Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Rampage III GENE compatible video cards?

    I'm still using an older system with an ASUS Rampage III GENE motherboard currently running an Nvidia EVGA GTX 680 4G video card and a Samsung 850EVO SSD for the OS drive. I know, the motherboard is ancient, but it's still running Windows 7 64bit right now and I want to keep it going for a while. I'm even able to play HITMAN, but at the lowest settings. What I'd like to know is what are my options for upgrading to a faster video card right now and what cards are compatible with this old of a motherboard? I also want to stick with Nvidia for the graphics, preferably EVGA. I don't want to spend a lot of money on this system either, but I'd like to be able to play at a reasonable frame rate at 1920X1200 for some of the newer games coming out. As a side note, I've never flashed the bios to the newest version, so would that have to be done as well? Thanks.
    Last edited by sehlat; 11-15-2016 at 08:25 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Anyone?

    Right now, what I'd like to know is do I have to flash my BIOS to the latest version just to install a newer Nvidia GTX 1070, or even a GTX 980ti? The card I currently have installed is a GTX 680, which works just fine, except for the newer games coming out. I even installed an SSD as my OS drive without having to change the BIOS version and that was in 2014. My current BIOS revision is 0501 and I'm really hesitant to flash to the newest version, 1003, because I've never done this before and I don't want to risk bricking my motherboard out of my own incompetence. If I do have to flash to the newest version, I do know that I can use EZ Flash within the BIOS, but how does one keep track of every BIOS setting that may need to be reset if the defaults are restored during the process? Any help would be much appreciated.

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi sehlat

    You don't have to flash your bios to install a new graphics card and the ROG Strix 1070 would be a great choice, you could play any game with the highest settings at 1920 x 1200.

    What cpu do you have? You'll want to overclock it to the max to get the most out of the ROG Strix 1070.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi sehlat

    You don't have to flash your bios to install a new graphics card and the ROG Strix 1070 would be a great choice, you could play any game with the highest settings at 1920 x 1200.

    What cpu do you have? You'll want to overclock it to the max to get the most out of the ROG Strix 1070.
    Thank you so much. I was really nervous about having to flash the BIOS since the motherboard has been so stable all these years. I'll probably have to overclock my CPU as you noted because it's a i7 960 3.2 GHz Intel chip, getting a little old, but still very functional. Besides, I only have the money for a new graphics card right now. I'll also take a look at the ROG Strix 1070 when I shop around.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    You're welcome

    Here is a video of my pc with the ROG Strix 1070.


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Quote Originally Posted by sehlat View Post
    I'm even able to play HITMAN, but at the lowest settings. Thanks.
    Replied to you question on another forum but I'd like to say that it's good to see another Hitman. I've been playing the series since day one.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Nate152, the card looks really nice. I like the glowing ROG eye. I've also been playing HITMAN on my GTX 680. The settings pretty much have to be at rock bottom, but hey, it works at a reasonable frame rate (some stuttering) and still looks fine. I'm even forcing the game to my native resolution of 1920X1200 and the card still keeps up. I'll bet HITMAN looks even better on a high end graphics card like a 1070. That GTX 680 I bought a few years ago was quite an improvement from the GTX 480 noisy-as-a-vacuum-cleaner and hot-as-the-sun graphics card that came with my system. I hated that card. It was running up into the high 80's, sometimes hitting 90c under load and I couldn't hear squat in any of my games. How hot does the 1070 run under load with no overclocking?

    Heini, I asked you a separate question about flashing the BIOS on the other forum, so I'll ask here in case either you or someone else here can help. How does a user keep track of all the original BIOS settings? Is there an easy way to record them so that a user can refer back to them when needed? A camera taking screen shots for crying out loud? When using EZ Flash, it says to reset the settings to "default" when exiting the program, according to the instructions. Well, I'm guessing the defaults are a little different from what my system was set up with when it was built. How do you keep track of all the settings BEFORE flashing the BIOS? There's a mind-boggling number of settings to keep track of if you go through the BIOS page by page and I want to make sure things are set back when I'm done. You can tell I've never done this before.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    The ROG Strix 1070 runs nice and cool, overclocked to the max I haven't seen it go over 65c and usually stays around 61c, this is due to Asus's DirectCU III cooling which runs the gpu 30% cooler than reference models.

    You can just write down the settings you change if you can't remember them, I disable a few things and change some things when overclocking but most settings I let on auto.

    All you really need to do is enable XMP then overclock your cpu.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Thanks Nate12. Good to know about enabling XMP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •