Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    G751JY CPU usage problem

    Hello everyone.
    Not long ago i updated my notebook for Windows 10. Then after some time i started having problems with CPU...
    Just in like 5-10 mins after turnng my notebok on and doing whatever i do (browser/gaming/anything) my CPU clocks suddenly drop to 798... The only chance to get them up a bit is unplug the charger and plug it back (i also can reboot the system and it will go back to normal for 5-10mins. So i guess charger is not a problem). But even after that my CPU is not runnin at 100% (according to games FPS experience).
    Checked everything - updated drivers that i could update, updated BIOS and so on. Also checked my energy modes (everything is maxed out), checked every solution for windows 19 (like turning off xbox live features), tried to cleaninstall windows 10, tried whatever i could but nothing.
    So here is what i have:
    1) random event in the log about *The speed of processor ** in group ** is being limited by system firmware. The processor has been in this reduced performance state for ** seconds*. Nothing unusual before this and nothing unusual after....
    2) asus live update and any system driver update features show that there are no new drivers. But in asus support i was suggested to block some updates using some tool from Microsoft website (wushowhide.diagcab) and it shows some updates that i can hide, like HM87 LPC controller (whatever it is) and some other strange drivers. Tried to search them and couldnt find anything
    3) sometimes had events like (BITS) changed from auto to manual, and vice versa. Dunno if it affects something
    4) cpu fan is on 2300 like 100% of time. Dont remember if it is max fan speed (the reason i ask this is that in demanding apps my CPU is getting preety hot. up to 90-95. Didnt notice it before. Espetially having in mind that GPU is at normal temps.
    Thanks all for future help. At least tell me i am not alone and what kind of problem can it be .
    P.S. Now it seems like just some software problem, cause CPU/GPU pass all stress-tests like charm (ye the strange thing is that such random drops are really random. CPU can work perfectly during stress test, and drop while you are just browsing easy site). At first it reminded me of drops on my old MSI notebook when you plug out the charger. But as i said - everything is maxed out.
    P.S.S. talking about the situation after unplugging/plugging back in - according to HWmonitor clocks go back to ~3400, but utilisation is not exceeding 30-40% while before drop it was 90-100% for 90% of time
    Last edited by Chargero; 11-02-2016 at 12:02 AM.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    The clocks are supposed to drop. This is completely normal. It reduces power consumption and heat. If you want to run it at 100% just go into power profile and set the min cpu state to 100%.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    The clocks are supposed to drop. This is completely normal. It reduces power consumption and heat. If you want to run it at 100% just go into power profile and set the min cpu state to 100%.
    I dont argue with that. it is normal. But i think it is not normal to drop it to 700-1000. Fps goes down to 7-10, that is completely not normal. Espetially considering the fact that it was not like that before.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    Give ThrottleStop 8.30 a try. Clear the BD PROCHOT box and see what happens to the CPU speed and FPS.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/download...ottlestop-8-30

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    Give ThrottleStop 8.30 a try. Clear the BD PROCHOT box and see what happens to the CPU speed and FPS.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/download...ottlestop-8-30
    Nothing happens). Tried every box there - still the same. The only thing i could achieve is that there is nothing in log when clocks drop. But clocks still drop to 798.
    Also, if i start notebook from battery the situation is the same - drop in like 10 min. And if i plug it in - also nothing. So i need exactly UNplug it. Only when i UNplug it the clocks go back to 3400.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    Can you post a screenshot of how you have ThrottleStop setup? Turn on the Log File option so you have a record of your CPU's performance. If it is dropping to 798 MHz while you are playing, that is going to show up in the log file. You can copy and paste the log file data to www.pastebin.com so I can have a look. When you are finished testing, exit ThrottleStop so it can save all of the log file data to a file in the Logs directory.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    Can you post a screenshot of how you have ThrottleStop setup? Turn on the Log File option so you have a record of your CPU's performance. If it is dropping to 798 MHz while you are playing, that is going to show up in the log file. You can copy and paste the log file data to www.pastebin.com so I can have a look. When you are finished testing, exit ThrottleStop so it can save all of the log file data to a file in the Logs directory.
    So here it is. http://pastebin.com/qZPjR6yt
    The drop is at 02.27.27. Strange is that there are no changes in the log file....
    So i post also
    1) system logs. It gave me this (x8 for every core)
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Processor-Power" Guid="{0F67E49F-FE51-4E9F-B490-6F2948CC6027}" />
    <EventID>37</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>7</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2016-11-03T23:27:27.754597000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>5271</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="244" />
    2) screens of HWmonitor during the drop and after i unplug-plug back the charger.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos HWmonitor.jpg  

    HWmonitor(after unplug-plugin).jpg  


  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    The Windows log you posted shows a time of 23:27:27. That is 11:27:27 PM. The ThrottleStop log file you posted is from 2:16 AM to 2:35 AM. This time is completely different than the Windows messages that you posted.

    The ThrottleStop log does show the kind of throttling that you are talking about.

    Code:
    2016-11-04  02:32:09   8.00   52.2  100.0  100.0        0   63   0.6569    8.2
    2016-11-04  02:32:10   8.00   61.9  100.0  100.0        0   64   0.6569    8.6
    2016-11-04  02:32:11   8.00   48.8  100.0  100.0        0   62   0.6561    8.0
    2016-11-04  02:32:12   8.00   40.1  100.0  100.0        0   62   0.6569    7.7
    2016-11-04  02:32:13   8.00   54.7  100.0  100.0        0   62   0.6527    8.3
    2016-11-04  02:32:14   8.00   39.3  100.0  100.0        0   62   0.6576    7.8
    2016-11-04  02:32:15   8.00   50.6  100.0  100.0        0   63   0.6561    8.1
    2016-11-04  02:32:16   8.00   43.1  100.0  100.0        0   62   0.6561    7.7
    2016-11-04  02:32:17   8.00   40.6  100.0  100.0        0   61   0.6569    7.6
    2016-11-04  02:32:18   8.00   67.0  100.0  100.0        0   63   0.6561    8.7
    The 8.00 is the multiplier and the number beside that is the load. This means your CPU has throttled down to the minimum multiplier. The temperatures are OK so with this kind of load, there is definitely a problem here.

    I am still waiting to see a picture of how you have ThrottleStop setup. Also run the Limit Reasons program built into ThrottleStop and post a picture of that while your CPU is throttling. It will probably show what is causing this throttling problem.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 11-04-2016 at 01:54 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    The Windows log you posted shows a time of 23:27:27. That is 11:27:27 PM. The ThrottleStop log file you posted is from 2:16 AM to 2:35 AM. This time is completely different than the Windows messages that you posted.

    I am still waiting to see a picture of how you have ThrottleStop setup. Also run the Limit Reasons program built into ThrottleStop and post a picture of that while your CPU is throttling. It will probably show what is causing this throttling problem.
    Talking about time, it is just system time and local time difference. You can see it on the screenshot.
    Sorry, forgot to attach throttlestop setup. And still i double-checked the thing with logs and it seems like system logs are more often than not random. They can appear later, or not appear at all. And throttle logs clearly show throttling. I also attach Limit reasons (whatever it means )
    Thx for trying to help.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos limit reasons.jpg  

    log.jpg  

    throttlestop.jpg  


  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    I did some searching last night and found another G751JY owner with the exact same problem.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...amp-frustrated

    As soon as he used ThrottleStop to disable BD PROCHOT, his CPU immediately started running at full speed. Based on your testing so far, I think your laptop has the same problem.

    Your ThrottleStop screenshot does not show any signs of throttling. Your CPU is running at 3400+ MHz like it should be. Try to get a screenshot of ThrottleStop with the Limit Reasons window open when your CPU is throttling and stuck at 798 MHz.

    Limit Reasons shows what part of the CPU is causing the throttling. If a box lights up in red, that is the reason for the throttling that is presently happening. A yellow box means that some throttling was previously recorded but the CPU is not presently throttling due to that reason. After you boot up, open Limit Reasons and click on the headings, CORE, GPU and RING. This clears the previous throttling reasons so the yellow boxes should turn black. Some of these get set during the boot up phase. That is not important so you want to clear those boxes before you start testing. Also open up the ThrottleStop - Options window and check off, Add Limit Reasons to Log File. The log file will then contain throttling reasons so this data can be directly compared to the CPU multiplier.

    When monitoring, run ThrottleStop by itself. Other monitoring programs like HWiNFO automatically delete the Limit Reasons data that is stored within the processor. If the Windows system logs are random or not 100% reliable then ignore this data. It was nice that Windows told you that there is a problem but now you need to fix it. Windows does not have any options available to fix a throttling problem like this.

    Edit - It would also be a good idea to turn on GPU monitoring in the Options window so this information will be included in the log file too.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 11-04-2016 at 08:32 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •