Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array Ransak78 PC Specs
    Ransak78 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170E
    ProcessorIntel i5-6600k
    Memory (part number)16GB G Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorSamsung U28E510
    Storage #1Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerH100i V2
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 650GQ
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series Siberia V2
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Is the application crashing or the nvidia driver?

    Run command prompt as an administrator and type in sfc /scannow and hit enter, leave a space between c and/ If there's anything missing it will attempt a fix.

    You could also try reinstalling the latest nvidia driver 375.70 and do a custom (advanced) install, uncheck everything except the graphics driver and physx driver then check the only box that says perform a clean installation.

    See if this helps at all.

    I would think your gpu is ok if you can pass the Heaven benchmark.
    So I tried everything you suggested. The scan result said it did not find any integrity violations. I've also tried reinstalling the drivers multiple times. And you know what, I think it might be the application itself. I had always assumed it was the driver or something. I went into the Windows event viewer and I looked at all the application errors of the games I try and the faulting application path is always the .exe in my steam directory. For shadow of mordor the faulting module is either ntdll.dll, dxgi.dll, or OWClient.dll. I don't know what that means though. But how could all these games suddenly start crashing at the same time? While others are fine

  2. #12
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    If Shadow of Mordor is a Steam game try this:

    1) Open Steam
    2) Right click on Shadow of Mordor and select properties
    3) Click Local Files
    4) Click Verify Integrity of Game Cache

    Does this help?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array Ransak78 PC Specs
    Ransak78 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170E
    ProcessorIntel i5-6600k
    Memory (part number)16GB G Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorSamsung U28E510
    Storage #1Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerH100i V2
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 650GQ
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series Siberia V2
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    That's one of the first things I tried, but I gave it another go and the freezing problem still persists. I also just ran another Heaven benchmark to see if that was still good. Ran it at 1440p, ultra settings, full screen and it made it through the whole benchmark fine. So yeah, I'm totally lost here.

  4. #14
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Yeah it seems to be a problem with Shadow of Mordor, I wonder if reinstalling it would fix it?

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array Ransak78 PC Specs
    Ransak78 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170E
    ProcessorIntel i5-6600k
    Memory (part number)16GB G Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorSamsung U28E510
    Storage #1Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerH100i V2
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 650GQ
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series Siberia V2
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Yeah I don't know... I guess I'll reinstall a bunch of games tonight and give an update as to what happens later on.

  6. #16
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    All right,

    Yeah at least try reinstalling Shadow of Mordor, I'm a bit puzzled too you can pass Heaven but Shadow of Mordor is freezing.

    And yes give us an update at any time after reinstalling.

    I got my fingers crossed.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    Heaven is by no means a comprehensive GPU stress testing software.

  8. #18
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    That's true but let's see if it isn't an issue with his games or maybe windows since some games do play fine.

    Out of curiosity what is performance like with Doom, here's what I get with my ROG Strix 1070 overclocked.

    FPS in the top right corner.


  9. #19
    ROG Member Array Ransak78 PC Specs
    Ransak78 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170E
    ProcessorIntel i5-6600k
    Memory (part number)16GB G Skill Ripjaws V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    MonitorSamsung U28E510
    Storage #1Crucial MX300
    CPU CoolerH100i V2
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 650GQ
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Steel Series Siberia V2
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Alright, quick update. So I reinstalled Shadow of Mordor last night, started it up today, and still had the same problems. Discouraged I played some Doom since I know that game works. (Which by the way runs at 60-80 fps at 4k, ultra preset, on Vulkan.) So I use RivaTuner and HWinfo as an on screen display to keep track of temps and such but it just never worked in Doom for whatever reason. So in a sort of "hmmmm... I wonder..." moment, I turned my OSD off and started up Shadow of Mordor. And you know what, that seems to have done the trick! I say that tentatively as of right now but I was able to play for about an hour before other obligations required my attention.

    I shall give an update once I have time to test more games for longer periods of time, but fingers crossed that the problem has been found!

  10. #20
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Ah haaa, it's very possible the OSD is causing it to crash.

    Yeah test it out for a while and give us an update at any time.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •