cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus VIII Hero 00 code after enabling XMP

thebeeq
Level 7
Hello,

( TL;DR: 00 code after enabling XMP 3200MHz )

I recently purchased Asus Maximus VIII Hero -motherboard, and I'm loving every bit of it.
However, I ran into an issue, which appears to be just temporary and might be minor, but I thought to ask here for advice.
Upon purchasing I had to upgrade CPU and Memory as well, so I ended up with i7-6700K and a 64GB 3200Mhz memory module kit by Corsair ( CMK64GX4M4B3200C16 )

With all the default settings the board runs the memory at 2133MHz, so I enabled only XMP profile I could find:
DRAM Frequency -> DDR4-3200MHz
Voltage -> 1.3500
CAS# -> 16
RAS# to CAS# Delay -> 18
RAS# ACT Time -> 36

Then booted it up, and everything worked like a charm (even that I couldn't find this particular memory module kit on any QVL. As a rookie I didn't even know about QVLs until now 😄 )

After all the software installations, I multiboxed with 10 WoW clients for a couple of hours with no problems so still working just great. ( CPU temps at 55 celsius at maximum (cpuID) )

I even let the computer running idle over night to check if it's still functional in the morning, and it was, so I turned it off and left for work.

Later in the evening I tried to boot it up, but it didn't post and the Q Code was showing 00, and the rear chassis fan wasn't spinning. Both CPU fans were, however. (No signal for monitor)

I pushed the reset CMOS and the computer turned on, then off, and then on again, allowing to post and boot at 2133MHz default setting, and everything worked again.

Before the night, I turned it off and on again, and it booted again perfectly.
Still at default 2133MHz, so I enabled XMP 3200MHz profile again, booted it up, still working.
I turned it off and on again, the Q Code showing 00, rear chassis fan not spinning, cpu ones are.