Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jbonnett PC Specs
    Jbonnett PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Titan X SC
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyCorsair H1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Jbonnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Condenser mic really quiet

    Hi All,
    I just purchased this mic and I find that I have to speak quite loudly along with having my mouth very close to the mic, I have phantom power. It is connected to my pc using the XLR to 3.5 jack via phantom power, I have set max gain and boost (as that is the only way I can get any audio). Any ideas on how to rectify this problem.

    All soundstage features are turned off within the software.

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeat2 wireless
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 17692
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    708

    in your Mic settings make sure you microphone boost is above +10. I set mine to +20 and don't have any issues. raise your recording volumn to whatever level you feel comfortable with.
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.219v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 1403]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jbonnett PC Specs
    Jbonnett PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Titan X SC
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyCorsair H1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Jbonnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    The boost is at the max and I have to be very close to the mic. The problem is this mic should be quite sensitive at gain of 30 and boost of 0.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeat2 wireless
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 17692
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    708

    yeah something is wrong there. did you check your setting in windows sound? with that boost at max you should be getting bad feed back. I set the boost to 10-20+ and increase the recording device volumn til I start to hear my own voice, then back off a bit til I can't . sometimes the realtek and Windows sound menus do there own thing
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.219v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 1403]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jbonnett PC Specs
    Jbonnett PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Titan X SC
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyCorsair H1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Jbonnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    I just tried a USB sound card and that works perfectly, although I should get the same performance if not better via the motherboard. It's only a cheap USB sound card... I tried the Windows one too, I have a feeling it may be a driver problem as all I've had is driver problems since I purchased this motherboard.

    Cheers for the help anyway.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Techotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    You might want to consider getting a cheap USB audio interface for your XLR mic, like a Focusrite Scarlett Solo 2i2. It would greatly improve the recording quality, and you won't have any driver issues.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array 28BeersLater PC Specs
    28BeersLater PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7-5930K
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Vega 64
    Sound CardBose External USB
    MonitorLG IPS235 x3
    Storage #1Kingston HyperX Predator 480GB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron XT Series 960GB
    CPU CoolerEK RVE Monoblock
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    I had this issue too... I ran through three different mics (I favour compact ones) I suspected it might be the extension lead so tried two of those and tried without..

    It just seems really quiet on this board, even with everything fully cranked up, and various settings of the echo / line level settings

    I went with an El Cheapo Ebay USB mic and bypassed the on-board sound altogether (I use BOSE USB audio too)

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Koutport PC Specs
    Koutport PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)IBM THINK PAD
    MotherboardASUS ROG RAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    ProcessorI7 6950Χ
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce® GTX 1080TI POSEIDON -EKW EK-KIT RGB 360
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2ASUS RAIDR EXPRESS+ CORSAIR SSD 2X120 RAID-0
    CPU CoolerEKW-EK-KIT RGB 360
    CaseCORSAIR GRAPHITE SERIES 760T F/T.
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW CHROMA V2
    Mouse RAZER MAMBA TOURNAMENT EDITION-Razer Deathadder Elite-Razer Basilisk
    Headset ASUS STRIX 7.1- Razer ManO’War 7.1-Razer Nari Ultimate
    Mouse Pad RAZER GOLIATHUS
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nommo Chroma
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO 64BIT
    Koutport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    155

    Quote Originally Posted by Jbonnett View Post
    Hi All,
    I just purchased this mic and I find that I have to speak quite loudly along with having my mouth very close to the mic, I have phantom power. It is connected to my pc using the XLR to 3.5 jack via phantom power, I have set max gain and boost (as that is the only way I can get any audio). Any ideas on how to rectify this problem.

    All soundstage features are turned off within the software.

    Thank you in advance.
    I have the same problem with supreme Hi fi front panel only if i connected the headphones with mic...If i connect to rear jacks everything ok! The proble is with the suprime fx look at this link for more informations:https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-on-windows-10
    Thanx
    George
    Last edited by Koutport; 11-07-2016 at 08:29 PM.
    Μobo:ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10-CPU:INTEL 6950X-Cooler:EKW-EK-KIT RGB 360-RAM:Corsair Dominator 64GB(8x8)3000 CL15-GPU:ASUS GeForce® GTX 1080TI POSEIDON+ EKW-EK-KIT RGB -PSU:Corsair HX1200i:HDD:Samsung M2 960 PRO 512GB+Samsung 860 EVO 512 Raid 0+Asus RAIDR Express 240GB[/B]- Case:CORSAIR GRAPHITE SERIES 760T

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jbonnett PC Specs
    Jbonnett PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X SC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Titan X SC
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyCorsair H1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Jbonnett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Quote Originally Posted by Koutport View Post
    I have the same problem with supreme Hi fi front panel only if i connected the headphones with mic...If i connect to rear jacks everything ok! The proble is with the suprime fx look at this link for more informations:https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-on-windows-10
    Thanx
    George
    It's the same no matter what connector I use, I just seem to have to use the USB sound card. Which I feel considering this board has high quality sound built in is a bit of a joke.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •