Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Random mouse/keyboard disconnect

    Hi,

    I have the Rampage V extreme with a 5960X cpu. Over the last months i've been trying to troubleshoot random mouse disconnects (Razer Naga). Seems like the usb hub disconnects and reconnects at random time (usually at the worst possible time, like during online gaming). I've tried various usb ports, even the usb 2.0 ones. Both intel and asmedia usb ports are enabled.

    I bought a new mouse (Naga Hex) as a desperate attempt. Well, my mouse seems to work, then my keyboard (Razer blackwidow 2013) started disconnecting at random times. Have to unplug and replug. Same goes for my Astro A50 headset, which in addition to optical in uses a virtual usb sound card for things like voice com etc.

    I understand there have been some issues with the USB on this motherboard. Is there any temporary solutions to this problem while i wait?

    Kind regards,
    Zoidberg.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Try disabling the option that lets Windows turn off your USB ports when not in used. And if that doesn't work, disable xHCI in the BIOS.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    That was the first thing i tried. I've already disabled that for all usb root hubs as well as in the overall setting in the power saving scheme. I'll give the xHCL a try when i get back home on Monday.

    Thanks,
    Zoidberg

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Changing USB ports fixed that problem for me also if you installed any asmedia USB drivers uninstall them.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    ^^ what he said. Asmedia drivers caused my headset to fail everytime i would use my mic. Intel drivers are fine somehow... always rely on intel
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Uninstalled AsMedia drivers as well as move my peripherals from the asmedia usb slots to the other available slots. Didnt work. Although my mouse and keaboard seemed fine, my headset would disconnect on reconnect.

    On the upside it didnt crash the Teamspeak software anymore though.

    Anyway - i proceeded to disable xHCl and now everything works like a charm. Just played 6 games of LoL without issues, whereas previous i would've had ~2 keyboard and/or mouse disconnects/reconnects per game. I deem it working now!

    Thanks, all.

    Bonus question: Do i have usb 3.0 speed now with xHCI disabled, or am i limited to usb 2.0?

  7. #7
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by MD Zoidberg View Post
    Bonus question: Do i have usb 3.0 speed now with xHCI disabled, or am i limited to usb 2.0?
    Hello

    No. USB ports will now be 2.0. This fix works when the attached components need updated firmware.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Try using the ports I have circled the other ports for me have disconnect problems. Sorry for the bad phone edit lol.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	top_1_1416368166201.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	30.3 KB 
ID:	43444

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    No. USB ports will now be 2.0. This fix works when the attached components need updated firmware.
    If that was the case all ports would carry the same problem which they don't.

  9. #9
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    Not true.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Hello.

    Is true there all asmedia and all run off the same usb controller . Stop covering Asus for there problems.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •