and each one is giving off errors.

    I can't believe that Corsairs most advanced and limited RAM that is supposed to use the best hand selected RAM chips would have FOUR sticks that are putting up errors in the testing.

    So I'm assuming that it may be a conflict with the motherboard. So I'm wondering if anyone else is having any issues with this RAM on this board?

    I'm hoping it is just a BIOS update that needs to be done to help stability but am trying to cover all my bases.

    Any other suggestions of testing or if there is a better, more thorough test I can do that is 'free'?

    Btw I have done the following in BIOS:
    Changed all the timings to Auto and using only the XMP setting.
    Changed the timings to be set at the 14, 16, 16, 36 T2 as it is designed for.
    Changed the profile to manual and repeated the above.

    Suggestions?
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    It's not the motherboard. It's your CPU. Tweak the other IMC and RAM related voltages to stabilize your memory overclock.

    Also do your testing at stock speed. If it passes, then it's your overclock. If it doesn't, the stick is defective in which case you can RMA.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    It's not the motherboard. It's your CPU. Tweak the other IMC and RAM related voltages to stabilize your memory overclock.

    Also do your testing at stock speed. If it passes, then it's your overclock. If it doesn't, the stick is defective in which case you can RMA.
    I tested it at stock and optimal defaults, zero overclock. I even ran the win 10 memory tester on all four sticks.

    I have gotten bad ram sticks in the past but i have never had four from one kit be bad. I'll talk with Corsair about it, but I know some of the newer sticks this Asus
    MB has had issues that were resolved with a BIOS update. It even says in the last 1003 "better memory compatibility". I'm on the Corsair forums as well looking to
    if anyone else has had an issue with the RAM. So far I haven't found any, but I haven't found any using this motherboard. I will chat with them tomorrow to see
    what we can find. Sadly I don't have another x99 I can test them on.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array enyceedanny PC Specs
    enyceedanny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    Processor6850K
    Memory (part number)CMD64GX4M4B2800C14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3 w/ EK Waterblock + Backplate
    Sound CardASUS SupremeFX Hi-Fi
    Monitor2 x Dell U3011
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK EX480 Radiator
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Daskeyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Glorious PC Gaming Race XXL
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    I tested it at stock and optimal defaults, zero overclock. I even ran the win 10 memory tester on all four sticks.

    I have gotten bad ram sticks in the past but i have never had four from one kit be bad. I'll talk with Corsair about it, but I know some of the newer sticks this Asus
    MB has had issues that were resolved with a BIOS update. It even says in the last 1003 "better memory compatibility". I'm on the Corsair forums as well looking to
    if anyone else has had an issue with the RAM. So far I haven't found any, but I haven't found any using this motherboard. I will chat with them tomorrow to see
    what we can find. Sadly I don't have another x99 I can test them on.


    What are your voltages showing up as? CPU, Cache, and system agent?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    When Chino says stock I believe he means test the all default speeds, ram would be 2133mhz stock, XMP speeds is overclocked, Those kits look so nice, voltages to raise or change when overclocking
    CPU Vcore
    CPU Cache
    CPU Input
    and for ram Dim voltage AB-CD, and VCCSA, I would up the Dim voltage to 1.38 to 1.4 to test, VCSSA is eextremely important and is different for every setup depending on CPU and memory kit but 1.050 to 1.2 is commonly needed to stabilize ram, and is a trial and errror as to high can be as bad as to low on VCCSA but once you find the right voltages its worth the trrouble
    So set all defaults F5 in bios and test your memory for errors then set memory manually to the XMP rated speed, set the first timings manually and voltages manually and test again
    Come back and let us know how it goes, I am sure we can get you where you want to be

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Hey Menthol. Thanks for these suggestions. I went up to 1.38 volts moving everything to default and having my VCCSA at 1.2 (I always have with my overclocks) and got zero errors!

    So I think we are on to something. Now I have NEVER moved up my voltage past 1.35. I need to reset my CPU overclock now. How high is safe for the RAM voltage? You said 1.4 so I'll take that as a start.

    This RAM should have higher tolerances that most others since the chips are 'hand selected' as the best, so what would be the upper limit you would suggest?

    Thanks for your help!

    *update* Left all my CPU overclock at auto so no OC. Moved the Ram to XMP and moved it to 3200 and it crashed. Moved the voltage to 1.4v. Crashed. Changed to manual and 3200 with 1.4 v. Memfail.
    VCCSA is still at 1.2. Would lowering it do something? I don't want to go further past 1.4v on the ram as that puts me in the 'purple'. The ram runs fine at 2100. This is not fun.
    Last edited by Brighttail; 10-19-2016 at 02:16 PM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Hey Menthol. Thanks for these suggestions. I went up to 1.38 volts moving everything to default and having my VCCSA at 1.2 (I always have with my overclocks) and got zero errors!

    So I think we are on to something. Now I have NEVER moved up my voltage past 1.35. I need to reset my CPU overclock now. How high is safe for the RAM voltage? You said 1.4 so I'll take that as a start.

    This RAM should have higher tolerances that most others since the chips are 'hand selected' as the best, so what would be the upper limit you would suggest?

    Thanks for your help!

    *UPDATE* So I ran just 2 sticks at 3200 and ran the tests and was successful. Tried the other 2 and also were successful. Tried all four and got failures. So i'm going to tweak the voltage from 1.38 to 1.40 and see if i can get it stable*
    Last edited by Brighttail; 10-19-2016 at 03:35 PM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Changing the Rampage Tweak option from Auto to Mode 1 helps in some cases.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Changing the Rampage Tweak option from Auto to Mode 1 helps in some cases.
    Never knew that .. i'll give it a go. 32 gb still isn't quite stable but 16 or two sticks is dead stable.

    **UPDATE** Not sure what Mode 1 does but it passed two passes on the Windows Memory test with no issues. Tho I did up the voltage to 1.385.

    I'll try to do my CPU overclock now and see how it goes. The Corsair tech said no voltage increase should be necessary as their techs took each of these
    sticks and tested them extensively and even OC them. I'm thinking more and more it is a compatibility with the Asus Rampage V E 10.
    Last edited by Brighttail; 10-19-2016 at 05:35 PM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Please make sure your timing matches exactly to spec: 14-16-16-36 @3200Mhz 1.35V, if not, use 15-15-15-36@2100Mhz with 1.2V. So, when your speed is above 2100, you can try 14-15-15-36
    You may have to tweak the timing to have stable Windows.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •