Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array dirray PC Specs
    dirray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage 6 Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4-3466
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX1080 TI
    MonitorSamsung UD970 32" UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 960 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseLian-Li PC-D600WB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000
    Mouse Logitech MX-Master
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 PRO 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Samsung 950 M.2 together with Intel 750 U.2

    Hi,

    My Rampage V Edition 10 system is currently booting via a Samsung 950 M.2 SSD. I would like to exchange my Intel 750 PCIE SSD for an Intel 750 U.2 based one (to free up slot PCIEX8_2), and am wondering if others have experience with this combination?

    I'm reading in the manual "The PCIEX8_4 slot shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2". I've got a X2-card in that slot.
    Note: I've also got 2 GTX1080's, but don't think this makes a difference?

    My CPU is a i7-6950x 40-lane one.

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Honami PC Specs
    Honami PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6900K @ 4.0 Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3000Mhz (4X16)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    Sound CardASUS Strix Raid Pro
    MonitorDELL U2715H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GBX2 Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 760T
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 860W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Specurum
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 700
    Headset Sennheiser HD8-DJ
    Mouse Pad Roccat Hiro+
    Headset/Speakers Microlab SOLO 9C
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    AFAIK, You can't use the M.2 and U.2 Connector on the mobo at the same time.
    You might want to get the asus Hyper kit M.2 and place the 950 there and connect the 750 to the U.2 Connector on board.
    The 2 1080's will use 32 lanes when connected, so you can draw another 4 lanes for one of the SSD's by connecting it to one of the PCI-E Slots that draw lanes from the CPU.
    Correct me if i'm wrong.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Baze_Geo PC Specs
    Baze_Geo PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5960x
    Graphics Card #1Rog poseidon 1080TI
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZXR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Sata SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB custom water cooled
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Senheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad Razer vespula
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus AC5300

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Honami View Post
    AFAIK, You can't use the M.2 and U.2 Connector on the mobo at the same time.
    You might want to get the asus Hyper kit M.2 and place the 950 there and connect the 750 to the U.2 Connector on board.
    The 2 1080's will use 32 lanes when connected, so you can draw another 4 lanes for one of the SSD's by connecting it to one of the PCI-E Slots that draw lanes from the CPU.
    Correct me if i'm wrong.
    Yes it is correct, only 1 card will be working.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array dirray PC Specs
    dirray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage 6 Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4-3466
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX1080 TI
    MonitorSamsung UD970 32" UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 960 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseLian-Li PC-D600WB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000
    Mouse Logitech MX-Master
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 PRO 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    That is sad, as the intent to do this was to free up a PCIE slot by moving my current Intel 750 PCIE to a U.2 version. If I can only do this by putting my Samsung 950 in a PCIE slot via the Hyper board, then I gain nothing...

    It is nowhere indicated thet it is either the M.2 or the U.2, no?

    Thanks anyway.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array dirray PC Specs
    dirray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage 6 Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4-3466
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX1080 TI
    MonitorSamsung UD970 32" UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
    Storage #22x Samsung 960 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseLian-Li PC-D600WB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 2000
    Mouse Logitech MX-Master
    Headset/Speakers Logitech
    OS Windows 10 PRO 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    I want to come back to my initial question: whether an SSD on the M.2 and one on the U.2 can be used simultaneously, as I read in another thread here on this Rampage V X99 formum that it works (the thread is about RAID0), which is in discrepancy with the answer I got above?

    Does somebody else use both M.2 & U.2 together?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,664

    I am not sure of the lane config on this one...and you might wait a while here to find a good answer...

    Maybe best to write to ASUS support for your region direct...though you would have to be clearer on exactly what you want to run in what slot.

    For example you say you have a x2 something in last slot....where would you put that?

    I think U2 and M2 is possible but this will probably reduce lane speed for one of the GPUs to x8....

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I don't have a U.2 drive but I believe, it's one or the other, U.2 or M.2, With a M.2 drive installed in the M.2 slot and a Intel 750 pcie drive installed in the bottom pcie slot the video card on top slot is reduced to X8, if you enable 4 way sli in the bios the top slot will work at x16 but that disables both the M.2 and U.2 slots. This is a super nice board but adding thee USB 3.1 was in my opinion a mistake, thee pcie lane assignment was better on thee RVE, just my opinion

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    I just discovered the same issue on my RVE10. I moved my exact setup from my RVE to the new RVE10 thinking it would work just fine. Nope. I discovered that having SLI 1080s, with my 950 Pro boot drive in the M.2 and my second 950Pro in an Angelwings PX1 PCIe card...I was having massive issues. My system wouldn't post and lane 4 LED would flash on the board.*

    I had the 950 PCIe card in the small black slot between the GFX cards. That proved problematic. Moved it to the last slot and it gimped the SLI or broke it completely.

    Is there any way to make this work? Maybe disable the 3.1 ports and the WiFi / Bluetooth in bios? I don't use them anyway. *

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Sadly with the Rampage V E 10, you can't have two cards in SLI + a pci-e M.2 and expect x16, x16 on your GPUs. This wasn't the case with the original Rampage V E as it worked perfectly. Unfortunately Asus decided to go down the U2 road and that meant that you can only use a U2 or an M.2 in the actual motherboard slot for those SSDs as they share the same lanes. Yes you could run them both by having one in the PCI-e but then you will lose x8 on one of the GPU.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    195

    That sucks.*

    Any idea why my 950 Pro in the M.2 slot is not running at "max link" speed according to Samsung Magician? I am only running SLI 1080s now, I took out the PCIe card.

    Is there a setting in the bios I missed? When I run a benchmark it's only reporting maybe 1700 MB/s before it used to run over 2000.*

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •