Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    ROG Asus Maximus VIII Hero high CPU voltage on stock

    Hi all,

    Today i noticed my cpu voltage on i7 6700K Skylake on stock is 1.44v 4.2Ghz on full load.

    Is it normally?
    Tnx.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by kiki456 View Post
    Hi all,

    Today i noticed my cpu voltage on i7 6700K Skylake on stock is 1.44v 4.2Ghz on full load.

    Is it normally?
    Tnx.
    It is not normal because u will get high temps . I have same problem with my ranger VIII . on i7 6700k on stock I get 1.394 v full load with 4.2 ghz

    ı am looking for a solution too

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi, this is my temp in full load aida stress test.
    Is it high temp?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos CPU temp.jpg  


  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array THX1139 PC Specs
    THX1139 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700 (6th gen), Stock HSF, Undervolt Offset -0.15 V, LLC 4
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance 2x8GB DDR4-3000 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
    MonitorLG 21.5" W2246S-BF 16:9 Wide LCD Monitor 1920x1080 5ms
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 750 SSD, 250 GB
    Storage #2WDC WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0, 2TB
    CPU CoolerStock
    Power SupplyXFX TS 750W (P1-750S-NLB9)
    Keyboard Logitech K120
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Bosco 16400

    Quote Originally Posted by kiki456 View Post
    Hi, this is my temp in full load aida stress test.
    Is it high temp?
    How long did you run the test for? The screenshot is only at five minutes. When I tested mine with OCCT the test shut down after 20 minutes, reaching a temperature of 94 °C!

    After undervolting my CPU in a not very skillfull way (no idea what I'm doing), I got it to hover between 71-75 °C at full load so if that's what yours is at after 30 minutes at full load then I'd say it's okay although it's on the edge. It may overheat if the ambient temperature rises however.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Hello Kiki456,

    Go to BIOS -> Extreme Tweaker -> CPU Core/Cache Voltage -> Auto or manual and set to 1.136
    Check this out for learning about Skylake power consumption and voltage scaling
    Last edited by Legolas; 11-04-2016 at 12:25 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    RISE vehicles

    Hi Legolas,

    Can I change voltage on auto? I don't understand difference auto and manual if I can change auto voltage.

    Is it need change voltage on cpu cache voltage, cpu agent voltage?

    I have corsair memory and I have plan turn on XMP to 3466Mhz, is it ok if I reduce voltage?

    Tnx.
    Last edited by kiki456; 11-04-2016 at 06:40 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Youngevans PC Specs
    Youngevans PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Apple Macbook Air 13"
    MotherboardRog Maximus X Code
    Processori7 8700k
    Memory (part number)16Gb 3200mhz Team Group T Force Night hawk RGB
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 1080ti MSI liquid cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X-Fi xtreme
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD Monitor
    Storage #1250Gb Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
    Storage #27 TB (3x 2tb + 1tb)
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Tripple Riing RGB 360mm AIO
    CaseRiotoro Prism CR1280 rgb full tower
    Power SupplyAkasa Xtreme Power 1200 w
    Keyboard Rosewill Neon K 50 RGB
    Mouse Cooler master devastator gaming mouse
    Headset Beats Studio Wireless 2.0
    Headset/Speakers Dell Altec Lansing ADA995 5.1 gaming
    OS Win 10 x64
    Network RouterLTE Mobile Hotspot Samsung galaxy s7 edge
    Accessory #1 Xbox one wireless controller covert forces
    Accessory #2 Ps4 wireless controllers x2

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by kiki456 View Post
    Hi all,

    Today i noticed my cpu voltage on i7 6700K Skylake on stock is 1.44v 4.2Ghz on full load.

    Is it normally?
    Tnx.
    Hi fella, this is a common however big problem with asus z170 boards, i am facing the exact problem and with me setting voltages manually doest not work i mean motherboard does not pick the voltages i set. The danger is the safe voltage range for skylake is 1.345. 1.44 is extremely high and may degrade ur cpu in a short while, reduce the life span or even damage ur cpu. I hv read many people with the same problem and am no exception. Asus gotta provide a quick solution to this asap.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    1.52v is the max safe voltage stated by Intel as long as temps are ok.

    6700k - 4.8GHz - 1.504v

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BCLK 300.png 
Views:	13 
Size:	234.9 KB 
ID:	60195

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    "Asus and Intel documents recommended a maximum of 1.45V" - http://www.digitaltrends.com/computi...core-i7-6700k/

    That said it IS a recommendation and the absolute maximum is 1.52v in the paperwork as Nate152 stated. Personally i would not go above 1.45v even if i had the best AIO in the market, i would instead use something like custom water, Dice, LN2.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hello,

    I think I'm having the same issue. I had a Corsair GTX H110i installed, dust free and fresh thermal paste.

    I'm setting fans to 100% and start a video convert task (which takes about 2 hours). Within 10 minutes I'm hitting 80C and it keeps increasing slowly up to 90C and I had to stop the task. So basically I can't do my daily tasks on my computer any more. I've contacted Corsair they said send your cooler back maybe it's faulty, I'll send it tomorrow.

    However! As I'm reading here I just realised that I've started having this overheating issue since I've upgraded BIOS from 1701 to 2202. I don't remember having the same problem when I was on 1701.

    I will downgrade tonight and see if it will make any difference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •