Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 222
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Same for me, 0 and c switched with numpad enter key not working. Such a pain in the ass! Liveupdate kept bothering me to do the keyboard update and now this. Tried rolling back firmware with no results. Wonderful! It pisses me off that along with the gestures not working most of the time and when they do, messing with the way the cursor works when a mouse button is clicked, now we have this. It's a 3k laptop Asus, get your **** sorted!

  2. #22
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Same issue with G752VM

    I also got this ni0e 0riti0al update installed on my G752VM. It´s so annoying. Please hotfix that fast.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Could we please have a FIX ASAP for this buggy keyboard firmware update???

    I got my G752VS since a couple of months now and got that firmware upgrade for the keyboard installed today. It was offered through the Asus Update engine (or whathever it's called).

    The C key gives me now a 0 (zero) and has been swapped with the 0 on the keypad and my laptop is UNUSABLE be0ause of that. I have to use the onscreen keyboard to have my C keypresses.

    Please provide us with a fix ASAP and publish it through your updater..

    I don't understand how this even happens... QA testing please?

    /David

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    32

    talked to asus again today about it and they are still working on it..........

  5. #25
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Workaround

    So I am in the same boat with the update messing up my c and 0 keys. I have found a workaround until Asus can get the issue fixed.
    Install Autohotkey http://ahkscript.org/
    And create a script with the following

    Numpad0::c
    c::Numpad0
    Pause::Enter

    This will remap them back to where they should be. I was able to discover using AHK's key history that the c is sending Numpad0 and Numpad0 is sending c. Also the Enter key on the numpad is sending Pause, this would leave me to believe that other keys are not mapped properly either, but since I don't use those on a regular basis I am not going to worry about it until they become an issue.

    The only thing the script does not cover is capitalizing c when shift is held. I can not seem to get that to work yet, so I just hit capslock if I need a capital c. I will post an update if I find a way to get shift c to work.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    All,

    I am also suffering from this increasingly frustrating error. I update the ASUS Keyboard Adjustment Tool last night and my c key is mapped to num 0 and vice versa. I contacted ASUS support and they got me to roll back two day, no effect. They then wanted me to do a factory reset, I am at work and cannot do that now as I need the notebook. This is seriously inconvenient, I am a very annoyed customer (especially if I need to setup my notebook again!)

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Same boat as everyone else here. This is my work 0omputer and I 0ant get anything done properly with this problem. Please 0orre0t this asap.

  8. #28
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    2,135

    If possible, can someone please tell me their model (G752VS or G752VM), bios version, ATK version (found under Programs and Features), , HID keyboard HW ID as in the screenshot below from device manager, and if the keyboard is working right? Thanks.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	after.png 
Views:	190 
Size:	40.5 KB 
ID:	60528
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 11-24-2016 at 02:19 AM.

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Same issue as everyone else here. Using AutoHotkey as a workaround, but it's not ideal.

    Near as I can tell, here's a list of the keys that are out of whack:

    F8 (sends PgDn)
    PgDn (sends F8)
    Pause (sends NumpadEnter)
    NumpadEnter (sends Pause)
    Numpad0 (sends c)
    c (sends Numpad0 when NUMLOCK is ON)
    c (sends NumpadInsert when NUMLOCK is OFF, or when NUMLOCK is ON and SHIFT is held))

    There's a twist with the c key. As listed above, It seems to think its part of the numpad keys, because if numlock is OFF, c sends NumpadInsert instead of Numpad0. It also does this when SHIFT is held and NUMLOCK is ON.

    I'm able to use the below AHK script to work around all the problems... except NumpadInsert. There's no way I can see to conditionally get the physical key of Numpad0/Insert, which currently "thinks" it is c, to send NumpadInsert only when NUMLOCK is on. This is not a big deal for me, as I functionally never toggle Insert, but it does add to the overall WTFness of this botched "Keyboard Adjustment Tool"

    Code:
    Numpad0::c
    c::Numpad0
    Pause::NumpadEnter
    NumpadEnter::Pause
    PgDn::F8
    F8::PgDn
    NumpadIns::c
    As an aside... The culprit here, as we all know, is a keyboard firmware update disguised as a "Keyboard Adjustment Tool". A tool which we cannot configure, and therefore cannot adjust. Aside from the way it has screwed up our keyboards, it seems awfully odd to call it an "Adjustment Tool" when we can neither access the tool, nor make any adjustments. It fails at adjusting, AND at being a tool. :|

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Albert View Post
    If possible, can someone please tell me their model (G752VS or G752VM), bios version, ATK version, , HID keyboard HW ID as in the screenshot below from device manager, and if the keyboard is working right? Thanks.
    My model is a G752VS-XB72K, according to the label on the bottom. New as of 11/09/16. Without rebooting (I'll do that in a minute to double check), my system BIOS version is the latest available on the support site, which is the 11/11/2016 release of BIOS 306. My keyboard hardware ID is

    HID\VID_0B05&PID_1837&REV_0003&MI_00

    I'm afraid that I don't know what an ATK version is, nor how to find it. Apologies. I'm sure it's something simple that I'm overlooking; if you could instruct me on where to get that information, I'll reply back with it straight away.

    Oh, and my keyboard is definitely NOT working right. It was working fine before the firmware update, which my system only applied this evening, roughly 3 hours ago.

    EDIT 1: I have confirmed in BIOS that my BIOS version is 306. I can also confirm that the mixed-up keys do NOT work properly in BIOS; for example, trying to change the month to October (without using the top number row) required me to press 1c to register 10.

    Edit by cl-Albert: Hope it's okay to reply in your post and feel free to edit me out later. Thanks for the reply and just wanted to mention the ASUS ATK software/version can be found under Windows Programs and Features.
    Last edited by cl-Albert; 11-24-2016 at 02:31 AM. Reason: Removed quoted picture

Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •